DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Is it possible o tether on a LIMITED Date Plan

1. Junior Droid
    Member #
    Phone
    DroidX

Is it possible o tether on a LIMITED Date Plan

Dear Friends,

I am thinking of buying a Xoom. I don't want to have to pay an extra $30 per month to have another 2Gb data plan on top of my 2Gb data plan for my phone. I don't want to have to pay $20.00 per month to be able to tether my already limited data Droid X. I would only use the tether to support my xoom when I am on the road. I have limited knowledge of technology, but am savy enough to be very dangerous. What I want to know is what is the best way to be able to tether a xoom to a Droid X as of 7.20.2011. Is there a good way to do it without having to root the phone. Thanks for your help.

3. Master Droid
    Member #
    Liked
    1 times
    Twitter
    kaseykrehbiel
    Phone
    Droid X
    Nope. You have to root the phone.
  4. Junior Droid
    Member #
    Phone
    DroidX
    Quote Originally Posted by Kasey Krehbiel View Post
    Nope. You have to root the phone.
    OK, So now I am in a rooting conversation. I have never used a rooted phone. I have the dumb blank expression on my face when some talks about a rooted phone on one of the forums. They typically follow that with a lot of Jargon, lingo, and names of applications that I have never heard of and don't understand. So if I was to root my phone, what would it allow me to do that I do not do already? What is the true risk that someone like me who is not very familiar with Android code screw things up and Brick my phone? Will Verizon care if I root my phone (not that I would tell them).

Thank you for all of your help.
  5. Droid Ninja
    Member #
    Liked
    31 times
    Phone
    DX > SGS3