DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Stupid Phone

  1. Droid Sensei
    brad92's Avatar
    Member #
    122734
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    TEXAS
    Posts
    4,506
    Liked
    61 times
    Twitter
    @listen2theman92
    Phone
    Rooted DROID RAZR
    #1

    Stupid Phone

    Well first off, I do love my phone, but the signal "freezes". The icon in the notification bar will say 3G but the download arrow will freeze and stay on. My signal is good and is uasually around 100 dbms where I live. I have to constantly turn it to airplane mode, wait until the phone responds, then turn airplane mode off.

    The phone is stock and not rooted. I have tried *228 many times and also have done battery pulls.

    Also, sometimes when I turn my phone off, it will take 10+ mins to power off, and rarely, it will get stuck vibrating until I hit a button and then it turns off.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Junior Droid
    Robdiesel's Avatar
    Member #
    184735
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    24
    Phone
    Droidx
    #2
    That sounds terrible. Love my Dx, but it freezes then turns off sometimes. Not sure what the cause it.

    Sent from my DROIDX
  4. Droid Sensei
    brad92's Avatar
    Member #
    122734
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    TEXAS
    Posts
    4,506
    Liked
    61 times
    Twitter
    @listen2theman92
    Phone
    Rooted DROID RAZR
    #3
    Mine will also just shut off randomly and restart.

    My first one would freeze and make you pull the battery and then get stuck at the Motorola bootloader screen.
  5. Senior Droid
    PS3Gamer's Avatar
    Member #
    143070
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    190
    Phone
    Droid X
    #4
    I hear of people with these issues and I never experience them. Only once a week does it randomly reboot itself. I do like to keep things fresh (happy when I have to data wipe with a new version, GB) and cleared cache regularly... I also am only rooted and when I experience a program giving me issues, I uninstall. I LOVE making sure my running applications are what I want to be running. I have never touched a program quitting app...

    I don't know what you run with in the background of your device, but maybe that's the cause? I have only experienced the signal to not connect back to 3G when I was in a '1X' service area once, and I visit this same area a couple times a month. Figure out what application is causing the constant download or maybe *228 and click the 2 or 3 instead of 1 to maybe fix the service?
    Last edited by PS3Gamer; 04-13-2011 at 11:44 AM.
  6. returntosender's Avatar
    Member #
    151396
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    76
    Phone
    Droidx
    #5
    When you say "stock" are you saying you don't have any downloaded apps installed? Are you running any widgets? The only time I've experienced random reboots or other weird issues is when I've installed an app or a widget that didn't cooperate. Uninstalling the problem app solved the issue in all cases. The problem is usually figuring out which app is causing the problem. I've seen it with a calendar app/widget, some racing game, and a sound profile app.
  7. Droid Sensei
    brad92's Avatar
    Member #
    122734
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    TEXAS
    Posts
    4,506
    Liked
    61 times
    Twitter
    @listen2theman92
    Phone
    Rooted DROID RAZR
    #6
    I meant non rooted. I have third party apps that I have removed because they caused my phone to freeze like Yahoo Messenger app.

    I'm thinking I am going to root to remove bloatware and then un root. I just am hesitant when I have an issue, it makes me want to stay unrooted.

    What are your opinions on doing the one touch root, removing bloat, then going back to stock? I know I need to save an .sbf file to revert my phone back to stock for warranty, but am not sure how.
  8. Premium Member
    hookbill's Avatar
    Member #
    10332
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    N.E. Ohio
    Posts
    19,575
    Liked
    16 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    Premium Member
    #7
    This is really easy to fix. Factory data reset. It will get your phone running like new. Do this out of your privacy section.

    Apps will return upon signing into Google.

    It will be a bit of an inconvenience having to sign into things again, but it will be much better then what you are experiencing now.

    And please remove any task killers of antivirus before you do this. That might be the source of your problem.
    Please be respectful. Respect is #1 here at DF Please read our Guidelines of Conduct
  9. Droid Sensei
    brad92's Avatar
    Member #
    122734
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    TEXAS
    Posts
    4,506
    Liked
    61 times
    Twitter
    @listen2theman92
    Phone
    Rooted DROID RAZR
    #8
    I do have Advanced Task killer but I never use it unless I have a stubborn program. That and I also have Lookout Mobile Security. You think these have caused any issues?
  10. returntosender's Avatar
    Member #
    151396
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    76
    Phone
    Droidx
    #9
    you shouldn't need a task killer, Android does a really good job of managing tasks all by itself. As for the other apps, uninstall them and see if issues go away. You can always re-install them later. The Market will remember any apps you've purchased so you won't lose those by uninstalling them.
  11. Droid Sensei
    brad92's Avatar
    Member #
    122734
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    TEXAS
    Posts
    4,506
    Liked
    61 times
    Twitter
    @listen2theman92
    Phone
    Rooted DROID RAZR
    #10
    I uninstalled it.

    Here is my idea: I will backup my sd card contents to my flashdrive. I am going to use the one click root method and root. I am gonna use Barnacle to wifi tether to my game consoles.

    My question is, what happens if my phone breaks, how do I go back to being unrooted? Can I just do a full data reset if I need to? Or am I stuck using the one click root or equivalent? I need to be able to put the bloatware back on the phone and unroot to take it in for warranty.

    I'm wanting to go through with this but don't want to be stuck with a $400 paperweight that I need to replace. Been searching google for the past 30 mins.
    Last edited by brad92; 04-13-2011 at 03:16 PM.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. My phone is being stupid..
    By shelby.usmc in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-20-2011, 02:04 PM
  2. Stupid, I mean really stupid wallpaper question.
    By LabShark in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-27-2010, 04:04 PM
  3. i fill stupid but what is a leaked phone
    By wesrsmith in forum HTC Droid Eris
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-29-2010, 07:40 AM
  4. This phone is seriously making me feel stupid....
    By cdlandrum in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 06-01-2010, 09:25 AM
  5. is my smart phone really this stupid?
    By clinton_james in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-23-2010, 05:45 PM

Search tags for this page

android keeps logging yahoo out
,

my yahoo messenger app freezes at loading contacts

,

stupid phone

,

yahoo messenger android app keeps logging me out

,

yahoo messenger android freezing

,

yahoo messenger android loading online contacts

,

yahoo messenger for android keeps saying loading online cont

,

yahoo messenger keeps saying loading online contacts

,

yahoo messenger stuck loading contacts

,

yahoo messenger stuck on loading contacts on my phone

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+