DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: How To: Setting Up ADB on Mac OSX for your Droid X

  1. Droid
    tjrocks91's Avatar
    Member #
    68822
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    43
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #1

    Post How To: Setting Up ADB on Mac OSX for your Droid X

    Here's a simple little tutorial that I threw together of how to get ADB up and running on on Mac OSX.

    Setting up ADB on Mac OSX

    1. Download the Android SDK for Mac OSX. Android SDK | Android Developers

    2. Extract the zip file to any destination on your Mac. *Remember its path!*
    In the AndroidSDK folder, there will be a folder named “tools”. We will be adding this folder to the path on Mac OSX.

    3. To do this click on Finder > Go > Utilities > Terminal.

    4. Type in without quotations “cd ~/” Hit enter after every command for the n00bs.

    5. Next, type "touch .bash_profile" to create your new bash or otherwise known path file.

    6. Next, type "open -e .bash_profile" to open it in TextEdit. A TextEdit window will open, copy and past this into that window. Screenshot of TextEdit and Terminal with all commands

    My example:
    export PATH=${PATH}:/Users/Tanuj/Desktop/androidsdk/tools

    What yours should look like:
    export PATH=${PATH}:insert your path to the tools folder in your android sdk here

    7. Next, go to file and save your changes to the text file and close the TextEdit window.

    8. In the terminal window that is still open, type “. .bashrc” This command will save the changes once again you made to your .bash_profile file

    10. ADB should be set up! On your Droid X navigate to Settings > Applications > Development > and make sure USB debugging is checked. To test if ADB works, connect your Droid X to your Mac via micro-USB cable and set it to charging only mode in the notification bar.

    11. Open up terminal on your Mac and type in “adb devices” once again do not type the quotations. Your phone should be listed as a number below.


    If this method worked for you please say thanks! I couldn't find any tutorials on how to do this for Mac and had to figure it out myself. A simple thanks would be nice!

    Also if this method does not work for you, feel free to post your problems here or PM me.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Droid
    debaucher's Avatar
    Member #
    94776
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    79
    Phone
    DroidX
    #2
    Thanks for the write-up.
    Had a few issues I had to work out but your tut gave me the direction I needed to figure it out.

    For me, when I typed ". .bashrc" I get the error "No such File or directory"
    Next, I found out that I needed to add "Macintosh HD" to my paths ie.... Macintosh HD/Users/.......

    But, now it is up and going on this computer too so I am happy.

    I have this set up to run on my Win7, OSX and now need to do the same with my Ubuntu setup.

    D.
  4. Droid Ninja
    Mojo's Avatar
    Member #
    8853
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    S.W Missouri
    Posts
    1,358
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #3
    I am going to sticky this. Nice write up.
    "Harley Davidson - The Perfect Machine to Turn Gasoline into Noise Without the Pesky Bi-Product of Horsepower!"
  5. Droid
    tjrocks91's Avatar
    Member #
    68822
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    43
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #4
    haha thanks!
  6. oo3
    oo3 is offline
    Droid
    oo3's Avatar
    Member #
    94413
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Portland
    Posts
    87
    Phone
    Droid X
    #5
    Thanks for the write up but when I type . .bashrc, I get "-bash: .bashrc: No such file or directory"

    Any idea what I can do?
  7. Droid
    debaucher's Avatar
    Member #
    94776
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    79
    Phone
    DroidX
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by oo3 View Post
    Thanks for the write up but when I type . .bashrc, I get "-bash: .bashrc: No such file or directory"

    Any idea what I can do?
    I had the exact same error, but it did not affect anything as far as I can tell.
    Phone still connects and the few things I tried worked fine.

    Good luck

    D.
  8. Junior Droid
    danual's Avatar
    Member #
    116721
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    1
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #7
    Wow, stumped at the beginning

    When I type touch .bash_profile I get "-bash: touch: command not found"

    The same if I use 'pico' instead of 'touch', any thoughts?

    EDIT:
    I think running "PATH=/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/sbin" in terminal was able to solve the issue. I am new to running anything in terminal, but if I understand my terminology correctly then I think I had accidentally changed my "PATH" path, and that was making it so have of the standard functions I use were no longer available without typing out the full path for the function.
    Last edited by danual; 09-11-2010 at 12:59 PM.
  9. Junior Droid
    awacker89's Avatar
    Member #
    30883
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    28
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #8
    I'm getting the same error, and when i type adb devices it says adb command cannot be found...

    ???
  10. Junior Droid
    awacker89's Avatar
    Member #
    30883
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    28
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #9
    Can anybody help me with this???
  11. Junior Droid
    mactechnm's Avatar
    Member #
    1932
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    10
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Here
    #10

    Thanks!

    Re: Setting up ADB on Mac OSX

    >>> 11. Open up terminal on your Mac and type in “adb devices” once again...

    I needed to actually type ./adb devices but then my macbook did recognize my Droid X, AND after I realized I had to put the Droid X in Charge Only, and NOT in PC Mode, as other posts had advised...

    I'm almost there, I typed ./dorootv3.sh, the script ran itself, and then I received the following message...

    <<<< *] adb connection will be reset. restart adb server on desktop and re-login.

    Reconnecting in 20 sec...

    * daemon not running. starting it now on port 5037 *
    * daemon started successfully *
    ls

    Checking for devices... >>>>

    and now Superuser is on my Droid X, but will not properly open. Hmm...

    I'm going to shutdown my phone now and restart.... what to do now?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Droid restore to out of the box setting?
    By xowktiger in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-10-2010, 12:57 AM
  2. setting up hotmail account on droid
    By otter34 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-22-2010, 10:06 PM
  3. Need help setting up the emulators for moto droid
    By cucucachu0000 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-17-2010, 11:56 AM
  4. Setting notification profiles on my Droid
    By snmemx in forum Motorola Droid
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-19-2010, 04:18 PM
  5. Setting up Email on DROID
    By RinTinTigger in forum Droid FAQ
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-12-2009, 07:49 AM

Search tags for this page

adb for mac os x
,

adb mac os x

,
adb macos
,
adb path mac
,
mac adb
,
mac os adb
,
mac os x adb
,
mac osx adb
,
osx adb
,
set adb path mac
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+