DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Droid Razr as a router

  1. Droid Newbie
    aroid's Avatar
    Member #
    241129
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    DroidX
    #1

    Droid Razr as a router

    I recently decided to upgrade from my Droidx to the Droid Razr. One of the functions that I rely heavily on from my Droid is the wireless router feature to connect to the internet with. With the Droidx this feature was 95% reliable depending on my location. I purchase the Droid Razr on the day before leaving on a 10 day 2200 mile road trip form Tampa FL up the east coast to upstate NY, Ohio, Tennessee, Georgia and back to FL. I was sold on this phone because I was told that the 4g lite network speed would be a benefit to my router use. Unfortunately, this wasn't the case when I was able to connect via 3g or 4g I had real problems opening websites. Some sites worked fine and others didn't open at all. For instance Yahoo.com would open the biggest problem was that the program I used to access my computer in my office also failed to work. I would be able to log in but the desktop wasn't visible only a black screen.

    I returned the phone and went back to my Droidx and everything has returned to normal.
  2. Master Droid
    bsmith0731's Avatar
    Member #
    236496
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    387
    Liked
    6 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus
    #2
    Could it have been a defective unit?

    sent from my Droid RAZR. 1st android after almost 4 years with apple.
  3. Master Droid
    ddfuji's Avatar
    Member #
    240657
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Denver
    Posts
    298
    Liked
    9 times
    Phone
    Rooted XT912
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by aroid View Post
    I recently decided to upgrade from my Droidx to the Droid Razr. One of the functions that I rely heavily on from my Droid is the wireless router feature to connect to the internet with. With the Droidx this feature was 95% reliable depending on my location. I purchase the Droid Razr on the day before leaving on a 10 day 2200 mile road trip form Tampa FL up the east coast to upstate NY, Ohio, Tennessee, Georgia and back to FL. I was sold on this phone because I was told that the 4g lite network speed would be a benefit to my router use. Unfortunately, this wasn't the case when I was able to connect via 3g or 4g I had real problems opening websites. Some sites worked fine and others didn't open at all. For instance Yahoo.com would open the biggest problem was that the program I used to access my computer in my office also failed to work. I would be able to log in but the desktop wasn't visible only a black screen.

    I returned the phone and went back to my Droidx and everything has returned to normal.
    Were you paying for hotspots? Or did you root and modify the registry to GeT free wifi tether?

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  4. Droid Newbie
    aroid's Avatar
    Member #
    241129
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    DroidX
    #4
    I don't think so based on the fact that several pages displayed properly and the other features worked fine. gps, internet radio, market place, etc.
  5. Droid Newbie
    aroid's Avatar
    Member #
    241129
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    DroidX
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by ddfuji View Post
    Were you paying for hotspots? Or did you root and modify the registry to GeT free wifi tether?

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums

    I was paying for the service.
  6. Master Droid
    ddfuji's Avatar
    Member #
    240657
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Denver
    Posts
    298
    Liked
    9 times
    Phone
    Rooted XT912
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by aroid View Post
    I don't think so based on the fact that several pages displayed properly and the other features worked fine. gps, internet radio, market place, etc.
    Im asking how you were tethering. On stock razr you have to pay for hotspot in able to do a tether. On a Rooted razr. Like mine, You can change some values in the registry and use a third party app and do a free tether that way. which method did you use.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  7. Droid Newbie
    aroid's Avatar
    Member #
    241129
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    DroidX
    #7
    Yes, just like my Droidx I was paying for the Moble Wi-Fi Hotspot.
  8. Master Droid
    ddfuji's Avatar
    Member #
    240657
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Denver
    Posts
    298
    Liked
    9 times
    Phone
    Rooted XT912
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by aroid View Post
    I was paying for the service.
    Oh OK. Sorry. I asked cause I know some ppl were having issues with hot spot. I use a third party tethering app on my rooted razr and everything works fin for me. I don't know if you are interested in rooting hut it does come in handy and opens up more option and apps. I rooted to save battery life by freezing bloat ware and to get free wifi tether.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
  9. Master Droid
    scottysize's Avatar
    Member #
    115428
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Sanger, TX
    Posts
    394
    Liked
    35 times
    Phone
    MaxxHD & G2
    #9
    I pay the $30 per month for the hotspot service and we just came back form a trip to North Carolina. WHile there, we didn't have internet, so we used my phone. I experience the exact same thing. Some websites wouldn't work. Yahoo was the worse. Many sites where extremely slow, or wouldn't come up at all. I haven't had that problem in Texas, so I don't know if it's an East coast problem, or what.
  10. Master Droid
    ddfuji's Avatar
    Member #
    240657
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Denver
    Posts
    298
    Liked
    9 times
    Phone
    Rooted XT912
    #10
    Quote Originally Posted by scottysize View Post
    I pay the $30 per month for the hotspot service and we just came back form a trip to North Carolina. WHile there, we didn't have internet, so we used my phone. I experience the exact same thing. Some websites wouldn't work. Yahoo was the worse. Many sites where extremely slow, or wouldn't come up at all. I haven't had that problem in Texas, so I don't know if it's an East coast problem, or what.
    I pay 0 dollars a month and all my websites work.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-11-2011, 06:24 PM
  2. need help can a Droid 1 connect to a router
    By helinut in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 01-12-2011, 03:38 PM
  3. Droid & wireless router??
    By Tlend in forum Droid X General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-05-2011, 06:01 AM
  4. Droid and Wireless-N Router
    By Sweet Kitten Feet in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-01-2010, 04:46 PM
  5. Can I use my Droid as a Router?
    By craigtaz in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-01-2010, 06:51 PM

Search tags for this page

can i use droid razr as a router
,
can i use my droid razr as a wireless router
,

droid razr router

,

how to use droid razr as a router

,
how to use droid razr as a wireless router
,
how to use my razr as a internet access for computer?
,
use a droid razr m as a router
,
use droid razer as router
,

use droid razr as a router

,
use droid razr as router
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+