DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: [Q] Switching Phones?

  1. Senior Droid
    dirtyfingers's Avatar
    Member #
    150570
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    210
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    HTC Thunderbolt
    #1

    [Q] Switching Phones?

    Whenever the Thunderbolt finally does come out I am going to be giving my Droid X to my Dad and using his update to get the Thunderbolt! My question is what would be the easiest way to go about doing this? My phone is rooted with Liberty 1.5 on it and I would like to keep it that way when I give it to him if possible. If I just do a factory reset from the settings menu would that leave the rom and everything else intact and just reset the phone so my dad could log in with his gmail? Or should I just restore my stock backup before I bring the phone into Verizon and let them take care of it. Or flash the Madersctock zip, i'm really not sure and could use some suggestions??
  2. Droid
    jonecat's Avatar
    Member #
    177472
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    30
    Twitter
    jonecat
    Phone
    Droid X
    #2
    Honestly I would put it back to stock unless your Dad is a power user. Regardless just wipe the phone and you can change the phone to his number online through verizonwireless.com. Once you switch the phone to line you will just need to activate it like normal. No need to take it into a store to have it done.
  3. Developer
    DroidTh3ory's Avatar
    Member #
    173388
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    539
    Liked
    130 times
    DroidForums.net Developer
    #3
    Best way... IMO.

    Boot into Clockwork, Wipe Data/Factory Reset. Reboot. It will be just like when you flashed the ROM.

    BTW... You have more balls than I do. If I set my dad up on a rooted DX I would have to change my phone number from all the question calls I would be getting. Lol.


    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  4. Senior Droid
    dirtyfingers's Avatar
    Member #
    150570
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    210
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    HTC Thunderbolt
    #4
    Quote Originally Posted by jonecat View Post
    Honestly I would put it back to stock unless your Dad is a power user. Regardless just wipe the phone and you can change the phone to his number online through verizonwireless.com. Once you switch the phone to line you will just need to activate it like normal. No need to take it into a store to have it done.
    Well, I am going to have to go to the store anyways to get the thunderbolt so it would be easier to just have them do it.
  5. Senior Droid
    dirtyfingers's Avatar
    Member #
    150570
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    210
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    HTC Thunderbolt
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by DroidTh3ory View Post
    Best way... IMO.

    Boot into Clockwork, Wipe Data/Factory Reset. Reboot. It will be just like when you flashed the ROM.

    BTW... You have more balls than I do. If I set my dad up on a rooted DX I would have to change my phone number from all the question calls I would be getting. Lol.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
    So if I did that the rom and theme would still be on there and he would just have to log in with his account?
  6. Developer
    DroidTh3ory's Avatar
    Member #
    173388
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    539
    Liked
    130 times
    DroidForums.net Developer
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by dirtyfingers View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by DroidTh3ory View Post
    Best way... IMO.

    Boot into Clockwork, Wipe Data/Factory Reset. Reboot. It will be just like when you flashed the ROM.

    BTW... You have more balls than I do. If I set my dad up on a rooted DX I would have to change my phone number from all the question calls I would be getting. Lol.

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
    So if I did that the rom and theme would still be on there and he would just have to log in with his account?
    Yep, just like a fresh install. It will wipe all the user data ie. Accounts, settings, etc.



    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Question about switching phones
    By xXbrick84Xx in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-09-2011, 12:37 PM
  2. "Android" Phones as Opposed to "Droid" Phones. What the heck?
    By pdmike in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 08-31-2010, 11:37 AM
  3. Switching Droid Phones - Account
    By mach330 in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-02-2010, 08:56 PM
  4. Selling/Switching phones
    By clucernoni in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-10-2010, 02:26 PM
  5. Switching numbers between phones..
    By derventa in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-19-2010, 11:16 PM

Search tags for this page

how can i swap out my droid?
,
how to activate droid x verizon when switching phones on lin
,
how to change verizon phones online
,
how to switch active verizon phones online 2011
,
how to switch droid x phone online verizon
,
how to switch to droid x verizon phones online
,

how to switch verizon phones online 2011

,
how to switch verizon phones online droid x
,
switch phone from droid x
,
switch verizon phones online
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+