DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Reset my phone, missing wifi networks

  1. Senior Droid
    Scott0719's Avatar
    Member #
    249555
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    190
    Liked
    7 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S3
    #1

    Reset my phone, missing wifi networks

    I factory reset my phone yesterday just to do it. I just realized that it didn't restore my wifi networks that were saved. At what point does it do that during the restore process? Is it something that's done automatically or do I have to do it? Can I do it now without resetting my phone again? I hope not I just downloaded 70 something apps and set everything up again.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Master Droid
    jaye712's Avatar
    Member #
    261054
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    843
    Liked
    69 times
    Phone
    DROID MAXX
    #2
    Quote Originally Posted by Scott0719
    I factory reset my phone yesterday just to do it. I just realized that it didn't restore my wifi networks that were saved. At what point does it do that during the restore process? Is it something that's done automatically or do I have to do it? Can I do it now without resetting my phone again? I hope not I just downloaded 70 something apps and set everything up again.
    As i understand it,n my own experience, u dnt gotta reset ur phone agian..U normally have to reconnect it agian after doin a fdr..
  4. Master Droid
    jaye712's Avatar
    Member #
    261054
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    843
    Liked
    69 times
    Phone
    DROID MAXX
    #3
    Btw,If ur missing wifi netwrks,iam not too much of a tech person but i know the simple stuff u can try....have u tryed unplugging ur modem n router for 10seconds/turn off your phone..then turn both on agian n see if u see any netwrks..if not,try typin in ur netwrk name,n set it yourself on the phone n save it n see if it helps any..if anything iam sure the folks on here can help u out
  5. Senior Droid
    Scott0719's Avatar
    Member #
    249555
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    190
    Liked
    7 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S3
    #4
    It's not that I can't connect to a network. It just didn't restore all the networks that I had connected to before.

    Does anyone know if resetting it again would work? At what point during the restore process does it restore this stuff? I thought it would be when I put my Gmail account in.
  6. Master Droid
    TatDroid's Avatar
    Member #
    9368
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    680
    Liked
    106 times
    Phone
    Moto X
    #5
    I haven't done a "factory data reset" myself, but I was under the impression that it wipes all user data and restores it to how it left the "factory". Any restore after a FDR could only be done if an app was used to do a backup before the FDR. I think there are LOTS of backup apps, and some back up more different types of data than others. I'm not sure what apps may back up wifi network settings.

    Which app did you use to do your backup?
    Phones: OG Droid >>Droid Bionic>>Moto X
  7. Rescue Squad
    TisMyDroid's Avatar
    Member #
    171269
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Central New York
    Posts
    4,462
    Liked
    950 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy Note 2
    #6
    Scott, what tatdroid said is true, when doing an fdr, it erases all user data and to restore that data would have to come from using a backup app that was used before doing the fdr or settings that are saved in your google account. Your phone should detect any Wi-Fi networks when you are in range of the network. Once the Wi-Fi is detected, you may have to put in the pass-code in order to connect to that Wi-Fi.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
  8. Senior Droid
    Scott0719's Avatar
    Member #
    249555
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    190
    Liked
    7 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S3
    #7
    But I've done factory resets before and bought a brand new phone and it always restored all the wifi networks that I connected to. Connecting isn't the issue. It's the fact I have to connect that is the issue.
  9. Senior Droid
    Scott0719's Avatar
    Member #
    249555
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    190
    Liked
    7 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S3
    #8
    Under privacy it says back up app data, wifi passwords and other settings to Google servers. So how do I restore that data?
  10. Rescue Squad
    TisMyDroid's Avatar
    Member #
    171269
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Central New York
    Posts
    4,462
    Liked
    950 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy Note 2
    #9
    It should restore that data when you signed into your google email address on the phone. For some reason, it is possible some information did not get properly backed up in google or the phone is not properly recognizing the data. Typically what I have had to do is re-enter my Wi-Fi pass-codes when my phone is in range of the Wi-Fi. Once that is done once, I do not have to do it again. I believe, but don't remember for certain, that the list of used Wi-Fi's were automatically there but I always have to re-enter the codes.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Malfuntioning of Phone switched networks from GSM to CDMA
    By Global in forum Motorola Droid 2 Global
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-11-2012, 06:26 PM
  2. How to specify prefernce of WiFi networks?
    By ricks99 in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-06-2012, 06:15 AM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-23-2011, 08:29 PM
  4. Browsing privacy/security on public wifi networks
    By peacemover in forum Motorola Droid 2
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 03-01-2011, 10:46 PM
  5. Missing WiFi Tether???
    By maslan in forum Bugless
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-19-2010, 07:45 PM

Search tags for this page

how to reset android wifi

,
how to reset my phone wifi
,
how to reset the wifi on your phone
,

how to reset wifi on android

,

how to reset wifi on droid razr

,

how to reset wifi on phone

,
how to reset your wifi on android
,
reset phone wifi
,

reset wifi android

,
telefon wifi s?f?rlama
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+