DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: New member and I need some S3 help.

  1. Junior Droid
    cardnut's Avatar
    Member #
    337140
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Hazelwood, MO
    Posts
    7
    Phone
    Galaxy S3
    #1

    New member and I need some S3 help.

    Hello All, I am a new member. My name is Steve Bowers. I have a Galaxy S3. I have a few issues that I need some help on. 1 - I purchased a 32GB chip for my phone. I checked several other blogs to make sure I bought the proper kind. However, a few days ago I got a message that the chip was damaged and I had to re-format it. 2- When I plug in the phone to my PC, it tells me that it is connected as a USB device, but I never see it when I look at the devices attached to my PC. 3 - Every now and then the phone just reboots itself for no reason. I am not sure why. It did recently update to 4.1.2. When it reboots my wifi does not connect.

    Any ideas?


    cardnut
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Super Moderator
    jntdroid's Avatar
    Member #
    6110
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    6,438
    Liked
    808 times
    Phone
    Verizon S4
    Premium Member
    #2
    Welcome to the forum! Out of curiosity, what kind of sd card did you put in it?
    "...life is 10% what happens to me and 90% how I react to it."

    Guidelines of Conduct
    The only dumb question is the one not asked.
  4. Junior Droid
    cardnut's Avatar
    Member #
    337140
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Hazelwood, MO
    Posts
    7
    Phone
    Galaxy S3
    #3
    I put in a Scandisk Ultra 32GB. I am not sure if it was causing the issues or not so I removed it and put back the original 2GB chip. Something tells me the 4.1.2 update is messing me up.
  5. Super Moderator
    jntdroid's Avatar
    Member #
    6110
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    6,438
    Liked
    808 times
    Phone
    Verizon S4
    Premium Member
    #4
    Numerous people have reported problems with the Sandisk Ultra's, 32gb and higher - myself included. Seems the S3 handles them better than some others (like the Razr HD), but still it's been a problem for a lot of people. Try a 16gb or lower and see if the problems stop. If that card is the problem, it could also be causing the reboots.
    "...life is 10% what happens to me and 90% how I react to it."

    Guidelines of Conduct
    The only dumb question is the one not asked.
  6. Master Droid
    clueless77's Avatar
    Member #
    223893
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    853
    Liked
    22 times
    Phone
    SGS3
    #5
    I had an ultra 32gb and had the same issue. Got a regular class 4 32gb sandisk form Radio shack and have no issue since. I think the S3 has an issue reading the class 10 cards.
    CM 10 and AOKP
  7. Junior Droid
    cardnut's Avatar
    Member #
    337140
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Hazelwood, MO
    Posts
    7
    Phone
    Galaxy S3
    #6
    I took the 32GB chip out and put back the 2GB chip, but the phone is still rebooting.
  8. Master Droid
    clueless77's Avatar
    Member #
    223893
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    853
    Liked
    22 times
    Phone
    SGS3
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by cardnut View Post
    I took the 32GB chip out and put back the 2GB chip, but the phone is still rebooting.
    Well I doubt the card would cause reboots. The reboot issue could just be a product of the update. I'm guessing you aren't rooted.
    CM 10 and AOKP
  9. Junior Droid
    cardnut's Avatar
    Member #
    337140
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Hazelwood, MO
    Posts
    7
    Phone
    Galaxy S3
    #8
    I had read that there had been some issues with the 4.1.2 update. I had to reinstall my banking software to get past a processing error it kept having. Guess it's time to go to the Sprint store and have the update removed.
  10. Master Droid
    clueless77's Avatar
    Member #
    223893
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    853
    Liked
    22 times
    Phone
    SGS3
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by cardnut View Post
    I had read that there had been some issues with the 4.1.2 update. I had to reinstall my banking software to get past a processing error it kept having. Guess it's time to go to the Sprint store and have the update removed.
    Not sure if the update can be removed via the carrier. You could try a factory data reset which from what I've read has helped most issues from big updates
    CM 10 and AOKP
  11. Junior Droid
    cardnut's Avatar
    Member #
    337140
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Hazelwood, MO
    Posts
    7
    Phone
    Galaxy S3
    #10
    What would the factory data reset do? Sounds like it would put the phone back to the way it was when I bought it, which was version 4.0.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Help a new member please!
    By Aloren in forum Samsung Galaxy Tab
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-12-2011, 09:45 PM
  2. New Member
    By scoottnapier@att.net in forum New Member Introductions & Site Assistance
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-03-2011, 08:57 PM
  3. new member
    By joemancox in forum New Member Introductions & Site Assistance
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-27-2010, 06:02 AM
  4. new member
    By Dsmith in forum New Member Introductions & Site Assistance
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-26-2010, 10:10 PM
  5. New Member
    By pablo1469 in forum New Member Introductions & Site Assistance
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-26-2010, 10:08 PM
Find us on Google+