DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Yes another question about rooting.

  1. Junior Droid
    shellc0de's Avatar
    Member #
    137811
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    the net
    Posts
    6
    Phone
    Eris 2.1 SuperUser
    #1

    Yes another question about rooting.

    So, I have the official 2.1 firmware, and can't find any of my options for rooting because when I search/google I get a million "from 1.5 to leaked 2.1 root eris!" when I want to go from official 2.1 to rooted 2.1.

    Shouldn't be a hard task right? I just need to escalate privilages so I can access the /data/ folder and whatnot, but why does it have to be so difficult? lol. If it helps I don't want any of those weird-o ROMs I just need root access so I can debug my phone properly with adb.
    Last edited by shellc0de; 11-15-2010 at 08:38 AM. Reason: cause i feel like it
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Super Moderator
    Bob Dammit's Avatar
    Member #
    14607
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    N 42 05.183 W 079 10.914
    Posts
    1,718
    Liked
    37 times
    Phone
    Droid.
    Premium Member
    #2
    Read the top sticky in this board. Follow all the steps down to where you flash the rom. You will need to flash an OC kernel, if you want to rub your phone faster.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
    I touched Lord Stanley's Cup on 1/2/11.
  4. Junior Droid
    shellc0de's Avatar
    Member #
    137811
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    the net
    Posts
    6
    Phone
    Eris 2.1 SuperUser
    #3
    Well I'm at the droidone010 app step, and when I run it, click okay okay, root me please, it just closes the app and nothing happens...I think its supposed to reboot on its own? So I shut down the phone, tried to go in recovery mode and nothing, turn back on the phone, run the app again, still nothing, it doesn't reboot on its own.

    EDIT: alright with enough playing I managed to flash the rootme.zip file to my phone, then I rebooted, but when I open astro I can't navagate to the /data folder still, is there something I missed or does it take a new rom to be completely 'rooted'
    Last edited by shellc0de; 11-17-2010 at 11:14 AM.
    0x90 sledding all day long.
  5. Super Moderator
    Bob Dammit's Avatar
    Member #
    14607
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    N 42 05.183 W 079 10.914
    Posts
    1,718
    Liked
    37 times
    Phone
    Droid.
    Premium Member
    #4
    Download terminal emulator from the market. Open it, and type su and hit the enter key at the prompt. The command prompt icon chould change from "$" to "#" if you are rooted.
    I touched Lord Stanley's Cup on 1/2/11.
  6. Junior Droid
    shellc0de's Avatar
    Member #
    137811
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    the net
    Posts
    6
    Phone
    Eris 2.1 SuperUser
    #5
    Ah I figured out 90% of this so far, I downloaded some root only apps like the terminal and the explorer, and noticed that they have to ask for root permissions from the new 'superuser permissions' app that appeared on my phone. I also noticed theres no way to make the app give root to other programs, they have to ask for it themselves, which leads me to my FINAL question before this thread can be locked, and that is how do I make it so that adb.exe has root permissions when I debug my phone with the USB cable?
    0x90 sledding all day long.
  7. Super Moderator
    Bob Dammit's Avatar
    Member #
    14607
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    N 42 05.183 W 079 10.914
    Posts
    1,718
    Liked
    37 times
    Phone
    Droid.
    Premium Member
    #6
    You have to "tell" adb to run as "su".
    adb shell
    su
    do what you want.
    Think of shell via adb as running Terminal Emulator from your computer.

    PS: That will fix your sig line, lol
    Last edited by Bob Dammit; 11-17-2010 at 01:14 PM.
    I touched Lord Stanley's Cup on 1/2/11.
  8. Junior Droid
    shellc0de's Avatar
    Member #
    137811
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    the net
    Posts
    6
    Phone
    Eris 2.1 SuperUser
    #7
    Aha! I just noticed the little message popped up asking me if I want to allow it root privs, alright everything works great now! lol thanks for all the help.
    0x90 sledding all day long.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. rooting question
    By Madvincent in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-05-2010, 10:18 PM
  2. Rooting Question...
    By DroidDefDoes in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-28-2010, 07:56 AM
  3. rooting question
    By zoobdo in forum Motorola Droid
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-15-2010, 08:22 PM
  4. question about rooting.
    By fognlx in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-13-2010, 08:37 PM
  5. Rooting question
    By gruve in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-03-2010, 11:02 PM

Search tags for this page

access android data folder without root

,

android access data folder without root

,

android data folder without root

,

android paradog folder

,
how to access android data folder without root
,
how to access data folder in astro
,

how to open data folder in android without rooting

,

htc inspire how to access data folder

,

paladog android folder

,

paladog android location folder

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+