DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Reboot every 2-3 minutes

  1. Junior Droid
    iCloud's Avatar
    Member #
    319782
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    9
    Phone
    Verizon xt912
    #1

    Exclamation Reboot every 2-3 minutes

    A search on this forum gave results of random reboot problems but my device is rebooting like every 3 minutes. No matter, what I am doing, it reboots. Device in sleep - reboot, browsing - reboot etc, every 3 or so minutes.
    Current version is 4.0.4 and the model of the device is Verizon xt912

    What I have tried:
    Wiping Cache through recovery
    Reset to factory settings

    Is there anyway, you guys can help? I would be thankful.

    BTW, I am quite new to Android.
  2. Super Moderator
    FoxKat's Avatar
    Member #
    54290
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    8,589
    Liked
    2291 times
    Phone
    DROID MAXX XT1080!
    Premium Member
    #2

    Re: Reboot every 2-3 minutes

    Quote Originally Posted by iCloud View Post
    A search on this forum gave results of random reboot problems but my device is rebooting like every 3 minutes. No matter, what I am doing, it reboots. Device in sleep - reboot, browsing - reboot etc, every 3 or so minutes.
    Current version is 4.0.4 and the model of the device is Verizon xt912

    What I have tried:
    Wiping Cache through recovery
    Reset to factory settings

    Is there anyway, you guys can help? I would be thankful.

    BTW, I am quite new to Android.
    If this is happening after Factory Data Restores, then you have two options. One is to flash a new ROM, and the other is to be replace it.

    When you say "reset to factory settings", how did you do this?

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2

    "Professor FoxKat"
    "Saving DROID Razr's, one battery at a time. :-)" - (credit SallyC)
    Avatar is Maxwell Smart, AKA Agent 86, from "Get Smart" (with his signature "Shoe Phone"), a SitCom TV series by Mel Brooks & Buck Henry, based on the spy thriller series, "The Man From U.N.C.L.E.".
    "Guidelines of Conduct" for DroidForums.net
  3. Junior Droid
    iCloud's Avatar
    Member #
    319782
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    9
    Phone
    Verizon xt912
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by FoxKat View Post
    If this is happening after Factory Data Restores, then you have two options. One is to flash a new ROM, and the other is to be replace it.

    When you say "reset to factory settings", how did you do this?

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
    I "reset to factory" twice, 1 by going in the Settings>>Privacy>>Factory reset with reset data/memory checked
    and the second time through Recovery>>Wipe/Reset to Factory>>Yes

    What would you suggest me doing now?

    Thanks
  4. Droid Ninja
    jpcalhoun's Avatar
    Member #
    148338
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    1,570
    Liked
    183 times
    Phone
    Galaxy S4 Dev Edition
    #4
    Quote Originally Posted by iCloud View Post
    I "reset to factory" twice, 1 by going in the Settings>>Privacy>>Factory reset with reset data/memory checked
    and the second time through Recovery>>Wipe/Reset to Factory>>Yes

    What would you suggest me doing now?

    Thanks
    After you did the factory resets did you download and install any third party apps? If not, then I think the next step is to download Matt G's RazrUtility (from this forum on the Razr Hacks sub forum) and run option 1 to restore your phone back to .211 factory stock ROM. That's what I'd do at this point.
  5. Junior Droid
    iCloud's Avatar
    Member #
    319782
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    9
    Phone
    Verizon xt912
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by jpcalhoun View Post
    After you did the factory resets did you download and install any third party apps? If not, then I think the next step is to download Matt G's RazrUtility (from this forum on the Razr Hacks sub forum) and run option 1 to restore your phone back to .211 factory stock ROM. That's what I'd do at this point.
    No, I did not installed or downloaded any app at all. The time period I get before it reboots is only 2-3 minutes, so that's not enough to do anything at all but browse around.
    So, is "Restore back to .211 factory stock ROM" different from Factory Reset?

