DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Can not restore from ClockWork Recovery

  1. Junior Droid
    drod34's Avatar
    Member #
    157452
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    7
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #1

    Can not restore from ClockWork Recovery

    I'm new to this so I'm not sure if I did something wrong. Yesterday I rooted my phone and that all went well. I followed all the instructions posted here and everything went smooth. I downloaded bootstrap and titanium backup. I made a nandroid backup. then I backed up all my apps with titanium back up. I wanted to try to install a rom but was concerned about being able to get my phone back to the way it was if something went wrong. One of the post suggested making a change on your homepage such as deleting the clock and then doing a restore to make sure everything went well. I tried this and during the restore it would stop at com.handcent.nextsms I let it sit there for hours and nothing. Pulled the battery and it booted up but was not the restored version. It looked like a factory reset. Had to go thru the whole android startup. Then if i power down and restart it goes straight to clockWork recovery. Just trying to get it back to where it was can someone help? Also I am running on latest updates. .340
  2. Master Droid
    jsw6380a's Avatar
    Member #
    146758
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    423
    Phone
    Droid-X
    #2
    Quote Originally Posted by drod34 View Post
    I'm new to this so I'm not sure if I did something wrong. Yesterday I rooted my phone and that all went well. I followed all the instructions posted here and everything went smooth. I downloaded bootstrap and titanium backup. I made a nandroid backup. then I backed up all my apps with titanium back up. I wanted to try to install a rom but was concerned about being able to get my phone back to the way it was if something went wrong. One of the post suggested making a change on your homepage such as deleting the clock and then doing a restore to make sure everything went well. I tried this and during the restore it would stop at com.handcent.nextsms I let it sit there for hours and nothing. Pulled the battery and it booted up but was not the restored version. It looked like a factory reset. Had to go thru the whole android startup. Then if i power down and restart it goes straight to clockWork recovery. Just trying to get it back to where it was can someone help? Also I am running on latest updates. .340

    You are getting hung up on restoring the stock Nandroid backup correct? Let me know.. I might be able to help from there.
    A.K.A XDroidRom
    Droid X/Rooted (Of Course)
    Liberty 1.5
    Twitter @XDroidRom
  3. Master Droid
    jsw6380a's Avatar
    Member #
    146758
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    423
    Phone
    Droid-X
    #3
    If I am reading what you are writing correctly and you still have your nandroid backup. From clockwork wipe data/factory reset and wipe cache. After that try and install your stock nandroid backup and let me know what happens. I had a similar occurence a couple days back
    A.K.A XDroidRom
    Droid X/Rooted (Of Course)
    Liberty 1.5
    Twitter @XDroidRom
  4. Junior Droid
    drod34's Avatar
    Member #
    157452
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    7
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #4
    Yes, Its a stock nandroid. The only thing I did to the phone was root it and download a couple of root apps such as wifi teather and titanium backup. I tried your suggestion of wipe data/factory reset and then wipe cache. After that I tried to reinstall my backup and it did the same thing. It starts to install and everything looks great for about five minutes then it just stops and last two lines read,
    "Restoring data...
    com.hancent.nextsms"

    It just hangs there. I let it sit like that overnight and still nothing.
  5. Master Droid
    jsw6380a's Avatar
    Member #
    146758
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    423
    Phone
    Droid-X
    #5
    Can you gain access to your files via USB to a computer?
    A.K.A XDroidRom
    Droid X/Rooted (Of Course)
    Liberty 1.5
    Twitter @XDroidRom
  6. Junior Droid
    drod34's Avatar
    Member #
    157452
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    7
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #6
    yes I can get to my files via my computer.
  7. Master Droid
    jsw6380a's Avatar
    Member #
    146758
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    423
    Phone
    Droid-X
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by drod34 View Post
    yes I can get to my files via my computer.

    Open clockwork Mod and tell me what you see under the backup folder.
    A.K.A XDroidRom
    Droid X/Rooted (Of Course)
    Liberty 1.5
    Twitter @XDroidRom
  8. Junior Droid
    drod34's Avatar
    Member #
    157452
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    7
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #8
    I opened Clockworkmod and then I opened backup and it contains another folder that says 2011-0-05.19.45.43 In that folder are 5 files.
    .android_secure.img
    cache.img
    data.img
    nondroid.md5
    system.img
  9. Master Droid
    jsw6380a's Avatar
    Member #
    146758
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    423
    Phone
    Droid-X
    #9
    The only other thing I can think of is to remove the handaccent portion of the backup and try again. I have heard of it being done but I have never tried it. Unfortunately unless that works you might have to SBF back to stock and start over. Something is corrupt in that handaccent making it stick .
    A.K.A XDroidRom
    Droid X/Rooted (Of Course)
    Liberty 1.5
    Twitter @XDroidRom
  10. Junior Droid
    drod34's Avatar
    Member #
    157452
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    7
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #10
    I also noticed that in the root directory of my flash disk there are 5 files that I think might be part of the problem.
    com.handcent.nextsms-3.3.2.stack
    com.handcent.nextsms-3.4.1.stack
    com.handcent.nextsms-3.4.3.stack
    com.handcent.nextsms-3.4.5.stack
    handcent

    Don't know if this is any help. Just grasping at straws here.
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Can't use ADB in clockwork recovery?
    By transfan in forum Droid X Hacks
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-08-2010, 08:12 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-22-2010, 07:48 AM
  3. Clockwork Recovery restore problem
    By ab2388 in forum Droid X Hacks
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-10-2010, 03:02 PM
  4. Clockwork Recovery Restore not working.
    By brandegy in forum Droid X Hacks
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 08-31-2010, 05:01 AM
  5. my clockwork recovery gets replaced by stock recovery?
    By joeybarclay in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-25-2010, 06:23 PM

Search tags for this page

after restore thunderbolt using recovery no apps
,
android restoring data stops
,
clockwork factory reset
,
clockwork recovery factory reset
,

clockwork recovery restore

,
clockwork recovery system.img not found
,
clockworkmod system.data.img not found
,
com.handcent.nextsms-3.4.5.stack
,
droid 2 cannot restore to factory settings
,

system.img not found clockwork

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+