DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Setting up POP3 from WI.RR.Com

  1. Junior Droid
    Brewski88's Avatar
    Member #
    44850
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    18
    Phone
    Droid Eris
    #1

    Setting up POP3 from WI.RR.Com

    Hi Guys -

    I'm trying to get my POP 3 email account set up through time warner.

    I have put in my user id/password, as well as the pop-server.wi.rr.com and smtp-server.wi.rr.com and each time I try to connect I Get:

    Warning: Cannot connect to the mail server to verify your account information, Your server is not responding.

    Anyone else get this? I've been getting it the last couple of days.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Droid Newbie
    jberry16's Avatar
    Member #
    45309
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #2
    I'm getting the same thing, trying to set up my cableone.net email. I just got my eris today.
  4. Master Droid
    FunN4Lo's Avatar
    Member #
    33783
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    932
    Liked
    30 times
    Phone
    Galaxy S4
    #3
    Have you called TW tech. TW is not my ISP, but a similar issued just needed a port number change
    Deep Thought #1
    How does Verizon sell phones at their own stores? Any phone they sell, can be found for 50% to 75% less on Amazon, or at Best Buy. Does Verizon operate their stores on a "there is a sucker born every minute" business model?
    Deep Thought #2
    Is Verizon's customer service philosophy: frustrate, aggravate, and exasperate, these annoying interruptions to our day, will eventually go away?
  5. Droid Newbie
    jberry16's Avatar
    Member #
    45309
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #4
    ok here's what you need to do, I just fixed mine. First call your cable company or e-mail provider & get your information that it's asking for correct, such as pop and ports etc. then call verizon tech support and they'll walk you right through it. Turns out I wasn't completeing the process, just doing 1/2 of it but twice. first you have to set up for incomming mail and then outgoing mail. I didnt know this.
    Hope that helps.
  6. Junior Droid
    Brewski88's Avatar
    Member #
    44850
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    18
    Phone
    Droid Eris
    #5
    Fixed it.

    I had to uncheck "Login Required" on the outgoing (SMTP) section.

    Works fine now. Thanks all for your feedback!
  7. Droid
    fant0m_Eris's Avatar
    Member #
    68124
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    50
    Phone
    Droid Eris
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by Brewski88 View Post
    Fixed it.

    I had to uncheck "Login Required" on the outgoing (SMTP) section.

    Works fine now. Thanks all for your feedback!
    Disregard, outgoing mail still doesn't work. I'm going to call TWC to get the port that needs to be open.
  8. Droid
    fant0m_Eris's Avatar
    Member #
    68124
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    50
    Phone
    Droid Eris
    #7
    bumping this, please.
  9. Droid Ninja
    aminaked's Avatar
    Member #
    25714
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    2,187
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Droid
  10. Droid Sensei
    BayouFlyFisher's Avatar
    Member #
    14195
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Posts
    4,969
    Liked
    86 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Note 2
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by fant0m_Eris View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Brewski88 View Post
    Fixed it.

    I had to uncheck "Login Required" on the outgoing (SMTP) section.

    Works fine now. Thanks all for your feedback!
    Disregard, outgoing mail still doesn't work. I'm going to call TWC to get the port that needs to be open.
    Usually these types of ISPs will tell you they don't support cell phones on their networks and won't give you any real info. Try the following: in manual setup put in port 465 and/or 587. Those two have worked on quite a few ISPs.
    Baton Rouge, LA
  11. Droid
    fant0m_Eris's Avatar
    Member #
    68124
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    50
    Phone
    Droid Eris
    #10
    Thanks for the tips, folks

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Need help with email (POP3) set up
    By golfchic130 in forum New Member Introductions & Site Assistance
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 03-03-2010, 06:58 PM
  2. Help getting POP3 email
    By rschiller in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 03-03-2010, 08:09 AM
  3. Better POP3 Email App?
    By SofaKing in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-15-2010, 03:34 PM
  4. K9 + pop3 =???
    By n0m0n in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-07-2010, 09:28 AM
  5. setting up a POP3 account to sync with droid
    By Grinch in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-06-2010, 11:23 AM

Search tags for this page

how to setup email for wisconsin.roadrunner
,
new.rr.com pop3 settings
,
outlook settings for wi.rr.com
,
server settings for wi.rr.com
,
wi rr outlook settings
,

wi.rr.com email settings

,

wi.rr.com email setup

,

wi.rr.com outlook settings

,

wi.rr.com server settings

,
wi.rr.com settings
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+