DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: Changing contacts from "phone" to "Google"?

  1. Super Moderator
    Bob Dammit's Avatar
    Member #
    14607
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    N 42 05.183 W 079 10.914
    Posts
    1,718
    Liked
    37 times
    Phone
    Droid.
    Premium Member
    #1

    Changing contacts from "phone" to "Google"? WORKAROUND!

    Is there an easy way to do this? The only way I have found is to set up a new "google" contact, and copy and paste the numbers over from the "phone" contact, then delete the "phone" contact. There has to be an easier way to do this, as it is something that should be done automatically by default.

    edit: added workaround from page 2

    Quote Originally Posted by Bob Dammit View Post
    The only work around I have found is creating "google" accounts for all of your contacts. They should (might) link by deafult, but the numbers dont transfer between linked accounts. This is what I ended up doing:

    1: Set up new "Google" contacts for all of my existing "Phone" contacts. If they link, thats OK, if not, thats even better.

    2: Force a Google sync (Form the Home screen, Menu > Accounts & Sync > Sync Now)

    3: Log into your Gmail account on your computer.

    4: On the left side of the screen, click "Contacts"

    5: In the contacts screen, click on "All Contacts"

    6: Starting at the top of the list of contacts, Click on the contact name, click "Edit", and manually enter the contact information. (this was why it was easier to use the computer, My wife read the contact information off her phone to me, and I typed it into her google contacts. Otherwise there is a lot of copying and pasting, and its real easy to screw up.

    7: After all of the information is transfered, go back to your phone and force another Google sync.

    8: Go through your "google contacts on your phone, and make sure all the numbers are correct.

    OPTIONAL (I did this just to keep everything clean and neat, Im anal about my contact list on my phone, so I cleaned up my wifes too)

    9: One at a time, Delete the "phone" contacts, leaving only the "Google" contacts. If your contacts "Linked" back in step 1, you will need to break the link.
    - Open a contact
    - Top right corner of the contact will show 2 small circles with a green line connecting them.
    - Tap the icon, and select Unlink (I believe thats what it is called, its self explanatory at this point)
    - Go back to your contacts, and the "Unlinked" contact will now show as 2 contacts, one as "Phone", and one as "google"
    - Delete the "Phone" contact
    - Repeat as needed.
    Last edited by Bob Dammit; 03-05-2010 at 03:09 PM.
    I touched Lord Stanley's Cup on 1/2/11.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. certifiedfryguy's Avatar
    Member #
    27001
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    55
    Phone
    HTC Eris
    #2
    Why would you need to do this? Google contact or phone contact they both should be backed up in your gmail contacts
  4. certifiedfryguy's Avatar
    Member #
    27001
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    55
    Phone
    HTC Eris
    #3
    nope i was wrong. Phone contacts dont get backed up automatically.. i wonder why
  5. Master Droid
    MNTNBKR's Avatar
    Member #
    13708
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Fenton, MI
    Posts
    575
    Liked
    4 times
    Phone
    HTC One
    #4
    Maybe I'm not understanding the question, or what you're trying to do, but whenever I enter a new contact in my phone, it gets synced with my gmail account automatically and almost instantly.
    -Adam
    Droidist since 12/1/09
    HTC One
  6. Beta Team
    Flomaster's Avatar
    Member #
    27560
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    East Texas
    Posts
    1,073
    Liked
    2 times
    Twitter
    _Flomaster
    Phone
    DROOOOOOOOOOOiid
    Premium Member
    #5
    your PHONE contacts DO in fact get backed up when Google Syncs..
    make sure you have your google account set up to sync contacts

    from your home screen
    soft menu button (located between the back button and home button)
    settings
    accounts and sync
    click on google
    make sure you have sync contact checked

    I can create a new contact on my phone OR use google goggles to add the contact and the next time google syncs its loaded in my google.com/gmail/contacts list..

    DROID DOES and GOOGLE DOES...
    -=Jason=-
  7. Droid Ninja
    Erron's Avatar
    Member #
    1660
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    1,076
    Phone
    droid
    DroidForums.net Developer
    #6
    What ive noticed is that when I add a contact through my phone, I cant find them int he contact list when i go to add their name to a text message.
  8. Beta Team
    Flomaster's Avatar
    Member #
    27560
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    East Texas
    Posts
    1,073
    Liked
    2 times
    Twitter
    _Flomaster
    Phone
    DROOOOOOOOOOOiid
    Premium Member
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by Erron View Post
    What ive noticed is that when I add a contact through my phone, I cant find them int he contact list when i go to add their name to a text message.
    what text messing app are you using.

    I ONLY use handcent I remove the stock messaging app together off my droid

    but I just created a new contact called TESTING I assigned a phone number and labeled it as a mobile number

    I opened up handcent created a new message and clicked on the contacts tab scrolled down to the T's and there was my new "TESTING" contact..

    Handcent DOES have an option to display only MOBILE numbers so if your contact was saved as a home number and that is the only number you have they WILL not be displayed

    -=Jason=-
  9. certifiedfryguy's Avatar
    Member #
    27001
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    55
    Phone
    HTC Eris
    #8
    on the eris, when you add a new contact it gives you the option to add the gontact to "google" or to "phone". when you add a new contact to phone the contact appears under people. but even when i force sync google, the contact will not appear under " All contacts" in my gmail account when I look at it on a computer. When I add a new contact under "google" then it will sync no problem.

    The problem i think Bob has is all of his contacts are on the Eris under "phone" and he wants them all to be transfered to "google" so it syncs correctly.
  10. certifiedfryguy's Avatar
    Member #
    27001
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    55
    Phone
    HTC Eris
    #9
    I guess for bob the easy way to do this since there is no quick way is to download ExportContacts in the Market that will export your contacts as a csv file onto your SD card. Then you can import them into google contacts via your web browser..
  11. Droid Newbie
    lostpilot28's Avatar
    Member #
    43839
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    2
    Phone
    ERIS
    #10
    Quote Originally Posted by certifiedfryguy View Post
    on the eris, when you add a new contact it gives you the option to add the gontact to "google" or to "phone". when you add a new contact to phone the contact appears under people. but even when i force sync google, the contact will not appear under " All contacts" in my gmail account when I look at it on a computer. When I add a new contact under "google" then it will sync no problem.

    The problem i think Bob has is all of his contacts are on the Eris under "phone" and he wants them all to be transfered to "google" so it syncs correctly.
    I'm new, so cut me some slack...but I checked in here to see if there was a fix for this. I'm having the same problem. I believe that all of my contacts were imported when I used HTC Sync with Outlook, which is where I prefer to keep all of my contacts. I figured having another backup on my Gmail account would be a good idea, but alas, I can't get my "Phone" contacts to sync to GMail.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-17-2010, 06:44 AM
  2. Dialing phone number in "from" or "subject" line of email
    By alazzaro in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-03-2010, 09:10 AM
  3. Dialing phone number in "from" or "subject" line of an emai
    By alazzaro in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-03-2010, 09:08 AM
  4. Google "My Contacts" shortcut on home screen?
    By Laramie in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-29-2010, 05:17 AM
  5. Maps - how to "save" a "place" ... work around.
    By rdalemercer in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 11-22-2009, 11:34 AM

Search tags for this page

android change all contacts to google

,
change all contacts to google
,
change android contact from phone to google
,

change phone contacts to google contacts

,
how to change all contacts to google android
,
how to change contact from phone to google
,
how to change contacts from device to google
,

how to change phone contacts to gmail contacts

,

how to change phone contacts to google contacts

,

how to change phone contacts to google on android

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+