DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Mobile Hotspot issues

  1. Junior Droid
    Jordanpaul's Avatar
    Member #
    274770
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    5
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S 3
    #1

    Mobile Hotspot issues

    Hi everyone,
    I had some major problems getting my Mobile Hotspot to work. At first it was very difficult to connect to anything and then a few days later it would not connect to anything.
    I went to Verizon and they told me to do a hard reset. After I had spent 3-4 hours setting the phone up, this was not a welcome option.
    After the Verizon person looked at everything, he discovered that the Hotspot would work if you set it up to only connect with specific devices.
    This meant that you had to find and enter the MAC address on the Wi-Fi device that you wanted to connect to.
    Since this was a very short list, I went home and tried it and it worked.

    Good news! The next day when I was exploring my S3, I discovered that the Hotspot would work on any Wi-Fi as long as you turned all the security "OFF" on the S3 and made it "OPEN" to anyone.
    The security aspect of this does not concern me so I am good to go.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Senior Droid
    Cinoib's Avatar
    Member #
    226784
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    138
    Phone
    motorola droid bionic
    #2
    Quote Originally Posted by Jordanpaul View Post
    Hi everyone,
    I had some major problems getting my Mobile Hotspot to work. At first it was very difficult to connect to anything and then a few days later it would not connect to anything.
    I went to Verizon and they told me to do a hard reset. After I had spent 3-4 hours setting the phone up, this was not a welcome option.
    After the Verizon person looked at everything, he discovered that the Hotspot would work if you set it up to only connect with specific devices.
    This meant that you had to find and enter the MAC address on the Wi-Fi device that you wanted to connect to.
    Since this was a very short list, I went home and tried it and it worked.

    Good news! The next day when I was exploring my S3, I discovered that the Hotspot would work on any Wi-Fi as long as you turned all the security "OFF" on the S3 and made it "OPEN" to anyone.
    The security aspect of this does not concern me so I am good to go.
    I too had issues getting the S3 to connect to the Razr Maxx. In fact, it would not connect to the Razr. However it did finally connect. I did enter the phone name and the Mac address. Funny though, it connected to an Ipod and an Ipad with no difficulty.

    My guess is that the G3 is a little more difficult to connect due to local issues between the devices that are being connected. But it will eventally connect.
  4. Junior Droid
    colorchart123's Avatar
    Member #
    153878
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    23
    Phone
    droid x
    #3
    Can i connect to a ipad that only has wifi non verizon ipad?
  5. Junior Droid
    Jordanpaul's Avatar
    Member #
    274770
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    5
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S 3
    #4

    Hotspot Issues

    Yes you can connect any Wi-Fi device to the S3 when the Hotspot feature is turned on.
  6. Master Droid
    johnd09's Avatar
    Member #
    198302
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    302
    Liked
    1 times
    Twitter
    J_Dav1
    Phone
    Galaxy S III
    #5
    The issue I have had is sort of wierd. I can can connect all the devices I want, with security, as long as they are same thing such as all Android or whatever. Tried to connect my Transformer Prime and a windows pc and data cycles on and off. Removed PC and data locks working fine. Same thing with removing tablet leaving only PC works fine.

    Sort of odd, my old thunderbolt used to do the same thing except it would refuse to allow any Apple devices to connect. Mac or iWhatever and data would go crazy.
  7. Master Droid
    Nyteravyn's Avatar
    Member #
    175954
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    MidWest
    Posts
    814
    Liked
    20 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #6
    I found that if you set the s3 up to allow Any device to connect with security, then add the device to the preferred list them switch to allowed only, I have great results!
    Currently allowing;
    Windows7 laptop
    Motoactv watch
    Windows7 Netbook
    Xoom tablet
    Xyboard 8.2 tablet
  8. Junior Droid
    colorchart123's Avatar
    Member #
    153878
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    23
    Phone
    droid x
    #7
    So for the verizon sg3, if i use Firefox i dont need a 3rd party app? If i do which is the one to get? Thanks
  9. Master Droid
    Nyteravyn's Avatar
    Member #
    175954
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    MidWest
    Posts
    814
    Liked
    20 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by colorchart123
    So for the verizon sg3, if i use Firefox i dont need a 3rd party app? If i do which is the one to get? Thanks
    1. turn on your hotspot on your g s3.
    2. Set up the name of the device, change the password.
    3. Set to allow any device to connect...
    4. Scan for hotspots from your ipad... put in the password and allow it to connect.
    5. Check the box to the right of your device name (iPad) on the gs3 to make it an allowed device.
    6. Set your phone to only allowed devices.
    7. have fun!

    * reset to (allow all) if wanting to add devices per above at any time or leave open.
  10. Master Droid
    Nyteravyn's Avatar
    Member #
    175954
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    MidWest
    Posts
    814
    Liked
    20 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    #9
    Edit...
    Make sure to have your gs3 on external power ...
    Hotspot sucks the juice!
  11. Droid Ninja
    cybertec69's Avatar
    Member #
    60551
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Staten Island, NY
    Posts
    1,685
    Liked
    162 times
    Phone
    Galaxy S3 R-U/Galaxy S4
    #10
    Why no do the free hot spot route by going to the market and downloading https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.foxfi , works like a charm.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Mobile Hotspot
    By thekid in forum Motorola Droid 3
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-18-2011, 06:25 PM
  2. Mobile Hotspot
    By dmg in forum Motorola Droid 3
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-18-2011, 07:49 AM
  3. Mobile Hotspot
    By rjcapp in forum HTC ThunderBolt
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-22-2011, 09:05 PM
  4. 3G Mobile Hotspot?
    By toysturnaseraphim in forum Motorola Droid 2 Global
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-10-2011, 07:13 PM
  5. 3G Mobile Hotspot
    By allencrabtree in forum Droid X Tech Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-30-2010, 10:20 PM

Search tags for this page

galaxy s3 hotspot not working

,

galaxy s3 hotspot problem

,

galaxy s3 mobile hotspot not working

,
my mobile hotspot is not working
,

samsung galaxy s3 hotspot not working

,

samsung galaxy s3 mobile hotspot not working

,
samsung galaxy s3 wifi hotspot problems
,
samsung s3 hotspot not working
,
verizon hotspot not working
,

verizon mobile hotspot not working

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+