DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: external microSD card.... went from 16GB and 32GB and FROZEN droid razr

  1. Droid
    jp233's Avatar
    Member #
    254676
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    92
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    Droid RAZR
    #1

    external microSD card.... went from 16GB and 32GB and FROZEN droid razr

    BACKGROUND: device is a stock XT912 RAZR on ICS 4.0, unrooted and unmolested (and I hate ICS, after having it only barely over a month - I waited forever to "upgrade", want to go back to Gingerbread.... but I digress)


    Hello,

    I am trying to upgrade my 16gb removable card to a 32gb, but the phone just freezes constantly with all the data moved.

    Note: I ONLY have raw data files on my removable SD card -- music, pictures, videos, etc.

    I put the new 32GB microSD card into the SD Card adapter, and into my laptop. Then plugged the phone into the USB and moved all 14.2 GB onto the new 32GB card that way. The folder/file structure is the same. Then, unmounted the 16GB card in the phone, removed it, and replaced with the 32 GB card. The phone will find things in My Gallery etc, but will freeze and die. I've had to reboot ten times and just by pulling the 32GB card, the phone runs fine. I've gone back to the 16GB card which is full, for now.

    The whole Internal vs. External SD card labeling in ICS is stupid, as I do have a bunch of Apps in the /mnt/sdcard section (288MB worth). I have the Camera set to place all camera files (pics & video) onto the External SD card. I thought since this is actually "Internal" (aka non-removable) storage that I would be able to move all the data the way I did and voila! I have a lot more storage space. I don't want to have to go through and delete music, and I'm simply going to continue to add files due to kid pics and video.

    Do I need to re-format the new 32GB card FROMthe phone? If so - then would it still be recognized in my Windows7 laptop to transfer all the data files from the 16GB card?

    Or, what did I do wrong and how do I do this?
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Super Moderator
    macpro88's Avatar
    Member #
    168721
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,400
    Liked
    203 times
    Twitter
    macpro88
    Phone
    RAZR HD
    Premium Member
    #2
    Do it backwards, place the 32GB card in the phone, and let the phone format it so Android can use it, put the 16GB in the adapter and in your computer, and proceed to move things over as desired.
  4. Droid Ninja
    jpcalhoun's Avatar
    Member #
    148338
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    1,570
    Liked
    183 times
    Phone
    Galaxy S4 Dev Edition
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by macpro88 View Post
    Do it backwards, place the 32GB card in the phone, and let the phone format it so Android can use it, put the 16GB in the adapter and in your computer, and proceed to move things over as desired.
    +1 on what he said.
  5. Master Droid
    Sal R.'s Avatar
    Member #
    9133
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    423
    Liked
    25 times
    Phone
    Note 2
    #4
    Yep, that's what I did.
  6. Droid Ninja
    jpcalhoun's Avatar
    Member #
    148338
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    1,570
    Liked
    183 times
    Phone
    Galaxy S4 Dev Edition
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by Sal R. View Post
    Yep, that's what I did.
    I've heard of some 32g and 64g sdcards not working in Motorola phones. It has something to do with the latency I think. The recommended is 5 or higher if I remember right. What is the make and latency of the card you are trying to use.
  7. Super Moderator
    macpro88's Avatar
    Member #
    168721
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,400
    Liked
    203 times
    Twitter
    macpro88
    Phone
    RAZR HD
    Premium Member
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by jpcalhoun View Post
    I've heard of some 32g and 64g sdcards not working in Motorola phones. It has something to do with the latency I think. The recommended is 5 or higher if I remember right. What is the make and latency of the card you are trying to use.
    Card speeds are measured in classes, starting at 2,4,6, and 10.

    I have a Class 10 32GB card and works just fine. I also have a 64GB Class 10 card that DOES NOT work, but has nothing to do with class, just the fact that the 64GB is formatted as exFAT instead of FAT32 like the 32GB card is, and Android (at least ICS 4.0.X) does not like exFAT.
  8. Master Droid
    Sal R.'s Avatar
    Member #
    9133
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    423
    Liked
    25 times
    Phone
    Note 2
    #7
    Mine is a SanDisk 32GB HC. Class 4, IIRC.
  9. Droid Ninja
    jpcalhoun's Avatar
    Member #
    148338
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    1,570
    Liked
    183 times
    Phone
    Galaxy S4 Dev Edition
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by macpro88 View Post
    Card speeds are measured in classes, starting at 2,4,6, and 10.

    I have a Class 10 32GB card and works just fine. I also have a 64GB Class 10 card that DOES NOT work, but has nothing to do with class, just the fact that the 64GB is formatted as exFAT instead of FAT32 like the 32GB card is, and Android (at least ICS 4.0.X) does not like exFAT.
    Thanks macpro...I knew it was something...latency was the first thing that came to mind. I wonder if a class 4 that he is using is the problem? I know there was some discussion a few months ago on the Motorola Support Forum about the issue of "class" for sdcards.
  10. Super Moderator
    macpro88's Avatar
    Member #
    168721
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,400
    Liked
    203 times
    Twitter
    macpro88
    Phone
    RAZR HD
    Premium Member
    #9
    Class 4 is pretty standard and should work without a hitch. Some phones have issues with Class 10 in the past, but Android has been doing a good job at keeping up with the SD Cards. Gingerbread and Froyo especially picky about the Class 10 cards. ICS should not have issues with Class 10 but most phones don't like the 64GB cards because of the different stock file system it uses.
  11. Droid Ninja
    jpcalhoun's Avatar
    Member #
    148338
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    1,570
    Liked
    183 times
    Phone
    Galaxy S4 Dev Edition
    #10
    Well...I don't have any other help to offer. If the phone will format the sdcard then I don't understand why it won't read it. Maybe a defective card?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Just upgraded from a Droid A855 to Droid RAZR 16GB (w/ 32GB SD CarD)
    By jayareburn in forum New Member Introductions & Site Assistance
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-12-2012, 11:31 AM
  2. S3 with 32gb just a 16gb with 16gb card?
    By justdhutch in forum Galaxy S3 General Discussion
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 07-02-2012, 04:54 PM
  3. Best reliable microsd card (16 or 32gb)?
    By trale in forum Droid X Accessories
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-18-2011, 03:12 PM
  4. which 16gb microsd card class?
    By naturedragon in forum Motorola Droid X2
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-09-2011, 12:23 PM
  5. Switching out 16gb for 32gb MicroSD question
    By RedBull in forum Rescue Squad Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-02-2010, 07:49 AM

Search tags for this page

can droid x use 32gb sd card

,

droid razr m micro sd card

,

droid razr m sd card format

,

droid razr maxx 16gb or 32gb

,

droid razr maxx 16gb vs 32gb

,

how to format 32gb micro sd card for android

,

how to replace micro sd card android

,

micro sd 32gb makes my phone freeze

,
micro sd card frozen
,
moving pics on razr onto scan disc
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+