DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Total Noob here

1. Droid
    Member #
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S3

Total Noob here

First off, I want to say I have looked around and the info I am looking for may be on here somewhere, but I cannot locate it. Most people loking to do what I want seem to be rooted and need to go back to .595 to allow the upcoming OTA. I am wanting to install Gingerbread on my X. I am just on stock 2.2 Froyo. I do not want to root. I think from what I am reading I need .595. So, a few questions: 1) Is this possible to do? 2) Is this very difficult to do? 3) If this is possible and not too difficult, where can I find the info on HOW to do this? I appreciate it.
  2. Droid Ninja
    Member #
    Liked
    31 times
    Phone
    DX > SGS3
    It sounds like you just need to wait for the official OTA update. Should be out soon, as soon as this weekend up to the next couple weeks.
  3. Droid
    Member #
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S3
    Thanks Beka27. If that is my safest bet, I will just do that. I am just afraid they will keep pushing the OTA back and I was just wondering if there was any other way without rooting. Thanks again.
  4. Master Droid
    Member #
    Twitter
    BTGGTR1
    Phone
    Droid X
    There is no possibe way to install a leaked Rom without root and a bootloader app my friend. Definitely wait for the OTA update. It'll be out before you know it.

Oh and rooting and romming the X isn't difficult. Check on youtube, there are tons of how-to videos on how to root and rom it, and SBF it. You need to know all of those steps in order to do it. Sounds daunting, but it's fun once you learn.
    Last edited by leonozug; 05-15-2011 at 11:09 AM.
  5. Droid
    Member #
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S3