DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Power button broken..help please?

  1. Droid Ninja
    teddyearp's Avatar
    Member #
    27105
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Randle, WA
    Posts
    1,801
    Liked
    19 times
    Phone
    SamsungŪ SCH-I515
    #11
    Quote Originally Posted by NUNNYA View Post
    Maybe ill just do the zip. Can you explain it to me?
    Yes, I think this would be best and easiest as well. And sorry, I only get thread reply notifications once a day, so my replies will be slow. That is because this is the slowest forum site in my world of all the various forums I visit in the whole world.

    Anyways, we need to make sure you have a custom recovery and if so which one. When you said you made a backup on your backup root, how did you do that? More specifically was it a nandroid backup? A nandroid backup is like setting a restore point on your pc, however it is done while your phone is booted into recovery.

    To manually boot your phone into recovery, slide open the keyboard with the phone off, then press and hold the 'x' key on the keyboard while you power the phone on. Then give me a description of what you see on the screen. It should be different than what you usually see. If it isn't try again.

    Now if your power button is broken, to turn your phone off, pull the battery for a few seconds, then replace it. Slide out the keyboard and hold the 'x' key and plug the power cord into your phone while keeping the 'x' key pressed until your phone powers all the way up. If it boots into your regular system, do it over as you might not have kept the 'x' key depressed fully.

    Let me know what you see, stock recovery is a triangle with a red cirle around it (or something like that, I haven't seem stock in years), custom recovery's will have text on the screen, if you get that tell me the color of the text and what it says at the very top.

    Whew. Hope that's enough detail and info for this part.
  2. Junior Droid
    NUNNYA's Avatar
    Member #
    254511
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    12
    Phone
    droid 1
    #12
    Sigh ......I'm down to trying your zip Ted, nothing else seems to work for me. I've tried to change the lines from the computer and not straight from my phone like you said. Problem is when I hook up to the computer I have no idea what to do or how to do it. I got notepad++ and installed to the computer ( which I'm assuming I use from the computer ) and, well can't work that either.
    I know I'm really annoying with my stupid questions and I understand if you don't want to help anymore ( you've been a HUGE help thus far and I value your opinion ) but can u please tell me how to use your zip? I got a zip manager and unzipped with it from my phone, do I even need this ? If their is a helpful post or guide somewhere that you know of maybe you can point me in the right direction. I did read a lot, hoping to find something helpful so i didnt have to ask you.
  3. Droid Ninja
    teddyearp's Avatar
    Member #
    27105
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Randle, WA
    Posts
    1,801
    Liked
    19 times
    Phone
    SamsungŪ SCH-I515
    #13
    Well I will try. First off, try re-reading and answering my questions in the post just above yours. Second, you don't need a zip manager, you do not need to extract the file, in fact, don't do anything to it at all for now. Just leaave it where and as it is.
  4. Junior Droid
    NUNNYA's Avatar
    Member #
    254511
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    12
    Phone
    droid 1
    #14
    Omg your post was not there yesterday and now it is , I thought u jst got fed up me lol guess it is slow....k ill read and let u know thanks
  5. Droid Ninja
    teddyearp's Avatar
    Member #
    27105
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Randle, WA
    Posts
    1,801
    Liked
    19 times
    Phone
    SamsungŪ SCH-I515
    #15
    Well? Have you found out if you have stock recovery or which custom recovery you have? I'm trying to give you the steps slowly so as not to confuse you.
  6. Junior Droid
    NUNNYA's Avatar
    Member #
    254511
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    12
    Phone
    droid 1
    #16
    Ok I'll start off saying that I accidentally unzipped your zip,should I re zip it?
    I backed up using my backup pro and went to backup applications and data.
    I've never done a nandroid backup.
    I definitely have a stock recovery ( white triangle with yellow explanation point around it )
    Thanks again for trying to help
  7. Droid Ninja
    teddyearp's Avatar
    Member #
    27105
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Randle, WA
    Posts
    1,801
    Liked
    19 times
    Phone
    SamsungŪ SCH-I515
    #17
    Ok, do not ry to re-zip the file just in case you make a mistake or accidently modified the contents before you re-zip it. Just go ahead and download it again and then put it on the sdcard of your phone.

