DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Got the SIM unlock code but need help

  1. Junior Droid
    nojoke's Avatar
    Member #
    7756
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    14
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #1

    Got the SIM unlock code but need help

    I'm S-OFF, rooted, and called Verizon to get my sim unlock code which they gave me. Tried both AT&T and Simple mobile sim cards went under settings/call/sim unlock put in the code and it unlocked but no service. Also put it in GSM only but no go.

    Is the phone not compatible with AT&T/Simple's band? Or am I doing something wrong? Thanks.
  2. Droid
    HTCuser's Avatar
    Member #
    208192
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    34
    Phone
    Droid Incredible 2
    #2
    Try going into settings>security>disable Sim lock press on that and see what it says. Oh and the only Sim cards its not compatible with is ATT any other Sim card would work

    Sent from my ADR6350 using DroidForums
  3. Junior Droid
    nojoke's Avatar
    Member #
    7756
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    14
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by HTCuser View Post
    Try going into settings>security>disable Sim lock press on that and see what it says. Oh and the only Sim cards its not compatible with is ATT any other Sim card would work

    Sent from my ADR6350 using DroidForums
    Tried settings>security>disable sim lock put in the code and it says its unlocked or already unlocked.

    Also tried a T-Mobile sim and that didn't work either any other suggestions?
  4. Droid
    HTCuser's Avatar
    Member #
    208192
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    34
    Phone
    Droid Incredible 2
    #4
    Try calling up VZW and ask them what's wrong with it

    Sent from my ADR6350 using DroidForums
  5. Droid
    goffredo's Avatar
    Member #
    188103
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    55
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    HTC Incredible
    #5

    Why S-OFF & rooted?

    Quote Originally Posted by nojoke View Post
    I'm S-OFF, rooted, and called Verizon to get my sim unlock code...
    Hi, I'm just curious what (if any?) the benefit of S-OFF and rooting is for this scenario? I have a Verizon DINC2, which I plan to use with a local Italian SIM while I'm in Italy for both wifi-hotspot and voice. I got the SIM unlock code from Verizon, and the phone seemed to 'take' it, so I didn't see the need to root/S-OFF it.

    I'm wondering if maybe S-OFF and rooting is necessary to run a non-Verizon wifi hotspot app? I don't know much about how this works, so please let me know if I'm missing something. I'm suspicious that Verizon's "3G Mobile Hotspot" app probably isn't going to work once I get to Italy and pop in an Italian SIM card for a myriad of reasons listed below, though I haven't been able to get any more information on this:

    * must be 'enabled' by verizon after paying them monthly $$ for their wifi tethering plan
    * probably only works on CDMA and not GSM
    * or if it does work on GSM, probably doesn't work on non-Vodaphone GSM
    * possibly capped at 2GB to stay in line with Verizon's wifi tethering plan

    Thanks!
    Last edited by goffredo; 07-23-2011 at 06:31 PM. Reason: Added a detail
  6. Droid
    HTCuser's Avatar
    Member #
    208192
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    34
    Phone
    Droid Incredible 2
    #6
    Yes if u put on root/s off u get a tether app for free. I don't think that it would be bcuz of root that it doesn't work bcuz I have s off and the unlock code worked

    Sent from my ADR6350 using DroidForums
  7. Droid
    goffredo's Avatar
    Member #
    188103
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    55
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    HTC Incredible
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by HTCuser View Post
    Yes if u put on root/s off u get a tether app for free.
    Ah ha! Ok that makes sense, then, thanks for the heads up!

    I was running Cyanogen on my DINC before I upgraded to the DINC2, and it bundled a really nice & easy to use wifi tether app on it. I miss it! But I am waiting for a stable Cyanogen before I consider putting it on my DINC2, so right now all I have is the stock Verizon "3G Mobile Hotspot" app which sucks for the reasons I previously enumerated.

    What is a good rooted wifi-tethering app that I can use on my rooted DINC2? I couldn't figure out what app Cyanogen bundles, but it would be awesome if I could root my DINC2 and put the exact same app on it that Cyanogen bundles. I checked Cyanogen's list of bundled apps, but I didn't see anything to do with tethering.
  8. Droid
    HTCuser's Avatar
    Member #
    208192
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    34
    Phone
    Droid Incredible 2
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by goffredo View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by HTCuser View Post
    Yes if u put on root/s off u get a tether app for free.
    Ah ha! Ok that makes sense, then, thanks for the heads up!

    I was running Cyanogen on my DINC before I upgraded to the DINC2, and it bundled a really nice & easy to use wifi tether app on it. I miss it! But I am waiting for a stable Cyanogen before I consider putting it on my DINC2, so right now all I have is the stock Verizon "3G Mobile Hotspot" app which sucks for the reasons I previously enumerated.

    What is a good rooted wifi-tethering app that I can use on my rooted DINC2? I couldn't figure out what app Cyanogen bundles, but it would be awesome if I could root my DINC2 and put the exact same app on it that Cyanogen bundles. I checked Cyanogen's list of bundled apps, but I didn't see anything to do with tethering.
    There is an app called barnacle tethr from the market and its free

    Sent from my ADR6350 using DroidForums
  9. Droid Newbie
    incre's Avatar
    Member #
    212086
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    3
    Phone
    incredible 2
    #9
    Have you tried to re-start your phone in GSM mode? It worked for me after I re-start but not before. My phone is able to use T-mobile network with my SIM card. I hope it helps.
  10. Droid
    goffredo's Avatar
    Member #
    188103
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    55
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    HTC Incredible
    #10
    Quote Originally Posted by HTCuser View Post
    There is an app called barnacle tethr from the market and its free
    Yeah that's what I'm using now. I'll know in about two weeks whether it works in Europe with a non-Verizon, non-Vodaphone SIM. I'll post my results after I get set up.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. need unlock code from Verizon
    By bestrafer in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-17-2011, 08:23 AM
  2. Master Unlock Code
    By kgoodrich in forum Motorola Droid 2 Development
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-08-2011, 07:19 AM
  3. Droid + SIM Card Unlock Code
    By xsylus in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-07-2010, 08:31 AM
  4. Unlock Code
    By kaila88 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-09-2010, 08:03 PM

Search tags for this page

how to enter unlock code for htc thunderbolt

,
how to enter unlock code htc adr6350
,
how to enter unlock code htc thunderbolt verizon
,
how to unlock htc adr6350
,
how to unlock htc thunderbolt
,
how to unlock htc thunderbolt with code
,

htc adr6350 unlock code free

,

htc thunderbolt sim unlock

,
htc thunderbolt unlock sim
,
verizon htc thunderbolt sim unlock
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+