DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: First attempt at flashing a ROM = Fail

  1. Developer Relations
    Garemlin's Avatar
    Member #
    19076
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    2,139
    Liked
    338 times
    Twitter
    garemlin
    Phone
    LG G2 - Nexus 7 v2
    Premium Member
    #1

    First attempt at flashing a ROM = Fail

    Ok I finally decided to give this a try on my D1 after over 8 months. I rooted using Androot. Installed ROM manager as well as Busybox, Metamorph, TI Backup. Went into ROM Manager and flashed Clockwork Recovery. Created a back-up. Downloaded CM6 RC3. I actually downloaded CM6 through ROM manager and tried doing it direct. When I tried to install it following the instructions it just went into recovery w/o flashing the new ROM. Did I miss a step??? Am I doing something wrong??? Go easy on my as this is my first attempt. Been reading and researching a long time before finally getting the balls to try this.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Premium Member
    hookbill's Avatar
    Member #
    10332
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    N.E. Ohio
    Posts
    19,575
    Liked
    17 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    Premium Member
    #2
    Quote Originally Posted by Garemlin View Post
    Ok I finally decided to give this a try on my D1 after over 8 months. I rooted using Androot. Installed ROM manager as well as Busybox, Metamorph, TI Backup. Went into ROM Manager and flashed Clockwork Recovery. Created a back-up. Downloaded CM6 RC3. I actually downloaded CM6 through ROM manager and tried doing it direct. When I tried to install it following the instructions it just went into recovery w/o flashing the new ROM. Did I miss a step??? Am I doing something wrong??? Go easy on my as this is my first attempt. Been reading and researching a long time before finally getting the balls to try this.
    Well, at least it sounds like you did your homework. I'm not a fan of clockwork and ROM Manager so I don't know what you did wrong. What's it showing that you have now, It's not looping or anything right?
    Please be respectful. Respect is #1 here at DF Please read our Guidelines of Conduct
  4. Developer Relations
    Garemlin's Avatar
    Member #
    19076
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    2,139
    Liked
    338 times
    Twitter
    garemlin
    Phone
    LG G2 - Nexus 7 v2
    Premium Member
    #3
    It just goes into normal recovery and then I can reboot. No looping at all. Funny thing is I tried restoring the back-up just to see what would happen and it does the same thing.

    Oh I do get a pop-up window after it reboots saying recovery failure and gives three choices to pick from for a reason. Which I assume are supposed to give possible solutions but really didn't help.
  5. Premium Member
    hookbill's Avatar
    Member #
    10332
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    N.E. Ohio
    Posts
    19,575
    Liked
    17 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    Premium Member
    #4
    Let's send you over to the rescue squad. See if they can't help you out.
    Please be respectful. Respect is #1 here at DF Please read our Guidelines of Conduct
  6. Premium Member
    hookbill's Avatar
    Member #
    10332
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    N.E. Ohio
    Posts
    19,575
    Liked
    17 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    Premium Member
    #5
    While you're waiting take a look at some of the guides in this area. They got some real good up to date information.

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/rescue-squad-guides/
    Please be respectful. Respect is #1 here at DF Please read our Guidelines of Conduct
  7. Developer Relations
    Garemlin's Avatar
    Member #
    19076
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    2,139
    Liked
    338 times
    Twitter
    garemlin
    Phone
    LG G2 - Nexus 7 v2
    Premium Member
    #6
    Thanks. I have read several of the guides on here as well as several off of the forums. Can't figure out what I am doing wrong.
  8. Premium Member
    hookbill's Avatar
    Member #
    10332
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    N.E. Ohio
    Posts
    19,575
    Liked
    17 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    Premium Member
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by Garemlin View Post
    Thanks. I have read several of the guides on here as well as several off of the forums. Can't figure out what I am doing wrong.
    I just realized you have an X. Let me move you again.
    Please be respectful. Respect is #1 here at DF Please read our Guidelines of Conduct
  9. Developer Relations
    Garemlin's Avatar
    Member #
    19076
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    2,139
    Liked
    338 times
    Twitter
    garemlin
    Phone
    LG G2 - Nexus 7 v2
    Premium Member
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by hookbill View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Garemlin View Post
    Thanks. I have read several of the guides on here as well as several off of the forums. Can't figure out what I am doing wrong.
    I just realized you have an X. Let me move you again.

    No no. Said in my OP that this was on my D1.
  10. Senior Droid
    romanrish's Avatar
    Member #
    13968
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    124
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #9
    Go into rom manager. CLEAR DOWNLOAD CACHE: REFLASH RECOVERY: REDOWNLOAD RC3. Sounds like a bad download to me. Happens sometimes when you download anything to your droid.
  11. Developer Relations
    Garemlin's Avatar
    Member #
    19076
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    2,139
    Liked
    338 times
    Twitter
    garemlin
    Phone
    LG G2 - Nexus 7 v2
    Premium Member
    #10
    I'll try that when I get home. What do I do about the recovery image and back up Rom I already created???
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. just finished first attempt at a sig
    By mikeew83 in forum LithiumMod
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-30-2010, 08:51 PM
  2. Lesson for you all. Flashing radio+batt pull=FAIL!!
    By doug piston in forum Droid Incredible Hacks
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-28-2010, 05:27 PM
  3. Can someone attempt to help me?
    By sandfreak in forum Rescue Squad Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-27-2010, 06:46 PM
  4. Going to attempt to...
    By meganimel in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-23-2010, 12:47 PM
  5. First attempt at dock
    By BhamItGeek in forum Android Themes
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-20-2010, 10:40 PM

Search tags for this page

acer a500 factory reset

,

deodexed605-rom.zip

,
droid 3 failed flasing partitions
,
droid x deodexed605-rom.zip fails
,

droid x rom fail

,

flashed wrong rom

,

flashing rom fail

,
flashing rom fails
,

rom manager acer a500

,
should i wipe cache partition when i flash a rom
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+