DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Foxfi to tether a Droid X

  1. Master Droid
    DroidBoardr's Avatar
    Member #
    255232
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    372
    Liked
    9 times
    Phone
    Rezound/ Galaxy S3/ Galaxy S4
    #1

    Foxfi to tether a Droid X

    I have been using FoxFi to tether to my computer via WiFi with no problems. However i tried over the weekend to connect my sons inactivated droid x to my GS3, but it would not connect. It is a gaming device for him, and he wanted me to download a new game, but no matter what i tired, proxy... it wouldn't connect. Is there something about cell phones that doesn't allow them to tether together? Or is there a solution i could try.
    If no options i have to bring his phone to work with me and use our WiFi here at work, but it would be cool to tether it at home.
    Thoughts?
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Rescue Squad
    Sydman's Avatar
    Member #
    90551
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Austin, Tx
    Posts
    3,406
    Liked
    698 times
    Phone
    Nexus 5
    Premium Member
    #2
    No I have used my tether before to let a guy in my office to connect his Iphone, which might be blasphemous but it happened and worked fine.

    Razr users were having problems with FoxFi on ICS, and they went and cleared the data for the APP and did a forceclose and they found that does help it work.
  4. Master Droid
    DroidBoardr's Avatar
    Member #
    255232
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    372
    Liked
    9 times
    Phone
    Rezound/ Galaxy S3/ Galaxy S4
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by Sydman View Post
    No I have used my tether before to let a guy in my office to connect his Iphone, which might be blasphemous but it happened and worked fine.

    Razr users were having problems with FoxFi on ICS, and they went and cleared the data for the APP and did a forceclose and they found that does help it work.
    I was sure that it was possible, I'll give that a shot tonight. Thanks. Is there any reason to use a proxy server?
  5. Rescue Squad
    Sydman's Avatar
    Member #
    90551
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Austin, Tx
    Posts
    3,406
    Liked
    698 times
    Phone
    Nexus 5
    Premium Member
    #4
    I would say only if you are interested in any of the following..

    A proxy server has a variety of potential purposes, including:
    • To keep machines behind it anonymous, mainly for security.[1]
    • To speed up access to resources (using caching). Web proxies are commonly used to cache web pages from a web server.[2]
    • To apply access policy to network services or content, e.g. to block undesired sites.
    • To access sites prohibited or filtered by your ISP or institution.
    • To log / audit usage, i.e. to provide company employee Internet usage reporting.
    • To bypass security / parental controls.
    • To circumvent Internet filtering to access content otherwise blocked by governments.[3]
    • To scan transmitted content for malware before delivery.
    • To scan outbound content, e.g., for data loss prevention.
    • To allow a web site to make web requests to externally hosted resources (e.g. images, music files, etc.) when cross-domain restrictions prohibit the web site from linking directly to the outside domains.
  6. Senior Droid
    MJKneuro's Avatar
    Member #
    62626
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Va
    Posts
    138
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Rezound
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by Sydman
    No I have used my tether before to let a guy in my office to connect his Iphone, which might be blasphemous but it happened and worked fine.

    Razr users were having problems with FoxFi on ICS, and they went and cleared the data for the APP and did a forceclose and they found that does help it work.
    Seems to be a problem with a few phones. Can't get foxfi to work on a Rezound with ics. Can see the network but can't connect.
    Freedom without Restraint is a certain pathway to Disaster.
  7. Rescue Squad
    Sydman's Avatar
    Member #
    90551
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Austin, Tx
    Posts
    3,406
    Liked
    698 times
    Phone
    Nexus 5
    Premium Member
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by MJKneuro View Post
    Seems to be a problem with a few phones. Can't get foxfi to work on a Rezound with ics. Can see the network but can't connect.
    I never got FoxFi working on my phone even before ICS, before I used the WiFi tether that required root. Since ICS however that does not work so well, so I did the SQL Lite hotspot hack and that has been working good for me.
  8. Master Droid
    DroidBoardr's Avatar
    Member #
    255232
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    372
    Liked
    9 times
    Phone
    Rezound/ Galaxy S3/ Galaxy S4
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by MJKneuro View Post
    Seems to be a problem with a few phones. Can't get foxfi to work on a Rezound with ics. Can see the network but can't connect.
    FoxFi wont work on the Rezound or any HTC device except the new One Series. Its an HTC locked thing, so rooting is the only option for wifi tethering without paying Verizon for it. PDANet via USB works flawlessly though.
  9. Junior Droid
    Qui3tStorm's Avatar
    Member #
    174719
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    315 - NY
    Posts
    17
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #8
    In regards to FoxFi/Verizon is there some sort of data cap? I can tether my laptop no problems but as soon as I start streaming a video off of Netflix my data drops, then I have to reestablish connection etc.. I get roughly 8-10 mins worth, it's like it sense the large amount of data being continually used and sends a quick hiccup just to disrupt it.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Droid X2 Foxfi not working
    By Clhorne in forum Motorola Droid
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-05-2012, 12:25 PM
  2. does foxfi addon hide tether if no proxy server
    By travistee in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-11-2012, 10:14 AM
  3. Droid Razr / ICS & Foxfi?
    By Cripton805 in forum Droid RAZR
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-24-2012, 07:58 AM
  4. Replies: 46
    Last Post: 06-07-2012, 04:36 PM
  5. Foxfi tether
    By Mike8016 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-22-2012, 02:00 PM

Search tags for this page

droid x foxfi

,
foxfi and droid x
,
foxfi data limit
,

foxfi droid x

,
foxfi droidx
,
foxfi for droid x
,
foxfi on droid x
,
foxfi usage limit
,
foxfi web proxy
,
foxfi with droid x
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+