DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Swype

  1. Rescue Squad
    Sydman's Avatar
    Member #
    90551
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Austin, Tx
    Posts
    3,406
    Liked
    698 times
    Phone
    Nexus 5
    Premium Member
    #1

    Swype

    Anyone having issues with Swype not auto spacing? I have checked and unchecked the box and still won't work. Have switched back and forth between multi touch and Swype to see if that would work and still nothing.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Junior Droid
    piggylubber's Avatar
    Member #
    90561
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    23
    Phone
    Droid X
    #2
    Just to eliminate the more obvious... do you realize that it does not add a space until you swype the next word?
  4. Rescue Squad
    Sydman's Avatar
    Member #
    90551
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Austin, Tx
    Posts
    3,406
    Liked
    698 times
    Phone
    Nexus 5
    Premium Member
    #3
    Yeah I got it working had to uncheck it then change keyboard to multi tap then check it again and go back to swype and it started working.
  5. Droid Newbie
    doctorjan's Avatar
    Member #
    106903
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    3
    Phone
    Verizon Droid X
    #4

    No auto space/capitalization after period

    It places a space between words, all right, but it's not auto spacing after a period and auto-capitalizing the first word of the next sentence. It treats all periods as though they were the end of a website/email address/file extension (e.g. .com or .net).

    How do I get it to auto-space and auto-capitalize after each period like it did in my Samsung Omnia 2? There was an option for it there.
  6. Junior Droid
    piggylubber's Avatar
    Member #
    90561
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    23
    Phone
    Droid X
    #5
    So far, I have only been able to do one or the other. If you space after a period you do automatically get a capital...interested to hear if there is a setting I am missing..

    I would like to figure out how to delete words from swype...when I try to do a capital I...I often get ki...which is a word I don't have a need for
  7. Droid Newbie
    doctorjan's Avatar
    Member #
    106903
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    3
    Phone
    Verizon Droid X
    #6
    Just found the answer. If you drag from the period to the space bar, it puts in the space and sets up to CAP the next letter/word. A little more work than it was on the Samsung, but I'll just have to get used to it.

    As for deleting a whole word, place the cursor at the end of the word and hold down the delete key on the keyboard.

    It's odd... I was so used to using a stylus for the slightly smaller Omnia 2 screen, and I can't use a stylus with the Droid X even if I want to. My fingers a a little bigger than the average, I guess, and I hit the wrong key A LOT. More practicing needed, I surmise.

    BTW, usually, I find that just hitting an "i" and then moving on, automatically capitalizes it and makes it an "I."
    Last edited by doctorjan; 08-20-2010 at 09:20 AM.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Swype how to get?
    By brandon_droid in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-23-2010, 10:37 AM
  2. anyone have a swype apk or themed swype that works??
    By chris420o in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-27-2010, 01:38 PM
  3. the new swype
    By sbakewell1101 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-15-2010, 09:30 AM
  4. Why does swype not like me?
    By iPirate in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-24-2010, 11:53 AM
  5. Where has Swype gone
    By kamensm in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-03-2010, 09:47 PM

Search tags for this page

my phone won't automatically put spaces between words
,
phone update won't put spaces between words
,
swype isn't auto spacing
,

swype won't add space

,
swype won't add spaces
,

swype won't insert space

,

swype won't insert spaces

,
swype won't put space between words
,
swype won't space
,
swype wont space between words
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+