DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: WiFi no longer autoconnecting

  1. Junior Droid
    mgullick's Avatar
    Member #
    232873
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    13
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    HTC Droid Incredible 2
    #1

    WiFi no longer autoconnecting

    For a while my DINC2 would automagically connect to WiFi when I was home or at work but now it doesn't do so. I have to manually open the network settings and tell it to connect. When I do that it connects just fine and remembers the password so I don't need to enter it. I prefer to use the WiFi rather than the 3G connection as it doesn't affect data usage limits.

    I'm not sure if this issue is a conflict with some app or what the problems is. I'm hoping someone here can give me some insight into what's going on. As I said above, for a while it would auto-connect but now I have to manually tell it to connect to each network.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Droid Newbie
    phansen's Avatar
    Member #
    240647
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Scarborough, Me
    Posts
    1
    Phone
    Bionic
    #2
    I am having the same problem with my new Bionic. It was working good for about a week and then stopped.
  4. Droid Newbie
    sanrayone's Avatar
    Member #
    241603
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    1
    Phone
    lg envision
    #3

    Android phones not connecting via wifi

    The problem is not with the Android phone, but rather with the router from your phone company and the security type. You will have to get the IP address of your computer, it shows on the bottom of the screen in Internet Explore..or Chrome.. and change the security type to WEP...If that to complicated, call the tech support...My is Qwest now Century Link and they will show you step by step...I thought it was my Android smart phone but it was the router at home... Hope this helps...I had spoken to a Verizon rep who instructed me to take out the battery and even force reset...too cumbersom and it solves nothing...Remember, it is not your phone
  5. Master Droid
    TheOldFart's Avatar
    Member #
    9056
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    New York State
    Posts
    965
    Liked
    69 times
    Phone
    HTC One - Blue
    #4
    Quote Originally Posted by sanrayone View Post
    The problem is not with the Android phone, but rather with the router from your phone company and the security type. You will have to get the IP address of your computer, it shows on the bottom of the screen in Internet Explore..or Chrome.. and change the security type to WEP...If that to complicated, call the tech support...My is Qwest now Century Link and they will show you step by step...I thought it was my Android smart phone but it was the router at home... Hope this helps...I had spoken to a Verizon rep who instructed me to take out the battery and even force reset...too cumbersom and it solves nothing...Remember, it is not your phone
    Are you saying that the Inc2 does not support WPA2? If this is true then the Inc2 is a total no go. My 2 year old Droid does with no problem at all.
  6. Junior Droid
    mgullick's Avatar
    Member #
    232873
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    13
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    HTC Droid Incredible 2
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by sanrayone View Post
    The problem is not with the Android phone, but rather with the router from your phone company and the security type. You will have to get the IP address of your computer, it shows on the bottom of the screen in Internet Explore..or Chrome.. and change the security type to WEP...If that to complicated, call the tech support...My is Qwest now Century Link and they will show you step by step...I thought it was my Android smart phone but it was the router at home... Hope this helps...I had spoken to a Verizon rep who instructed me to take out the battery and even force reset...too cumbersom and it solves nothing...Remember, it is not your phone
    It used to work fine with WPA2-PSK and AES encryption. It actually still works fine and now it "generally" gets an automagic connection both at home and at work using that setup. It automagically connects most of the time but it did go through a period when it seemed to not do so. Not sure what the problem was but I "think" it may have been due to having the Citrix receiver installed. I never could get that to work (turns out my department uses an older version of the Citrix server which works fine for iPhone but won't work with Android and they aren't going to update it anytime soon). I've uninstalled the Citrix receiver and that "may" be why the phone connects properly now. Whatever the case, it DOES work now.
  7. Master Droid
    TheOldFart's Avatar
    Member #
    9056
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    New York State
    Posts
    965
    Liked
    69 times
    Phone
    HTC One - Blue
    #6
    I just got my new Inc2 and it recognizes my home network, but will not connect. It is WPA2-PSK and AES encryption. I had no problems connecting with my Droid or my wife's Ally or Samsung Galaxy Player 4.0. In addition, when I sign into the Android market on my PC, it does not recognize that I have the Inc2. Again, it immediately found my wife's Galaxy Player when she got it 2 weeks ago. My Inc2 does show my purchased apps as not installed and will let me install them, but does not find my free apps.

    Edit: Wifi started working fine. The market on the PC still doesn't show my Inc2, even though the Inc2 knows what apps I purchased and allowed me to download the not installed apps. I guess I'll have to download all the free apps from the market on the Inc2 instead of the much easier method of downloading from the list of my apps on the PC. It worked fine on my wife's Galaxy Player.
    Last edited by TheOldFart; 12-19-2011 at 01:31 PM.
  8. Master Droid
    TheOldFart's Avatar
    Member #
    9056
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    New York State
    Posts
    965
    Liked
    69 times
    Phone
    HTC One - Blue
    #7
    I downloaded all of my free apps manually from the market searching for all of them on the phone. Guess what happened an hour later - the Inc2 showed up in the market on the PC.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. help. D3 wifi no longer turning on
    By socalsx in forum Motorola Droid 3
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-02-2011, 08:47 PM
  2. wifi mysteriously no longer works on ss5.2
    By TuBitMittens in forum ChevyNo1
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 05-19-2011, 06:51 PM
  3. Galaxy Tab WiFi, Xoom WiFi, Nook Color?
    By SeanRinVA in forum Motorola Xoom
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-10-2011, 02:39 PM
  4. Droid X wifi connection crashing home wifi network. help!
    By bluflax in forum Droid X Tech Support
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-15-2010, 09:26 PM
  5. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 06-09-2010, 10:45 AM

Search tags for this page

android phone does not automatically connect to wifi
,

android wifi doesn't automatically connect

,
android wifi not automatically connecting
,
android won't connect to wifi automatically
,

centurylink wifi not working

,
centurylink wifi to android
,
centurylink wifi won't connect to phone
,
galaxy tab will not connect to century link
,
my android phone wont connect to the centurylink wifi
,
why wont my phone connect to our century link router
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+