DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Overclocking on rooted D1 with stock Froyo (FRG01B)

  1. Junior Droid
    artmcg's Avatar
    Member #
    109463
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    Motorola Droid (1)
    #1

    Overclocking on rooted D1 with stock Froyo (FRG01B)

    Hi guys,

    Im new to the whole rooting game, so forgive my ignorance....

    I rooted my Droid 1 using the EasyRoot app. The phone has the latest OTA Froyo build (FRG01B).

    Im really just looking to boost the speed some with overclocking, and maybe install a few root only apps. Dont really want to mess with kernals and custom ROMs if I dont have to.

    Ive read online that with this latest official Froyo build, you can overclock just by rooting and using SetCPU, no custom kernals or anything else required (I read that here---SetCPU and Android 2.2 for DROID Allows for Simple Overclocking | Droid Life: A Droid Community Blog).

    Is this true?? Is there any reason not to go that route instead of messing with custom kernals and ROMs? Any extra risks involved?

    Thanks alot for your help and expertise!!!

    -A
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Super Moderator/RS
    mwhartman's Avatar
    Member #
    27806
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    South FL
    Posts
    10,730
    Liked
    40 times
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    Premium Member
    #2
    I believe that is correct. SETcpu is a paid app ($2 or $3 I think) Download and install. make sure that you tap the device selection and tap autodect. If not, you won't be able to change speed.

    If you need to download a kernel it is a simple process with SPR via the update.zip file process.

    Hope this is helpful. Let us know what you decide.
  4. Junior Droid
    artmcg's Avatar
    Member #
    109463
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    Motorola Droid (1)
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by mwhartman View Post
    I believe that is correct. SETcpu is a paid app ($2 or $3 I think) Download and install. make sure that you tap the device selection and tap autodect. If not, you won't be able to change speed.

    If you need to download a kernel it is a simple process with SPR via the update.zip file process.

    Hope this is helpful. Let us know what you decide.
    Easy enough.....thanks so much.

    One other question---Do I need to worry at all about adjusting any of the settings in SetCPU or installing any other apps in order to avoid overheating/battery drain/etc.?

    Thanks again. Its really great of you guys to help people out here like you do!!
  5. Super Moderator/RS
    mwhartman's Avatar
    Member #
    27806
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    South FL
    Posts
    10,730
    Liked
    40 times
    Phone
    Moto Droid
    Premium Member
    #4
    SetCPU has a feature that allows you to set profiles. For example, you can set your cpu speed high when you battery is fully charged. Or if you cpu temp begins to rise you can add one or more profiles to adjust the speed thus lowering the temp and reducing the drain on the battery.

    Here is an old link SetCPU for Root Users to the developers web site. I'm not sure if he has a newer I had an old bookmark. Here is a link OverClocking 101 an excellent site on overclocking.

    Hope they are helpful.

    Mike

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. [ROM] ota froyo frg01b rooted
    By peteralfonso in forum Bugless
    Replies: 115
    Last Post: 09-05-2010, 08:04 PM
  2. overclocking (rooted, stock rom)
    By OMG ITS THE COPS in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-06-2010, 03:09 PM
  3. Overclocking on Rooted Stock 2.1
    By drewful1013 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-24-2010, 11:39 PM
  4. Help overclocking on rooted stock 2.1
    By Phreaker47 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-12-2010, 06:48 PM

Search tags for this page

d1 can overclock
,

d1 overclock

,
over clock appp
,

overclock d1

,
overclock motorola d1
,
overclock para razr d1
,
overclock razr d1
,
overclock stock froyo incredible 2
,
overclock stock froyo on incredible 2
,
stock froyo overclocked?
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+