DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Droid X on Sprint network possible?

  1. Droid Newbie
    x_orange90_x's Avatar
    Member #
    171745
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    2
    Phone
    Blackberry Curve 8530 Sprint
    #1

    Question Droid X on Sprint network possible?

    someone i work with is getting rid of a Verizon Droid X because they are getting a new phone. he told me if i can get it to work on my network he would sell it to me. i currently have Sprint and am on their Everything Data plan which is unlimited everything. my question is, can i get this Droid X to work on my current plan with Sprint? and if so can i get everything to work such as voice, data, MMS and SMS?

    i have no experience in flashing phones or doing anything similar.. but i am confident that with proper instruction i could successfully do so, granted its even possible.

    any help is appreciated! thanks
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Senior Droid
    HayWire's Avatar
    Member #
    67331
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    173
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    #2
    No as they use a different type of cdma then.Verizon.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
  4. Droid
    phishfi's Avatar
    Member #
    172199
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    38
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #3
    In theory, the DX works perfectly on Sprint's network. However, the provider you switch to has to allow that esn to connect to their network, and the DX has to be configured to connect the their list of towers and frequencies. Sprint/Verizon VERY RARELY allow outside devices on their network, and i'd bet a huge sum of cash that there's no easy way to get the system configured properly onto your DX... also, take this from someone who just switched from paying $96 to $135 /month to go to the DX from Sprint.... Verizon is better. Faster, better devices, simpler website. Just costs more and get less minutes....

    Sent from my "Stock" DX
  5. Droid
    snowbdr89's Avatar
    Member #
    168386
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    51
    Phone
    droid x
    #4

    Talking

    dont shame the dx by even putting it in the same sentence with sprint!!
  6. Droid Ninja
    xliderider's Avatar
    Member #
    763
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Where Diamond Head stay
    Posts
    1,396
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus i515
    #5
    Try to find an HTC EVO instead.
    a little obsessive...
  7. Droid
    phishfi's Avatar
    Member #
    172199
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    38
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #6
    By the way, the evo lost against the DX in every category, best bet is to just make the switch....

    Sent from my "Stock" DX
  8. Senior Droid
    csimo's Avatar
    Member #
    92939
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    192
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Droid X
    #7
    The Droid X is 100% capable of operating on the Sprint network, but it's Sprint's policy to not activate any phone that doesn't say "Sprint" on it.

    I know of one person that did activate a Droid 1 on Sprint. He went to a Sprint reseller (not corporate store) and gave the guy $50 to activate it (above the Sprint fees). His data didn't work until he changed some settings but it seems to work ok now.
  9. Junior Droid
    jfelipe's Avatar
    Member #
    173880
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    7
    Phone
    Droid X
    #8
    Due to configuration it is possible, in order to flash droid x to any carrier you should use QPST and flash a NV item, I'm in a hurry but tomorrow I'll explain you guys how to flash it in to any carrier
  10. Droid Ninja
    xliderider's Avatar
    Member #
    763
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Where Diamond Head stay
    Posts
    1,396
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Nexus i515
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by jfelipe View Post
    Due to configuration it is possible, in order to flash droid x to any carrier you should use QPST and flash a NV item, I'm in a hurry but tomorrow I'll explain you guys how to flash it in to any carrier
    Although it is *possible*, as stated earlier in this thread, it doesn't do any good unless Sprint's servers recognizes the MEID as a valid one. If the MEID is not in the Sprint system, then you still have a nice pda that can't make any calls or connect with the network.
    a little obsessive...

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Help getting a sprint app on a droid
    By pyro6128 in forum Xeudoxus
    Replies: 54
    Last Post: 08-17-2011, 12:27 AM
  2. Sprint phone on verizon network??
    By rgreene1971 in forum Android Smart Phones
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-07-2011, 06:54 AM
  3. Possible to get a droid 1 to run on sprint?
    By Dvcaptainm in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-11-2010, 01:28 PM
  4. Sprint Trying To Compete With Droid Ads?
    By Shadez in forum Android Smart Phones
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-25-2010, 05:30 AM
  5. Sprint TV .apk on other non Sprint Android phones?
    By rda990 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-17-2010, 01:44 AM

Search tags for this page

droid x on sprint network

,

droid x sprint

,
droid x to sprint
,

flash droid x to sprint

,
flash verizon droid x to sprint
,
how to flash a droid x to sprint
,
motorola droid to sprint network
,
sprint droid x
,
verizon droid x on sprint
,
will droid x work on sprint
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+