DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: How To: Setting Up ADB on Mac OSX for your Droid X

  1. Droid Newbie
    physeetcosmo's Avatar
    Member #
    133089
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Orion Arm, Milky Way
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    Rooted Droid X
    #11

    You Rock!

    Awesome, thanks. I know the Nix side but what the tool flow was to get my phone to "hook up" to the SDK was killing me as well.

    Oh, as a side note, just typing "$ cd" will return the user to their default folder, and it might be easier to just add the folder to the path. So just enter "$ export PATH=${PATH}:/path/to/android/sdk/tools/folder".

    Great write up!!!
  2. Junior Droid
    scbeck2's Avatar
    Member #
    133350
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    16
    Phone
    Droid X
    #12
    Can anyone help? I must be doing something wrong. The path for the tools folder is /Users/scbeck2/Desktop/androidsdk/tools (when you hit more info) and this is what I have in my text editor

    export PATH=${PATH}:/Users/scbeck2/Desktop/androidsdk/tools

    Yet I still get No such file or directory when I type . .bashrc


    I appreciate any help!
  3. Droid Newbie
    physeetcosmo's Avatar
    Member #
    133089
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Orion Arm, Milky Way
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    Rooted Droid X
    #13

    Back up....

    After you type that in your text editor, you have to save that new file as bashrc. However, i would just type that command at the terminal:

    $ export PATH=${PATH}:/pathtothetoolsfolder

    and hit enter. This only changes the PATH variable for that terminal session. Meaning, after you close that terminal window the PATH variable will loose that location you specified.

    Now just skip to running:

    $ adb shell

    Enjoy your root!
  4. Master Droid
    pjo1966's Avatar
    Member #
    23172
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    312
    Phone
    Thunderbolt
    #14
    I have ADB running on my Mac, but it's not seeing the Thunderbolt. I have it set for Charge Only. When I enter adb devices I get:

    Code:
    -bash: adb: command not found
    When I enter ./adb devices I get:

    Code:
    -bash: ./adb: No such file or directory
    I am a novice when it comes to Terminal. I've rooted various phones in the past, but still do not feel comfortable. Can anyone see any glaring mistakes I'm making? Any assistance would be appreciated.
    Realtor in Los Angeles.
  5. Master Droid
    pjo1966's Avatar
    Member #
    23172
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    312
    Phone
    Thunderbolt
    #15
    I'm still struggling to get this to work. I've been Googling various sites for tips on how to install adb on a Mac, but still am not having any luck.
    Realtor in Los Angeles.
  6. Master Droid
    pjo1966's Avatar
    Member #
    23172
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    312
    Phone
    Thunderbolt
    #16
    I can now see my phone listed in the Terminal window. I followed the instructions and had better luck.
    Realtor in Los Angeles.
  7. Droid Newbie
    scottux's Avatar
    Member #
    252252
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    1
    Phone
    Droid Razr Maxx
    #17

    update to the sdk

    The SDK has moved adb to /platform-tools - they left a note:
    The adb tool has moved to platform-tools/


    If you don't see this directory in your SDK,
    launch the SDK and AVD Manager (execute the android tool)
    and install "Android SDK Platform-tools"


    Please also update your PATH environment variable to
    include the platform-tools/ directory, so you can
    execute adb from any location.
    Once I did this, I was able to run adb. Also, I have no .bashrc, i updated the .bash_profile and ran '. .bash_profile' with bash in login mode 'bash --login'. May have been overkill, but if it helps anyone else out I can now run adb from anywhere and my phone is rooted. I figured better safe than sorry.

    Good luck
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Droid restore to out of the box setting?
    By xowktiger in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-10-2010, 12:57 AM
  2. setting up hotmail account on droid
    By otter34 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-22-2010, 10:06 PM
  3. Need help setting up the emulators for moto droid
    By cucucachu0000 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-17-2010, 11:56 AM
  4. Setting notification profiles on my Droid
    By snmemx in forum Motorola Droid
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-19-2010, 04:18 PM
  5. Setting up Email on DROID
    By RinTinTigger in forum Droid FAQ
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-12-2009, 07:49 AM

Search tags for this page

adb for mac os x
,

adb mac os x

,
adb macos
,
adb path mac
,
mac adb
,
mac os adb
,
mac os x adb
,
mac osx adb
,
osx adb
,
set adb path mac
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+