DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Cpu1

  1. Junior Droid
    juice2013's Avatar
    Member #
    211237
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    8
    Phone
    Droid X2
    #1

    Cpu1

    Dont know if anyone else has found this yet but I find by changing the value of /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu1/online to a 1 instead of a 0 my phone gets a bit faster. Don't quote me on this but I believe it may activate the second core. If it has been found is there a way to make it activate after x ram is left free? If not anyone care to help make a script?
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Droid X Rescue Squad
    juhde's Avatar
    Member #
    65193
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    New Mexico
    Posts
    421
    Liked
    4 times
    Twitter
    juhde
    Phone
    Droid X2
    Premium Member
    #2
    I'm not 100% sure, I'll say maybe 90%, that doing this will cause battery drain if the change sticks.

    If the system or an app needs the second core, it will be activated as needed, running it all the time would be a waste of resources.

    Just my opinion.

    Sent from my DROID X2
    iPhone - You're holding it wrong.
  4. Rescue Squad
    ovelayer's Avatar
    Member #
    184603
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    U.S
    Posts
    558
    Liked
    53 times
    Twitter
    ovelayer
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by juhde View Post
    I'm not 100% sure, I'll say maybe 90%, that doing this will cause battery drain if the change sticks.

    If the system or an app needs the second core, it will be activated as needed, running it all the time would be a waste of resources.

    Just my opinion.

    Sent from my DROID X2
    I would have to agree
  5. Junior Droid
    juice2013's Avatar
    Member #
    211237
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    8
    Phone
    Droid X2
    #4
    OK what if there were a Turbo toggle widget or something? I will agree your phone dies faster but I got like five hours of essentially continued use on an already somewhat charged phone. It does make a noticeable difference

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
  6. Droid
    zakth's Avatar
    Member #
    111319
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    51
    Phone
    iPhone 4s
    #5
    Nice find, but not something I would keep full time as the battery would surely drain faster. Perhaps someone could make a widget as stated above.
  7. Junior Droid
    juice2013's Avatar
    Member #
    211237
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    8
    Phone
    Droid X2
    #6
    One other side note... it looks like the other files in this area help control frequency given the correct kernel and governor. I'm not very familiar with kernel programming but frequency control could maybe be included with the current widget idea.

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
  8. Droid
    zakth's Avatar
    Member #
    111319
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    51
    Phone
    iPhone 4s
    #7
    Agreed, would be nice to adjust this thing so it does not use much battery when you just need it to last 10+ hours in a low signal area and only need to text/check facebook.
  9. Droid X Rescue Squad
    juhde's Avatar
    Member #
    65193
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    New Mexico
    Posts
    421
    Liked
    4 times
    Twitter
    juhde
    Phone
    Droid X2
    Premium Member
    #8
    It's already being adjusted by the system, when the second core is needed it's turned on. Or when an app calls for it, it's fired up.

    Same thing with the frequencies, your phone already cycles through all the available frequencies from 216 to 1000, depending on the load on the processor.

    Sent from my DROID X2
    iPhone - You're holding it wrong.
  10. Junior Droid
    juice2013's Avatar
    Member #
    211237
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    8
    Phone
    Droid X2
    #9
    Yeah this is for those who want more on demand power. The battery would be an obvious and replenishable sacrifice.

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
  11. Droid X Rescue Squad
    juhde's Avatar
    Member #
    65193
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    New Mexico
    Posts
    421
    Liked
    4 times
    Twitter
    juhde
    Phone
    Droid X2
    Premium Member
    #10
    LMAO, you're not going to get any more "ondemand power" by doing this. The best thing you're going to get is your screens will scroll a fraction faster in your launcher, if you're phone is just sitting there. The difference will be tiny and your battery will just drain for no reason.

    At idle only 1 processor is used, but almost any task will trigger the second core to be put into use. Automatically, out of the box, without messing around with system parameters. Just launching the browser for example will activate the second core.

    Editing the file in the OP is tantamount to using setcpu but setting it to min 1000, max 1000; ALL THE TIME. In other words, pointless 99.999999999999% of the time.

    Sent from my DROID X2
    iPhone - You're holding it wrong.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search tags for this page

/sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu1/online android
,

android cpu1 online

,
android howto turn on cpu1
,

cpu1

,
cpu1 android
,

cpu1 online

,

droid x2 cpu1

,
droid x2 cpu1 offline
,
htc rezound cpu1 offline
,
toggle on off cpu1 android
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+