DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: Unable to install GAPPS

  1. Junior Droid
    shantis212's Avatar
    Member #
    181845
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    19
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #1

    Unable to install GAPPS

    Previously on my motorola droid, I had cyanogenmod 6.1.2 running fine. While trying other roms, something has gone wrong with my phone and I am no longer able to install gapps. This is true when trying to reinstall the stable version of 6.1.2 with the appropriate gapp file, and with 7 rc 2 with the corresponding gapp file.

    For the first scenario the progress bar proceeds about 90% and then pauses. Afterward it says install was complete but this is not true. In the second scenario the bar proceeds maybe 5% and then says it has completed. In both cases after booting up not all of the apps are installed. The market missing is big since I can't download the other apps.

    I've been sure to wipe data/factory reset, wipe cache, wipe dalvic-cache. I've also followed the directions to get the phone back to stock using the sbf. After rooting the phone again and trying to install 6.1.2, I still am unable to install gapps.

    I am currently running Project Elite v4.2. This is fine, but I would like to know what may be the cause for my problems. Any advice would be great.

    I've never wiped data after installing. I'm assuming you don't mean the "wipe data/factory reset" option inside of clockwork recovery. But I could be wrong. Am I supposed to do that after installing a rom? I don't recall seeing that in any instructions that I've found.

    If I am to wipe data somewhere else, I'd be happy to try if you can provide some instruction.

    based on those directions, i'm not wiping data after installation at all. either way i followed them as written, and still no luck.

    would it be better if i posted this in the rescue squad forum?

    Yes, I'm sure it is a good GApps file. I've tried the same one I used originally, re-downloading them, and downloading directly from rom manager. I know of one other instance of the same problem. Unfortunately that person has been able to find an answer to issue either. Thanks for your assistance.

    Previously on my motorola droid, I had cyanogenmod 6.1.2 running fine. While trying other roms, something has gone wrong with my phone and I am no longer able to install gapps. This is true when trying to reinstall the stable version of 6.1.2 with the appropriate gapp file, and with 7 rc 2 with the corresponding gapp file.

    For the first scenario the progress bar proceeds about 90% and then pauses. Afterward it says install was complete but this is not true. In the second scenario the bar proceeds maybe 5% and then says it has completed. In both cases after booting up not all of the apps are installed. The market missing is big since I can't download the other apps.

    I've been sure to wipe data/factory reset, wipe cache, wipe dalvic-cache. I've also followed the directions to get the phone back to stock using the sbf. After rooting the phone again and trying to install 6.1.2, I still am unable to install gapps.

    I am currently running Project Elite v4.2. This is fine, but I would like to know what may be the cause for my problems. Any advice would be great.
    Last edited by Backnblack; 03-24-2011 at 04:58 PM.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Rescue Squad
    titans's Avatar
    Member #
    11378
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    2,668
    Twitter
    @titans_df
    Phone
    Incredible
    Premium Member
    #2
    Do you wipe data after installing? vending.apk might be in data.
  4. Rescue Squad
    titans's Avatar
    Member #
    11378
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    2,668
    Twitter
    @titans_df
    Phone
    Incredible
    Premium Member
    #3
    Try this in recovery
    1. Wipe data
    2. Wipe data
    3. Format System
    4. Install rom
    5. Install GAPPS
  5. Rescue Squad
    titans's Avatar
    Member #
    11378
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    2,668
    Twitter
    @titans_df
    Phone
    Incredible
    Premium Member
    #4
    You can ask a mod to move it if you want...are you sure you're using a good GAPPS file? Open it as an archive with 7zip, look through the folders and see if everythings there
  6. Premium Member
    Backnblack's Avatar
    Member #
    6311
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    11,279
    Liked
    8 times
    Phone
    Samsung S4
    Premium Member
    #5
    Merged and moved to correct area, Please refrain from cross posting.
    A gun in the hand is better than a cop on the phone.

    Only the Skilled Survive

    A computer lets you make more mistakes faster than any invention in human history - with the possible exceptions of handguns and tequila.

    Drill Sergeant Frick's Rules For Un-armed Combat.
    1. Never be unarmed.
    2. See Rule #1

    USMC rule # 23 of gunfighting: Be polite, be professional, but have a plan to kill everyone you meet.



  7. Droid Ninja
    teddyearp's Avatar
    Member #
    27105
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Randle, WA
    Posts
    1,801
    Liked
    19 times
    Phone
    SamsungŪ SCH-I515
    #6
    It sounds like you used rom manager to download the rom and gapps for you. Not recomended. Open rom manager, then hit menu, then clear download cache. Now only use rom manager to flash custom recoveries, maybe a kernel here and there and to automate you backups/restores.

    Otherwise, download the rom and gapps with your computer, transfer them to your sdcard and then use basically the method titans outlined.

    But what he means in his step 1 and 2 is use the wipe data/factory reset option while booted into clockworkmod recovery. I only do it once, the theory of multiples still excapes me. Do we need to format our hard drive twice when installing a fresh OS? Also, while the format system is a great idea, that is one of the first endian commands in the updater-script file that installs almost every rom developed, including CM.

    good luck
  8. Junior Droid
    shantis212's Avatar
    Member #
    181845
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    19
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #7
    I've only tried rom manager as a last chance effort, it's a lot easier to just download on my computer and transfer the files over.

    I moved from RZR-SPR to Clockwork Recovery to see if that would change anything. Might as well try different things to see if i can narrow down the issue. Since it hasn't, I've moved back to RZR-SPR.

    I still don't know what exactly is wrong, but I've gone ahead and tried installing other roms, to see what the various outcomes would be. It appears the only ones my phone has issues with, are the ones that require GApps be installed separately, ie. cyanogen and sourcery. Project Elite and Chevy's roms install just fine.
  9. Super Moderator
    furbearingmammal's Avatar
    Member #
    78594
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wind blows out of the west.
    Posts
    10,371
    Liked
    32 times
    Twitter
    @FurryVarmint
    Premium Member
    #8
    I download my Google app pack from here, and only here, and I've never had a problem with it installing.

    Latest Version - CyanogenMod Wiki
  10. Junior Droid
    shantis212's Avatar
    Member #
    181845
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    19
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #9
    That is where I go to download them too. It isn't a bad zip file. I wouldn't have posted if it was that simple. Thanks for trying.
  11. Super Moderator
    furbearingmammal's Avatar
    Member #
    78594
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wind blows out of the west.
    Posts
    10,371
    Liked
    32 times
    Twitter
    @FurryVarmint
    Premium Member
    #10
    What file are you downloading? Link me.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Unable to install some apps!!!
    By mal_eskrito in forum Team D1-MIUI
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-11-2011, 04:06 PM
  2. new market unable to install
    By stabl4life82 in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-04-2011, 05:49 PM
  3. Unable to install some app on BB 0.4
    By kzmania in forum Bugless
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-07-2010, 11:04 AM
  4. unable to install setcpu
    By gearchief06 in forum ChevyNo1
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-03-2010, 04:21 PM
  5. Unable to install busybox.
    By darkmaniac7 in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-17-2010, 07:46 PM

Search tags for this page

droid x2 install gapp
,
gapp download for droid x2
,
gapp install to android
,

gapps bad

,
gapps cm titan
,

gapps droid incredible

,

how to install gapp

,
install gapp
,
install gapps fascinate
,
unable to install gapps
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+