DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Need Help with Bootlooped Maxx

  1. Junior Droid
    1PDoc's Avatar
    Member #
    312734
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    10
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Razr Maxx XT912
    #1

    Exclamation Need Help with Bootlooped Maxx

    Hoping this is the right forum to ask this...

    I'm new to rooting and a few weeks ago I made the mistake of trying to change font on stock ROM using ROM Toolbox. Now my stock side is boot looped. I can still access and flash custom ROMs, which is fine, but I'd like a fully functional device.

    A couple other details: 1) I'm running Safestrap 3.05; 2) No, I didn't do a back-up

    I'll know better next time around. Meanwhile, I'd appreciate any help- thanks.
  2. Droid Ninja
    jpcalhoun's Avatar
    Member #
    148338
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    1,570
    Liked
    183 times
    Phone
    Galaxy S4 Dev Edition
    #2
    Quote Originally Posted by 1PDoc View Post
    Hoping this is the right forum to ask this...

    I'm new to rooting and a few weeks ago I made the mistake of trying to change font on stock ROM using ROM Toolbox. Now my stock side is boot looped. I can still access and flash custom ROMs, which is fine, but I'd like a fully functional device.

    A couple other details: 1) I'm running Safestrap 3.05; 2) No, I didn't do a back-up

    I'll know better next time around. Meanwhile, I'd appreciate any help- thanks.
    The first thing I would try is to clear cache/clear delvik/clear data on the "stock side". You will have to get into recovery to do this.
  3. Droid Ninja
    joshxdroid's Avatar
    Member #
    266952
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    1,065
    Liked
    156 times
    Phone
    Droid RAZR
    #3
    I would probably use matts utility to fastboot back to stock and start from scratch. It'll be a bit of a pain setting everything up again, but probably worth it in the long run. And make a backup next time

    Sent from my XT912 running some custom Rom.....I can't keep changing this sig
  4. Junior Droid
    1PDoc's Avatar
    Member #
    312734
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    10
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Razr Maxx XT912
    #4

    Re: Need Help with Bootlooped Maxx

    I did clear cache, etc but it did no good.

    I have Matt's utility 1.82., hoping this is correct? If you can guide me to the most comprehensive set of instructions I'd appreciate it.

    Also, I'm a little unclear if I can run it with safestrap still installed and whether I'll need to re-root afterwards?

    I'm fine setting everything back up- I'm the one who made the stupid mistake, so I deserve it. And sorry for so many questions-thanks for your help...

    Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2
  5. Developer Relations
    GoCliffGo05's Avatar
    Member #
    282320
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,382
    Liked
    418 times
    Twitter
    GoCliffGo
    Phone
    DE Moto X, RAZR HD Dev, N7, X2
    Premium Member
    #5

    Re: Need Help with Bootlooped Maxx

    Your phone will be like "new" after you run the utility. So yes you will need to reroot and reinstall safe strap. For the utility its simple, most instructions are on screen. Make sure Moto drivers are installed on the computer. Open the utility, put your phone in fast boot mode and plug it in, choose the option to restore back to ICS and off you go.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2



    "She leans into me and I keep my arms around her. I don't fool myself that I hold her together -- She does that on her own -- But holding her keeps me from flying apart."
  6. Junior Droid
    1PDoc's Avatar
    Member #
    312734
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    10
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Razr Maxx XT912
    #6

    Re: Need Help with Bootlooped Maxx

    Cool- Thanks.

    One final question before I get going on this. I was going to try this last night on my own but decided to hold off for some feedback. That's how I got myself into this mess to begin with. Anyway I did tried to load the drivers but my PC keeps coming up with an error message. I have drivers previously loaded from my computer does recognize my device when plugged in- should that be sufficient?

    Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2
  7. Droid Ninja
    joshxdroid's Avatar
    Member #
    266952
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    1,065
    Liked
    156 times
    Phone
    Droid RAZR
    #7
    Clear instructions provided by tismydroid

    Quote Originally Posted by TisMyDroid View Post
    Yes echoexs, if I understand correctly, you can return to official OTA stock ICS by using option 1 of the utility. When you have enough charge (at least 50%), follow these steps...

    Going back to stock .211:
    *On your pc, download and install Matt's Razr Utility 1.8 or 1.81 or 1.82. You can find 1.82 here:
    Droid Razr Utility 1.82 [Windows] For Verizon Droid Razr And Droid Razr Maxx Only - DroidRzr.com
    *Extract that utility to its own folder on your computer...you must extract the file on your pc. It will not work from your phone.
    *After the utility is extracted, go to the Motorola drivers folder in the utility and make sure you have the latest Motorola drivers installed on your pc.
    *make sure your phone is set to usb debugging mode (menu>system setting>developer options).
    *Power your phone off. Then power your phone on while holding down your power, the volume up and volume down buttons simultaneously.
    *Connect your phone to your computer with the factory supplied usb cable.
    *On your phone select AP Fastboot, then in the utility select option 1..."restore phone to stock .211. Do not unplug the usb cable until the utility finishes.
    *When completed your phone should reboot to stock .211.
    *After running option 1, restart phone to make sure all is fine.

    Sent from my XT907 using Droid Forums
    Sent from my XT912 running some custom Rom.....I can't keep changing this sig
  8. Junior Droid
    1PDoc's Avatar
    Member #
    312734
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    10
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Razr Maxx XT912
    #8

    Re: Need Help with Bootlooped Maxx

    I'm sorry some of that wasn't clear. I meant to write that I already had drivers installed on my computer from several weeks ago (I just rooted ~1 month ago)

    Last night I was unable to download the drivers from matt's utility. I Figured it wouldn't hurt to reinstall in case there were Any changes. That's when I began getting error messages and just called it quits for the night.

    Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2
  9. Developer Relations
    GoCliffGo05's Avatar
    Member #
    282320
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,382
    Liked
    418 times
    Twitter
    GoCliffGo
    Phone
    DE Moto X, RAZR HD Dev, N7, X2
    Premium Member
    #9

    Re: Need Help with Bootlooped Maxx

    If you have drivers installed and you rooted successfully with them then they should work just fine.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2



    "She leans into me and I keep my arms around her. I don't fool myself that I hold her together -- She does that on her own -- But holding her keeps me from flying apart."
  10. Droid Ninja
    joshxdroid's Avatar
    Member #
    266952
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    1,065
    Liked
    156 times
    Phone
    Droid RAZR
    #10
    I'm sorry if that wasn't clear. What needs clarification?

    Sent from my XT912 running some custom Rom.....I can't keep changing this sig
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-07-2012, 06:12 PM
  2. Bootlooped my Refurb D2?
    By kpeters59 in forum Cyanogenmod - D2
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-31-2012, 02:34 PM
  3. Bootlooped d2
    By greeenie in forum Droid 2 Tech Issues
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-08-2011, 12:11 PM
  4. droid2 bricked, bootlooped, wiped!!!!!!
    By CKD2 in forum Droid 2 Tech Issues
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-24-2011, 04:32 PM
  5. tried to install a theme and bootlooped
    By stinkybudz in forum Cyanogenmod
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 01-12-2011, 06:04 PM

Search tags for this page

razr maxx reboots on its own

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+