DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Error in safestrap

  1. Master Droid
    x25064's Avatar
    Member #
    24054
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    609
    Liked
    13 times
    Phone
    Droid Razr
    #1

    Error in safestrap

    I am having an error when I try to switch into nonsafe mode. It keeps erroring while trying to restore data.

    What am I doing wrong here?
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Droid
    kb3awq's Avatar
    Member #
    37372
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Williamsport, PA
    Posts
    74
    Liked
    1 times
    Twitter
    KB3AWQ
    Phone
    Droid Maxx, Razr and Droid 1
    #2
    Im not sure if this is the same thing as I had but I had 2 backups using safestrap one was just after .748 and the 2nd was just after upgrading to .173. I thought I would try to do a restore back to the .173 from .177 to give it a try since .177 was the lastest leak. It gave me an error with the orig something or something orig I forget but it had orig in it. So I restored just the system and it went through so I thought what the heck Ill try to do this with .748 and same thing but restored just the system and it took it to .748 but wouldnt allow for it to upgrade via ota .173 so I ended up fastbooting using RSD and all is well again.

    The only reason I even updated to .177 was it kept coming up to download like every 2 minutes even after pressing download later and it was getting annoying. I found it in cheesecake last week.
    Last edited by kb3awq; 02-27-2012 at 11:41 PM.
    John

    Droid 1,Droid RAZR and Droid Maxx owner

    KB3AWQ.com / W3AHS.com
    KB3AWQ Droid Echolink Node # 196218 and W3AHS-R Echolink Node # 277377
    APRS KB3AWQ W3AHS KB3AWQ-15
    GMRS WQGU515
  4. Master Droid
    2THEXTRM's Avatar
    Member #
    233038
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Central New York
    Posts
    529
    Liked
    25 times
    Phone
    Bionic
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by x25064 View Post
    I am having an error when I try to switch into nonsafe mode. It keeps erroring while trying to restore data.

    What am I doing wrong here?
    if you tried a few times and didn't move or change the data file created in the sd card/safestrap folder during toggle, it must be corrupted. No big deal of you made a non-safe backup before you installed ROM in safe mode.

    If you didn't, unfortunately you will need to fxz and start over, see sargentmajord's write up sticky if you haven't did it before, that should get you back to the non safe side.

    Disregard my recommendation to see sargentmajord's sticky, that is for the bionic. I need some sleep and you need a different file lol.

    Sent from my AXI0M[B] AOKP using DroidForums
    Last edited by 2THEXTRM; 02-28-2012 at 12:09 AM.
    Riding the information superhighway, next exit Droidforums.net
  5. Master Droid
    x25064's Avatar
    Member #
    24054
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    609
    Liked
    13 times
    Phone
    Droid Razr
    #4
    Quote Originally Posted by 2THEXTRM View Post
    if you tried a few times and didn't move or change the data file created in the sd card/safestrap folder during toggle, it must be corrupted. No big deal of you made a non-safe backup before you installed ROM in safe mode.

    If you didn't, unfortunately you will need to fxz and start over, see sargentmajord's write up sticky if you haven't did it before, that should get you back to the non safe side.

    Disregard my recommendation to see sargentmajord's sticky, that is for the bionic. I need some sleep and you need a different file lol.

    Sent from my AXI0M[B] AOKP using DroidForums
    I did make a backup of the non-safe but when I try to flash that in safe mode my screen sits black after the recovery.
  6. Master Droid
    2THEXTRM's Avatar
    Member #
    233038
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Central New York
    Posts
    529
    Liked
    25 times
    Phone
    Bionic
    #5
    If you followed the same procedure for installing ROM on safe side: Toggle mode, Factory Data Reset, Clear Cache, Clear Davlik Cache, Format System, flash and it didn't work you may be back to needing a fresh install Your backup may be corrupted, I have had that happen but I was lucky enough to had an older backup that worked


    Sent from my AXI0M[B] AOKP using DroidForums
    Riding the information superhighway, next exit Droidforums.net
  7. Master Droid
    x25064's Avatar
    Member #
    24054
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    609
    Liked
    13 times
    Phone
    Droid Razr
    #6
    So the only way to fox this issue is to unroot, reroot, and reinstall safestrap?
  8. Master Droid
    2THEXTRM's Avatar
    Member #
    233038
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Central New York
    Posts
    529
    Liked
    25 times
    Phone
    Bionic
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by x25064 View Post
    So the only way to fox this issue is to unroot, reroot, and reinstall safestrap?
    If you have made several attempts with your backup and keep getting blanks screen. You won't have to unroot, since an fxz will wipe your system files to stock loosing root anyway. You will then flash to the most recent OTA update if you want to use the latest then root. I used Motofail program to fix up my cousin's Bionic and I believe this same program can be used for Razr and a few other models so that's where you should head next:
    Droid Bionic -[ROOT] MOtoFail Root D4, Razr, or BIONIC

    You may be able to find the same info on Razr forum here but that's where i grabbed it from. It couldn't be any easier, really, at all... lol Your SD-ext will remain untouched so you won't lose whatever you have saved there.

    Let me know how it works for you!
    Riding the information superhighway, next exit Droidforums.net
  9. Master Droid
    x25064's Avatar
    Member #
    24054
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    609
    Liked
    13 times
    Phone
    Droid Razr
    #8
    Sorry I'm not familiar with the term "fxz"?
  10. Droid Ninja
    cobravnm13's Avatar
    Member #
    193786
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    1,749
    Liked
    124 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid 3
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by x25064 View Post
    Sorry I'm not familiar with the term "fxz"?
    It's basically an sbf.

    Sent from my 3rd reincarnation of the ever-so-lovable Droid
    OG Droid: Rooted running Steel Droid V10.0 [Retired]
    Droid 2: Rooted running CM9 [Retired]
    Droid 3: Rooted running Minimoto [Active]


    I rarely use DF on the desktop and mainly use Tapatalk, so if I don't or can't see something in your sig, a vid, or a pic, don't blame me!!!

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Safestrap
    By gsmith in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-09-2013, 04:36 PM
  2. CWM to Safestrap?
    By Buster Nuts in forum Hashcode D3
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-29-2012, 01:37 PM
  3. Error using safestrap.
    By x25064 in forum Droid RAZR Hacks
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-28-2012, 05:02 AM
  4. Safestrap help
    By kkemp in forum Droid Bionic Tech Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-22-2012, 06:00 PM
  5. Safestrap
    By nikolio in forum Motorola Droid 3
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-30-2012, 08:20 AM

Search tags for this page

bionic safestrap error while restoring /data

,
error while restoring /data
,
error while restoring /data safestrap
,

safestrap error

,
safestrap error restoring data
,

safestrap error while restoring /data

,

safestrap error while restoring data

,

safestrap wont open

,
safestrap wont restore
,
safestrap wont restore data
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+