DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Digitizer not working on lower part of screen, NavBar for GB?

  1. Junior Droid
    carlosberumen's Avatar
    Member #
    233558
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    5
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 1 (OG Droid)
    #1

    Digitizer not working on lower part of screen, NavBar for GB?

    Dear fellow Droid Xers...

    I had a issue with my LCD display (it broke). I changed the LCD myself but after that, the lowest part of the screen wouldn't work. I opened up the phone again and cleaned everything throughoutly, plugged everything carefully, but the problem remains, which has me thinking I might have damaged the ribbon cable for the digitizer.

    For the time being, I installed liquid 1.5 ICS rom, since I can customize the ICS navbar to cover the damaged digitizer section. This way I can use the phone normally although with a "smaller" screen.

    I would like to go back to my usual ROM (Vortex reloaded), is there a way to install an ICS navbar on Gingerbread or something similar? or are there any apps that let me reduce the working screen area to avoid that non responsive section?

    I'll be thankful for any ideas or suggestions... cheers!!!
  2. Junior Droid
    carlosberumen's Avatar
    Member #
    233558
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    5
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 1 (OG Droid)
    #2
    Hello? any hints??
  3. Master Droid
    regkilla's Avatar
    Member #
    80511
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    bay area, California
    Posts
    615
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #3
    u gotta be careful when replacing the screen
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus (Verizon)





    Stock, Unrooted Jelly Bean 4.1.1 goodness
  4. Junior Droid
    carlosberumen's Avatar
    Member #
    233558
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    5
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 1 (OG Droid)
    #4
    Thank you, I usually am. I think that it might have happened when I tried to remove that black goo that covers the connectors...
  5. Master Droid
    regkilla's Avatar
    Member #
    80511
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    bay area, California
    Posts
    615
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by carlosberumen View Post
    Thank you, I usually am. I think that it might have happened when I tried to remove that black goo that covers the connectors...

    That part is tough taking off. You can't buy another Droid X digitizer? I would get irritated having to use only half the screen. Is the replacement digitizer u installed made by Motorola?
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus (Verizon)





    Stock, Unrooted Jelly Bean 4.1.1 goodness
  6. Junior Droid
    carlosberumen's Avatar
    Member #
    233558
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    5
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 1 (OG Droid)
    #6
    I think I might need to think about getting a new one... Originally it wasn't the digitizer that I changed, only the LCD screen (which I don't think it's Motorola OEM). The good thing at least is that it's not half the screen, just a small part at the bottom. Small enough to still have a usable phone, but big enough to prevent me from using gingerbread with GoLauncher EX, as that part is exactly the same part the bottom bar the launcher uses... That's why I'm looking to somehow skip that bottom part from the screen...
  7. Master Droid
    regkilla's Avatar
    Member #
    80511
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    bay area, California
    Posts
    615
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus
    #7
    Don't buy non-OEM Motorola digitizers. They aren't in the same quality as Motorola made ones.
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus (Verizon)





    Stock, Unrooted Jelly Bean 4.1.1 goodness
  8. Junior Droid
    carlosberumen's Avatar
    Member #
    233558
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    5
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 1 (OG Droid)
    #8
    In any case, is there a way to modify something in build.prop or anywhere else to fool my phone into thinking it has a smaller screen? (same width, different height)...

    Thanks for any hints or ideas anybody can give me...

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Lower Part of Touchscreen = Nonresponsive
    By Murker in forum HTC Rezound
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-19-2012, 02:57 PM
  2. Screen with moisture, digitizer not working. Disassemble?
    By volcs0 in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-06-2011, 05:08 PM
  3. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 06-13-2011, 11:35 AM
  4. part of screen not working, can't get past lock
    By kodizzle1 in forum Droid Incredible Tech Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-08-2011, 09:35 AM
  5. Changing icons on lower part of screen
    By stumpy in forum Samsung Fascinate
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-19-2010, 06:29 PM

Search tags for this page

bottom half of touch screen not working
,

bottom of touch screen not working

,

bottom part of touch screen not working

,
half of the s4 digitizer is working
,
part of digitizer not working
,
part of digitizer unresponsive
,
part of htc digitizer not working
,
part of htc screen not working
,
touch screen bottom not working
,
where to buy droid x digitizer
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+