DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: ActiveSync + Exchange - marking "read"

  1. Junior Droid
    4GaugeSurprise's Avatar
    Member #
    102386
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    8
    Phone
    DROID x
    #1

    ActiveSync + Exchange - marking "read"

    I have been tasked with making the DROID X work with our corporate email (Exchange 2010) and for the most part the ActiveSync setup has been pretty straightforward. I have done the research and found many of the current limitations of the ActiveSync implementation on this device but there is one function I can't seem to find info on and I sure can't seem to get it to work.

    Messages are received on the DX and I can read them but they never get marked as read on the server. I can delete just fine so I know there is a 2way communication working. Has anyone had this issue, or does anyone know if this is a setting on the DX I missed?

    Thanks.
  2. Junior Droid
    vtek63's Avatar
    Member #
    97022
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    18
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #2
    works fine on mine. you may have to wait a little while before it updates.
  3. Junior Droid
    4GaugeSurprise's Avatar
    Member #
    102386
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    8
    Phone
    DROID x
    #3
    left a few messages for 3 days and counting now. Deleted a few messages on the DX and watched as they vanished from Outlook but the "unread" messages are staying that way.
  4. Junior Droid
    vtek63's Avatar
    Member #
    97022
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    18
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #4
    just tested mine and it marked as read after several seconds.

    do you have this setting set?

    data manager -> data delivery -> email and corporate sync -> email delivery -> data push (check this option if it is not checked)


    also under data delivery, do you have background data enabled?
  5. Junior Droid
    4GaugeSurprise's Avatar
    Member #
    102386
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    8
    Phone
    DROID x
    #5
    Thanks. I checked that option and I do have it set to push. Figures I would get all the tough stuff working properly - SSL certs and running through a Forefront TMG - but one seemingly basic function doesn't work for me.
  6. Junior Droid
    vtek63's Avatar
    Member #
    97022
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    18
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #6
    you could also go the way of hard resetting the phone and trying to set it up again... maybe just a fluke?

    have you also tried it on wifi? try connecting it to your internal network via wifi if available (also disable 3g) and see if all the functions work.
    Last edited by vtek63; 08-11-2010 at 02:28 PM.
  7. Junior Droid
    4GaugeSurprise's Avatar
    Member #
    102386
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    8
    Phone
    DROID x
    #7
    been down that road already as well . as part of my build/test I has set up a special address and used that for a couple of days. Then I did a full reset on the phone and set it up with my account.
    I am the only person in the IT department with an Android device, let alone a DX so I can't test it with another phone.

    Personally I would like to keep company issued phones all RIM because of the security / lockdown / app / web filtering control we have on those but a top executive wants a DX and doesn't care about we have to go through to make it seamless. Personal opinions aside, I need to make sure I have a full and accurate breakdown of what DX can and can't do.
  8. Junior Droid
    404-not found's Avatar
    Member #
    89782
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    13
    Phone
    Droid X, LG Ally, iPhone 3gs
    #8
    I've had much better luck with Touchdown than the native mail app for exchange email.
  9. Junior Droid
    Barryvabeach's Avatar
    Member #
    83518
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    28
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #9
    Sorry, I have outlook 2007 and it marks messages read within a few seconds usually. Have you used a remote computer to access your outlook account from the web to see if that causes the emails on the server to show as read - if it doesn't work from that route, it might be an exchange setting on the server that needs to be changed.
  10. Droid Newbie
    apatelcc's Avatar
    Member #
    102705
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #10
    I have the exact same problem in the same environment: droid x, exchange 2010. Anyone find a solution?
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. "cache cleaner" ??!? Dont read please!!!
    By dfwdroid in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-30-2010, 08:22 AM
  2. Touchdown "Read Mail" Not working
    By WorldOfJohnboy in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-29-2010, 11:57 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-02-2010, 07:45 PM
  4. Handcent "read" notifications
    By pedal in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-19-2010, 02:45 PM
  5. Have you ever read Wikipedia's page on "Android (operating system)"?
    By Mojo in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-08-2009, 09:08 AM

Search tags for this page

activesync does not mark emails as read on android
,
activesync mark read problem s4 samsung
,
android exchange mark message unread
,
android exchange mark read
,
android exchange not mark message as read on open
,

android exchange sync read messages

,
android phone marks messages as read'
,
mark email as read from exchange
,
outlook client not marking emails as read activsync
,
read/unread activesync exchange 2010
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+