    So, I should be using Droid RAZR Utility 1.8? I don't have any ICS OTA file or anything related to android on my current PC. My old one is now trashed.
    Also, should the device be rooted or CWM or safestrap installed? Because I have it has non installed ATM.



    Thanks
    Last edited by iCloud; 12-24-2012 at 09:20 AM.
  6. Droid Ninja
    jpcalhoun's Avatar
    Member #
    148338
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    1,570
    Liked
    183 times
    Phone
    Galaxy S4 Dev Edition
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by iCloud View Post
    No, I did not installed or downloaded any app at all. The time period I get before it reboots is only 2-3 minutes, so that's not enough to do anything at all but browse around.
    So, is "Restore back to .211 factory stock ROM" different from Factory Reset?
    Yes, it will replace the current ROM you have on your phone...it will wipe everything completely clean and puts your phone back to a condition just like it was when you first took it out of the box.
  7. Junior Droid
    iCloud's Avatar
    Member #
    319782
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    9
    Phone
    Verizon xt912
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by jpcalhoun View Post
    Yes, it will replace the current ROM you have on your phone...it will wipe everything completely clean and puts your phone back to a condition just like it was when you first took it out of the box.
    OK, I'll try that and inform.
    BTW here's some other info.

    System version: 6.16.211.xt912.Verizon.en.US
    Kernel version: wt-3.0.0
    Build no.: 6.7.2-180 ....
    Build date: Jun 14, 2012
  8. Junior Droid
    iCloud's Avatar
    Member #
    319782
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    9
    Phone
    Verizon xt912
    #8
    A little update:
    The Motorola drivers don't seem to be working. The Matt's Razr Utility gets stuck at <waiting for device>. I'll try again with different cable and a different PC.

    Another thing is, under the settings, the device is showing Baseband and IMEI - Unknown. Don't know what may have caused this, as this device was not with me for some time.
    Any idea about this? Can the device get back to working condition?
    Last edited by iCloud; 12-24-2012 at 06:31 PM.
  9. Junior Droid
    iCloud's Avatar
    Member #
    319782
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    9
    Phone
    Verizon xt912
    #9
    Christmas update:

    Using a different cable, it got detected (ADB).
    Using the option 1 of Matt's Utility 1.82, I restored to the .211 ICS but the device is still rebooting after a few minutes, as it used to before.

    I went to the recovery and "Wipe cache partition" manually and rebooted. Its still rebooting.

    All I ask this Christmas is to get this device to work fine. Secret Santa?
  10. Junior Droid
    iCloud's Avatar
    Member #
    319782
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    9
    Phone
    Verizon xt912
    #10
    UPDATE
    I was able to update to .215, but the reboot problem is still there. A thing I noticed is, there's no longer the option of IMEI under ABOUT SETTINGS, though the base band is still unknown.
    Any help please?
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. New DROID likes to reboot..Reboot..REBOOT!!
    By MrsTokyo in forum Droid X Tech Support
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 06-03-2012, 10:01 AM
  2. D2G Time taken to reboot : 2 min 30 sec to 3 minutes
    By bhojo1 in forum Motorola Droid 2 Global
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-10-2012, 06:45 PM
  3. Cant connect USB - Just Reboot, reboot, reboot
    By rabbit1080 in forum Droid X Tech Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-12-2011, 02:41 PM
  4. Adding Reboot/Reboot Recovery options to a ROM
    By woodyman in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-05-2010, 02:22 AM
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-04-2010, 05:54 PM

Search tags for this page

android reboots every few minutes

,

droid biontic reboots anout every 3 minutes

,

droid razr maxx restarts itself utility

,

droid razr reboots every few minutes

,

galaxy s3 restarts every couple of minutes

,

how to restart device every minute in android

,

my bmw 3 series is res booting every 3 minutes ... how to st

,

new htc rezound phone reboots every 5 minutes

,
phone restarts every couple minutes
,

why does my droid razr restart every 3 minutes

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+