DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Swype on the GS3

  1. Droid
    Trapper31's Avatar
    Member #
    18108
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    94
    Liked
    6 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #1

    Swype on the GS3

    I'm wondering if anyone has been able to get Swype working on the S3. I've downloaded and installed the beta with no errors, and I've enabled it in the input settings. However, in the settings menu the Galaxy default keyboard is grayed out and I am unable to uncheck it, and I can't seem to get Swype to override it. (I've also tried the long-press on a text field to switch, but it only brings up copy/paste options, unless I'm missing something.)

    I know Samsung incorporated a version of Swype, but I really do like the extra options and features of the real thing.

    Thanks!
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Droid
    Trapper31's Avatar
    Member #
    18108
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    94
    Liked
    6 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #2
    Hate to bump this less in less than 24 hours, but I really am curious if anyone has gotten Swype to work.
  4. Droid Ninja
    huskur's Avatar
    Member #
    11527
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Lower Delaware
    Posts
    1,885
    Liked
    111 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy Note 3
    #3
    The GS3 has a similar program to swype. It's T9 but with swype like capabilities. When using the factory Samsung T9 keyboard just use it like swype. I do not use swype because it is a resource hog. Give it a try
  5. Droid
    Trapper31's Avatar
    Member #
    18108
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    94
    Liked
    6 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #4
    Quote Originally Posted by huskur View Post
    The GS3 has a similar program to swype. It's T9 but with swype like capabilities. When using the factory Samsung T9 keyboard just use it like swype. I do not use swype because it is a resource hog. Give it a try
    Thank you for the reply. I have tried Samsung's version of Swype but found that it's just not quite "there". I suppose it'll work for now, I'm am just very surprised that I can't enable the real thing. Maybe it's time to give SwiftKey X an extended try, lots of folks seem to like that keyboard.
  6. Droid Ninja
    Caesars's Avatar
    Member #
    251834
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    1,164
    Liked
    90 times
    Phone
    Razr MAXX
    #5
    Hopefully it works soon, people are loving the Swype hehe :/)
  7. Droid Newbie
    billy_gravy's Avatar
    Member #
    272000
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    1
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S3
    #6
    I downloaded the Swype beta yesterday and it works great for me. I, too, was displeased with the new version that came preloaded on the S3.
  8. Droid
    Trapper31's Avatar
    Member #
    18108
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    94
    Liked
    6 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by billy_gravy View Post
    I downloaded the Swype beta yesterday and it works great for me. I, too, was displeased with the new version that came preloaded on the S3.
    Really? Were you able to turn off the Samsung keyboard? That option is grayed out for me. Did you do anything different to enable it?
  9. Senior Droid
    urklegrue's Avatar
    Member #
    6469
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    123
    Liked
    8 times
    Phone
    Galaxy S4
    #8
    When you are in a text box, look at the notification menu and you should see a tiny keyboard symbol. Swipe the notification down and it will say Select Input Method. You can choose Swype from there, and after that it will default to the last keyboard you used. You will not be able to disable the stock keyboard though.
  10. Droid
    Trapper31's Avatar
    Member #
    18108
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    94
    Liked
    6 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by urklegrue View Post
    When you are in a text box, look at the notification menu and you should see a tiny keyboard symbol. Swipe the notification down and it will say Select Input Method. You can choose Swype from there, and after that it will default to the last keyboard you used. You will not be able to disable the stock keyboard though.
    Oh awesome, that is what I was looking for. Thank you very much!
  11. Droid Ninja
    huskur's Avatar
    Member #
    11527
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Lower Delaware
    Posts
    1,885
    Liked
    111 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy Note 3
    #10
    I to liked swype but I went to task manager and saw the resources it used and then gave up on it. The T9 version of swype is good but like you said its not quite there. I have switched to the predictive keyboard and am learning and feeling that I like it better than swype and is faster once you are used to it. Wish I could be more help but my swype days are over for now.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. able to use froyo swype theme on gb swype?
    By stangdroid in forum Liberty ROM DX
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-03-2011, 12:09 PM
  2. Swype
    By gbright666 in forum Droid Incredible Tech Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-26-2011, 01:34 PM
  3. Swype
    By porky101 in forum Team D1-MIUI
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-16-2011, 11:29 AM
  4. Install Swype on a ROM that doesn't have Swype
    By Zaph0d in forum Droid X Roms
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-30-2010, 10:59 PM
  5. anyone have a swype apk or themed swype that works??
    By chris420o in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-27-2010, 01:38 PM

Search tags for this page

disable swype on galaxy s3
,

does galaxy s3 have swype

,

does the galaxy s3 have swype

,
how to disable swype on galaxy s3
,

how to turn off swype on galaxy s3

,
how to turn swype off on galaxy s3
,
s3 swype
,
samsung galaxy s3 swype
,
samsung s3 swype
,
turn off swype galaxy s3
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+