DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Unable to flash rom or sbf to flash back to unrooted

  1. loveisdead30's Avatar
    Member #
    65944
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    58
    Phone
    Droid
    #1

    Unable to flash rom or sbf to flash back to unrooted

    Ok so I have done it yet again =)

    I was rooted with SPrecovery and using UD as my rom and after talking to a coworker who loves rom manager and cyanogen I decided to give it a try. I then downloaded rom manager from market and flashed it over my sp recovery, picked cyanogen and flashed it. I wasn't really impressed with the rom so decided well its about time to go back to stock anyways. I picked the option in rom manager for stock rom/unrooted/rooted options. I picked this and did not pick the 2.2 SU thinking this would mean I would not be rooted. After the rom loaded, well i was still rooted just with the ninja icon NOT the android skull and bones icon /sigh. So now when I try to flash anything from rom manager I get a error message from rom manager saying only..error..when I try to load a update.zip back to stock onto sd card and reboot into cw for manual, it tells me aborted or failed verification (for rzr). So in rom manager I try and flash back to SPrecovery, same error as before. I have also tried to flash over an older cw and reboot then load the newest, still same error message. So at this point, I can't flash any sbf because I get an error failed .ini file message and I can't flash over update.zip method files...

    any ideas?

    ps at this time, I am using rsdlite 4.5 since all the links on the site are dead to 4.6 version.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Super Moderator
    furbearingmammal's Avatar
    Member #
    78594
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wind blows out of the west.
    Posts
    10,371
    Liked
    32 times
    Twitter
    @FurryVarmint
    Premium Member
    #2
    http://ted.servepics.com/nap/droid/RSDLite4.6.msi

    Also, ROM Manager on the D1 sucks. A lot. What version of CM were you installing? What problems did you have with it? Because CM requires a lot of digging to get at the goodies, like the stock black theme.
  4. loveisdead30's Avatar
    Member #
    65944
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    58
    Phone
    Droid
    #3
    yeah, this is my 2nd time to mess with rom manager and it messing up stuff, this is seriously my last time EVER lol. As for Cyanogen, it wasn't that it was bad but I just didn't like the options or the look it gave. Nice, I didn't see a black stock look.

    Thank you for the link, I have rsdlite 4.6 installed now and the drivers..I have windows 7 64bit, with the 64bit drivers, I run rsd then turn phone off, press and hold up on d-pad and turn phone on. I now see bootloader 2c.7c battery ok, OK to program, Transfer Mode: USB but nothing is showing in RSD, click config, deviceID then verify its on first come first serve, click show device, nothing is showing in rsd now =/. I have uninstalled both rsdlite and the moto drivers, reinstalled them both rsd then drivers, uninstalled everything and then moto drivers then rsd, both ways = same thing, phone is not showing up rsd.
  5. Super Moderator
    furbearingmammal's Avatar
    Member #
    78594
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wind blows out of the west.
    Posts
    10,371
    Liked
    32 times
    Twitter
    @FurryVarmint
    Premium Member
    #4
    You could try a Linux life CD with SBF_Flash.

    Have you tried 'fixing permissions' in the ol' Mangler?
  6. loveisdead30's Avatar
    Member #
    65944
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    58
    Phone
    Droid
    #5
    The error I get when I try to do anything in rom manager is "An error occured while attemping to run privileged commands! 1 thing I have noticed is that once I picked the Verizon stock image and flashed it (the only thing btw that doesn't give that error) it flashes over stock look with old SU and no busybox, so it removes busybox. Hope that helps a little
  7. Super Moderator
    furbearingmammal's Avatar
    Member #
    78594
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wind blows out of the west.
    Posts
    10,371
    Liked
    32 times
    Twitter
    @FurryVarmint
    Premium Member
    #6
    Do you have the SU app? If so, get in there and tell it that ROM Manager has SU permissions.

    If not, well, we're getting to where we have no choice in what we can do. Have you tried RSD Lite 4.8 or 4.9? SOMETIMES those work better with Windows 7 than 4.6. Stress on SOMETIMES.
  8. loveisdead30's Avatar
    Member #
    65944
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    58
    Phone
    Droid
    #7
    No I have not, and as of now, I am back at the android click for activation but no 3g active at all, so I can't activate my phone. I am booting my other laptop to and install moto drivers and rsd and see if that works. Last time I had this problem and had no 3g I had to take phone back to Verizon and have them send me a refurb. BUT I was able to flash back to stock on it, which I can't do on this 1
  9. Super Moderator
    furbearingmammal's Avatar
    Member #
    78594
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wind blows out of the west.
    Posts
    10,371
    Liked
    32 times
    Twitter
    @FurryVarmint
    Premium Member
    #8
    What's weird is the activation is all done via the voice network, not 3G.
  10. loveisdead30's Avatar
    Member #
    65944
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    58
    Phone
    Droid
    #9
    I thought the google account activation on the phone was over 3g, that's why when you have no 3g, you can't activate the google account on the phone....
  11. Senior Droid
    doomer4life's Avatar
    Member #
    80541
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    142
    Phone
    Droid X multiple ROMS
    #10
    For me when I would sbf first I had to activate the phone not my google account but even then if you make it try to connect it'll give you the option of using the wifi

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 01-20-2012, 06:58 AM
  2. [Help] Unable to Flash ROMs properly
    By Vice in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 12-08-2010, 10:05 PM
  3. Unable to flash droid 2.2
    By G8GT594 in forum Droid X Tech Support
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 09-22-2010, 11:34 AM
  4. Verizons Flash update unrooted my phone??
    By NJsFynest in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-17-2010, 07:32 AM
  5. Unable to flash due to OS issues?
    By Dr0idev118 in forum Motorola Droid
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-17-2010, 08:00 PM

Search tags for this page

droid x unable to flash rom

,
flash sbf with rom manager
,

motorola cliq 2 cant flash sbf

,

motorola cliq 2 sbf flashing

,

motorola cliq 2 sbf for rsd

,

motorola cliq 2 stock sbf

,

rom manager sbf

,
unable to flash update zip
,

unable to sbf droid x

,
why do i have to reactivate my droid x 2 after i flash back
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+