DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Factory Wipe ROM Flashing Question

  1. Senior Droid
    VingInMedina's Avatar
    Member #
    28534
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Medina, Ohio
    Posts
    172
    Liked
    4 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus, OG Droid (ret)
    #1

    Factory Wipe ROM Flashing Question

    I've been flashing ROMS to my old original DRIOD for the past year, but I haven't done anything yet to my Nexus. I wanted to get used to stock so I would know what I would like to see in a new ROM.

    Well, anyway, one thing occurred to me, and I haven't seen a discussion of this specifically, so I thought I would ask.

    I put my new ROM, Nandroid backup, TiBU files all on the "sdcard" -- /mnt/sdcard. Which isn't a real separate physical storage medium but a FUSE file system created from /data/media. So, if I do a factory reset, isn't everything on the "sdcard" deleted? Is the factory reset that CW does something different from the factory reset that is done from the Settings -> Backup & reset?

    Is it now typical behavior to make a full backup of your "sdcard" before flashing?

    If the "sdcard" is deleted, how do you restore it while in CW?

    I could probably learn all this by just charging ahead and trying, but I want to know as much as possible before starting.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Developer Relations
    JSM9872's Avatar
    Member #
    151157
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Posts
    12,927
    Liked
    876 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Note 3
    Premium Member
    #2
    Items on the "sd" do not get erased if you do the wipe via recovery. They will however if you do a reset from within the settings menu.
  4. Senior Droid
    VingInMedina's Avatar
    Member #
    28534
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Medina, Ohio
    Posts
    172
    Liked
    4 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus, OG Droid (ret)
    #3
    Thanks! Then I think I am ready to dive in!

    BTW, do you know if is it possible to flash the OTA 4.0.4 update that was posted by putting the file in the /cache directory if the phone is stock with the stock recovery?
  5. Developer Relations
    JSM9872's Avatar
    Member #
    151157
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Posts
    12,927
    Liked
    876 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Note 3
    Premium Member
    #4
    I believe it was possible but honestly I did not follow it at all. I have been rooted so I had no need to do so. lol
  6. Beta Team
    dr0idg0d23's Avatar
    Member #
    46085
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Akron, Ohio
    Posts
    296
    Liked
    10 times
    Twitter
    @dr0idg0d23
    Phone
    Droid Bionic & Galaxy Nexus
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by JSM9872 View Post
    Items on the "sd" do not get erased if you do the wipe via recovery. They will however if you do a reset from within the settings menu.

    This as I know it is incorrect. Vzw wiped my phone when I was having sim troubles and it did not wipe my SD. I still had all downloaded files, backups and pictures stored on my device.
    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
    DROID BIONIC
    droidth3ory's KIN3XT v1.0
    GALAXY NEXUS
    droidth3ory's AXIOM v2.3
    NEED HELP???
    email droidgod23@gmail.com
    Twitter: @dr0idg0d23


  7. Developer Relations
    JSM9872's Avatar
    Member #
    151157
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Posts
    12,927
    Liked
    876 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Note 3
    Premium Member
    #6
    It could be incorrect, TBH I have not done it from the settings. I am merely going by what it warns you it will wipe when you actually go in there and select the option. It says the phone's internal storage including: Google account, system and app data, music, photos, other user data.

    Regardless it does not do it from CWR.
    Last edited by JSM9872; 03-12-2012 at 08:56 PM.
  8. Senior Droid
    VingInMedina's Avatar
    Member #
    28534
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Medina, Ohio
    Posts
    172
    Liked
    4 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus, OG Droid (ret)
    #7
    I just flashed CW Recovery and I can boot into recovery fine, but when I select the Backup and Restore menu item it just gives me a blank screen.

    Anyone know if there is there something else that I need to do to get the backup portion working?
  9. Developer Relations
    JSM9872's Avatar
    Member #
    151157
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Posts
    12,927
    Liked
    876 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Note 3
    Premium Member
    #8
    I have not encountered that. Did you try booting back into recovery and trying it again? Maybe reflash recover?
  10. Developer Relations
    CJM's Avatar
    Member #
    117189
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Posts
    8,997
    Liked
    1036 times
    Phone
    Moto X
    Premium Member
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by VingInMedina View Post
    I just flashed CW Recovery and I can boot into recovery fine, but when I select the Backup and Restore menu item it just gives me a blank screen.

    Anyone know if there is there something else that I need to do to get the backup portion working?
    What cw do you have? The touch version or the one that uses the volume rocker? I believe you'll get that black screen in the version that uses the volume rocker if you scroll past the end of the list too many times. It will say something like "back locked". If forget what it actually says. But if this is the case, just scroll past the end of the list until it goes away then try it again.

    Tapped from a Galaxy Nexus using Xparent
  11. Senior Droid
    VingInMedina's Avatar
    Member #
    28534
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Medina, Ohio
    Posts
    172
    Liked
    4 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus, OG Droid (ret)
    #10
    I am using the version with the volume rocker and power button.

    When I tried it again, I briefly saw a menu and then it started a backup. When the backup finished it put me back at the main menu.

    The buttons seem to be very sensitive.

    I will try again in the morning.


    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Can't do a factory wipe
    By lefbld2f in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-25-2011, 10:45 AM
  2. When flashing a new ROM with wipe...
    By bigjonmoo73 in forum UltimateDroid
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-16-2011, 08:24 PM
  3. wipe data/ factory reset?
    By actngrezy in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-10-2010, 01:50 PM
  4. factory wipe without backup, oops
    By droidboy1 in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-24-2010, 11:46 PM
  5. Just did wipe/ data/factory reset
    By disassemble in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-20-2010, 11:23 AM

Search tags for this page

factory wipe

,
flashing galaxy nexus roms wipe pictures?
,
galaxy nexus new factory wipe deletes pictures
,
galaxy nexus wipe system
,

galaxy nexus wipe with twrp before flashing rom

,
how do u restore old pictures from a galaxy axiom
,
how to factory erase my galaxy nexus
,
what happens with flashing rom without wiping
,
what to wipe before flashing rom
,
wipe rom
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+