DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: Problems Updating BB v1.1

  1. Junior Droid
    jadams7469's Avatar
    Member #
    121300
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Philly Burbs
    Posts
    21
    Phone
    Droid
    #1

    Problems Updating BB v1.1

    I have a rooted A855 running BB 1.1. I am getting the OTA to go from ESE81 to FRG01B. Consequently, it is burning up the battery, plus I want to get to 2.2. The problem I have is this, when I try to flash another ROm based on 2.2, it always hangs on the Motorola logo. I can go back to BB 1.1 w/o any problem and even earlier versions.

    Anyone have any idea what may be going on? I got this phone off of e-Bay and didn't know it was rooted until I had it for a while. Could there be a hardware issue? I don't know, just guessing. One strange thing that I noticed happening is that I cannot do a backup with SPR or CLockwork. So when I flash back to BB1.1. I have to start all over again.

    Any thoughts, ideas or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

    John in PA
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Super Moderator
    furbearingmammal's Avatar
    Member #
    78594
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wind blows out of the west.
    Posts
    10,371
    Liked
    32 times
    Twitter
    @FurryVarmint
    Premium Member
    #2
    Holy crap are you out of date.

    Tell me what you want to do and I'll get you there.
  4. Junior Droid
    jadams7469's Avatar
    Member #
    121300
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Philly Burbs
    Posts
    21
    Phone
    Droid
    #3
    Thanks,

    Yeah, I am out of date, its a long story. I would like to stay with BB, getting to the latest version V0.6.2.1. Whatever guidance you can give would be great. I am at a loss, I have tried flashing various custom ROMS and they all hang on the Motorola logo. I even tried using RSD Lite, same problem. But like I said, I can always go back to BB 1.1.

    Looking forward to hearing what you have to say.

    Thanks,

    John
  5. Super Moderator
    furbearingmammal's Avatar
    Member #
    78594
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wind blows out of the west.
    Posts
    10,371
    Liked
    32 times
    Twitter
    @FurryVarmint
    Premium Member
    #4
    Are you wiping between ROM flashes? Moving from 1.1 to .6.2.1 is moving from one version of Android to another -- Eclair to FroYo -- so you HAVE to wipe.
  6. Junior Droid
    jadams7469's Avatar
    Member #
    121300
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Philly Burbs
    Posts
    21
    Phone
    Droid
    #5
    Yes, I do a factory reset and wipe cache whenever I flash.
  7. Super Moderator
    furbearingmammal's Avatar
    Member #
    78594
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wind blows out of the west.
    Posts
    10,371
    Liked
    32 times
    Twitter
    @FurryVarmint
    Premium Member
    #6
    Are you running a stock kernel on the ROMs? What kernel are you running on your current ROM?
  8. Junior Droid
    jadams7469's Avatar
    Member #
    121300
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Philly Burbs
    Posts
    21
    Phone
    Droid
    #7
    Not certain I know what is stock and what is not. Here is the kernel version currently on the phone - 2.6.29-omap-bekit-0.8.3-stock
    bkriebel @ ubuntu#1.

    The baseband is C_01.43.01P

    As an FYI, I got this phone off of eBay to replace my stock Droid that I dropped in the ...er... sink, yeah thats right the sink. After I had the phone activated I noticed the poor battery performance. I did some research and discovered that it was in fact rooted.

    So, I know very little about the history of the phone, other than I am the second owner and the guy I bought it from disavowed any knowledge of it being rooted. Why didnt I send it back? I had already started playing around with the ROMs when I got stuck, so it would have been my word against his.

    Anyway, I have the phone back to the way it was when I got and it is activated. Let me know if there are any other details you may need.

    John
  9. Super Moderator
    furbearingmammal's Avatar
    Member #
    78594
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wind blows out of the west.
    Posts
    10,371
    Liked
    32 times
    Twitter
    @FurryVarmint
    Premium Member
    #8
    Okay, if you haven't messed with the kernel then you're probably running the stock kernel.

    Question. Do you want it rooted or would stock be fine? Do you have anything on there you HAVE to keep?
  10. Junior Droid
    jadams7469's Avatar
    Member #
    121300
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Philly Burbs
    Posts
    21
    Phone
    Droid
    #9
    Which ever process is the easiest to do. I like the custom ROM aspect, but if every upgrade is going to be a pain, maybe I should just go stock.

    I don't have anything that I have to save that is not on my SD card or that I can't re-download from the Market. I have invested a few bucks in ROM Manager but that doesn't matter at this point.

    John
  11. Super Moderator
    furbearingmammal's Avatar
    Member #
    78594
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wind blows out of the west.
    Posts
    10,371
    Liked
    32 times
    Twitter
    @FurryVarmint
    Premium Member
    #10
    You were using ROM Mangler. I understand every last part of your update woes. You need say no more.

    Okay, do me a favor and boot into recovery. Tell me what you see. If you've done this manually today already you can skip this step and just tell me if it's Clockwork, SPRecovery, or Stock recovery.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. PRL updating problems
    By Thunder_PC in forum Project Elite
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-09-2011, 12:50 PM
  2. Gmail problems......not updating automatically.....
    By MrMorganUSC in forum Droid X General Discussions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-23-2010, 07:47 PM
  3. Problems updating Launcherpro
    By saxman in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-02-2010, 11:19 PM
  4. Having problems updating radio to 2.x
    By jnmilli352 in forum Droid Incredible Hacks
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-30-2010, 10:41 AM
  5. Tried updating BB, now having serious problems
    By Shaneathan in forum Rescue Squad Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-10-2010, 09:18 PM

Search tags for this page

bb problems on verizon
,
bb v 1.1
,
bb v1.1
,

updating bb problems

,
way to solve maple lauching problem v1.01
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+