DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Help to go back to stock,strange situation!!

  1. Junior Droid
    GaleaNatur's Avatar
    Member #
    210657
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    8
    Phone
    Milestone
    #1

    Help to go back to stock,strange situation!!

    Hello i will write the whole history...First of all i am newbie so,sorry for my mistakes,i will try to explain the best i can!

    Yesterday my brother gave me his old Droid/Milestone phone..He had rooted it with CM7(Froyo version). I wanted to Hard reset and return it to stock so that i would make it as i wanted,just like i had a new phone..

    First of all,my brother tried to make a backup from the loader but it stuck at "dumping..." step,so i removed the battery,i think that is the biggest mistake..?

    After that i did the X+Power button way to make the hard reset from the menu it shows up if i press volume up+camera button. So i did this and it came up with the setup wizard,i make all the prefences and at the last step after the time and date it pops me up with a message that setup wizard crashed(or something like that) and i have to force close it.After that the only thing i see in the screen is just a black screen and the bar on the top with time,date,battery level, and the thing i can do is receive and make calls!there is no menu at all!!!

    If i try to reboot the phone it doesn't start at all,it stucks at CM7 logo and it won't procceed! the only way to go back to the black screen i told earlier is to make the steps above(hard reset->setup wizard->wizard error message->black screen and only phone calls)

    Can anyone help me ? i am freaking out :/ :/

    PS.Sorry for the long post but i tried to explain everything!
  2. Super Moderator
    rck76's Avatar
    Member #
    195184
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    6,850
    Liked
    190 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    Premium Member
    #2
    Is the phone model A853 or A854?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums

  3. Junior Droid
    GaleaNatur's Avatar
    Member #
    210657
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    8
    Phone
    Milestone
    #3
    not sure,where can i check that?
  4. Developer Relations
    CJM's Avatar
    Member #
    117189
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Posts
    9,001
    Liked
    1036 times
    Phone
    Moto X
    Premium Member
    #4
    Its on a sticker, under the battery on my droid
  5. Super Moderator
    rck76's Avatar
    Member #
    195184
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    6,850
    Liked
    190 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    Premium Member
    #5
    You know what? I was afraid you would ask that, lol..I only know I have an A855 because I've seen it associated with the Motorola droid so much plus it's in the build.prop file of my phone. All I know is that A854 is closer to the D1 than what A853 is. Anyone else?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums

  6. Super Moderator
    rck76's Avatar
    Member #
    195184
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    6,850
    Liked
    190 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    Premium Member
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by CJM View Post
    Its on a sticker, under the battery on my droid
    Wow, I had a slow response, lol

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums

  7. Junior Droid
    GaleaNatur's Avatar
    Member #
    210657
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    8
    Phone
    Milestone
    #7
    well i cant notice A853 or A854 on the sticker...it has many details but not something like this...i have the milestone if that helps...but is there much diefference?
  8. Super Moderator
    rck76's Avatar
    Member #
    195184
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    6,850
    Liked
    190 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    Premium Member
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by GaleaNatur View Post
    well i cant notice A853 or A854 on the sticker...it has many details but not something like this...i have the milestone if that helps...but is there much diefference?
    Ok, just looked. On mine its under the first barcode on the right hand side model:A855

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums

  9. Super Moderator
    rck76's Avatar
    Member #
    195184
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    6,850
    Liked
    190 times
    Phone
    Droid Bionic
    Premium Member
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by Crummy View Post
    Something I have not seen mentioned much in this Milestone forum is that there are drastic differences in different models of Milestones. Motorola made things very confusing when they decided to make two phones which are very different have the same name. I started this thread to try and help clear it up a little. I wasted alot of time reading information that was totally irrelevant to my phone.

    Milestone Model A853 is GSM and is the Milestone that is mentioned in most forums. Unlike the DROID, the A853 Milestone has a bootloader that only allows signed Firmware to load. There are other differences that I have not researched since this is not the model I have. Motorola is suppose to offer a 2.2 update for this phone at some point in the future.

    Milestone Model A854 is CDMA and does not have a locked bootloader. The A854 is the same phone as the A855 Droid but branded with the Milestone name for licensing to small carriers. This model will not receive a official 2.2 update but most if not all the custom roms for the A855 Droid will work on the A854. I am currently running CyanogenMod-6.1.2-Droid which is Android Version 2.2.1 on a A854.

    I am sure this is old news for some but like I mentioned before I wasted alot of time reading Milestone forums when I should have been reading Droid forums for information about the A854. I hope someone finds this information useful. If any of this information is incorrect please feel free to correct me.

    Now for a question. This forum section is labeled "Verizon Android Phones > Motorola Milestone". Has Verizon ever carried a Milestone? I thought they were CDMA and have always sold the CDMA Motorola A855 Droid.
    Quoted from a thread in the milestone section of the forums.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums

  10. Junior Droid
    GaleaNatur's Avatar
    Member #
    210657
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    8
    Phone
    Milestone
    #10
    so the model what difference does it make to my problem?
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-24-2011, 02:05 AM
  2. Strange syncing back to outlook.
    By jst4fun in forum Droid X Tech Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-06-2010, 03:17 PM
  3. I need help getting BACK to stock 2.1
    By outkastragtop in forum Droid X General Discussions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 09-08-2010, 08:04 AM
  4. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 08-16-2010, 08:13 PM
  5. SPRecovery back to stock recovery without going back to 2.0.1?
    By jlamb30 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-03-2010, 01:17 PM

Search tags for this page

alltel milestone x build.prop
,
generic milestone x build.prop
,
how to revert to origonal droid x2 rom
,
liberty 2.0 for acs milestone x
,

milestone x stock rom

,

motorola milestone x stock rom

,
reverting droid x2 to stock
,
reverting milestone x to droid x
,

signed-voles-frg22d-master ota.zip

,
when wull acs update milestone x
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+