    Next, the easiest way to get a custom recovery on your phone is to go to market (or play store) and download Rom Manager (free). Once it is installed, go ahead and open it. There will be a box that shows up asking about your device, use the "autodetect" option. It might ask for Superuser permissions right away or it might later. Whenever it does, just make sure the box that says "remember" or "don't ask again" is checked BEFORE you tap the "allow" button. Now the top will say "Flash ClockworkMod Recovery". Tap that. It will download and then flash a CWRecovery on your phone.

    Then come the good part. Go to "Install ROM from SD Card" and select it. It will bring up a directory listing. Find the .zip file and select it. A box will pop-up called "ROM Pre-Installation". Make sure "Backup Exixting ROM" is checked, and uncheck the other two. Then select the "OK" button and you should be good to go.

    It will boot into recovery, make a nandroid backup and then flash the .zip file, when it's all done it will reboot back into regular Android.

    good luck
  8. Junior Droid
    NUNNYA's Avatar
    Member #
    254511
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    12
    Phone
    droid 1
    #18
    Ok Ive had rom manager for awhile now but haven't really used it much.
    I understand what your saying but just have one question about the nandroid backup. So when it boots in recovery after flashing the zip will their be an option to make a nandroid backup and just select that? Also this is probably a stupid question but will this change my rom?
  9. Junior Droid
    NUNNYA's Avatar
    Member #
    254511
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    12
    Phone
    droid 1
    #19
    Ok NM, I see what your saying. I will flash it after it boots into recovery after I've made a nandroid backup right?
    sorry I always seem to make things more complicated than they need to be lol.
  10. Droid Ninja
    teddyearp's Avatar
    Member #
    27105
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Randle, WA
    Posts
    1,801
    Liked
    19 times
    Phone
    SamsungŪ SCH-I515
    #20
    Quote Originally Posted by teddyearp View Post
    It will boot into recovery, make a nandroid backup and then flash the .zip file, when it's all done it will reboot back into regular Android.

    good luck
    The nice thing about using Rom Manager in conjunction with CWRecovery is that you tell rom manager what you want it to do and it does the rest for you. Just follow exactly the instructions I gave you, set your phone down and as I re-quoted part of my post above, it will all be done for you. When it boots into recovery it will already make a nandroid backup first, then flash the zip, then reboot. You do not have to do another thing. You do not have to do anything while it is in recovery. It will do it all for you if you follow the instructions I gave. The only change it will make to your current rom is the one to remap your power key. And just in case, that is why you backup your current rom as I told you in the instructions above, that is what a nandroid backup is, just like setting a restore point on your pc.

    good luck

    p.s., if you still have problems, send me a pm so we can continue this some other way. I am sick and tired of this site taking five farking minutes to load and/or crashing my browser altogether. As I said, I visit tons of forums sites and this is by far the slowest one of THEM ALL!
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Broken power button
    By onelegchair in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-05-2011, 02:14 PM
  2. A Broken Power Button Solution
    By cpc101 in forum Motorola Droid 2
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-27-2011, 04:17 PM
  3. Power Button Broken
    By alm0614 in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-17-2011, 02:35 PM
  4. Broken power button
    By obstar85 in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-03-2011, 04:37 PM
  5. What to do? wet broken power button
    By BeefGj in forum Droid X General Discussions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-19-2010, 04:41 PM

Search tags for this page

droid 2 broken power button

,

droid 3 power button broken

,
droid 4 broken power button
,
how to make phone come on if power button is broken
,

how to turn on a phone if the power button is broken

,
how to turn on android if power button is broken
,

how to turn on phone if power button is broken

,

how to turn on your phone if the power button is broken

,
how to turn phone on if power button is broken
,

what to do if power button is broke on android phone

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+