DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Foxfi requiring reboot to work...what gives?!

  1. Droid Newbie
    tundra9's Avatar
    Member #
    280514
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    2
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #1

    Foxfi requiring reboot to work...what gives?!

    ***I posted this on another thread but got really no feedback at all so i figure i would start it as its own thread***

    Okay when i use Foxfi after the latest update on my (Verizon) Droid Razr (ICS), It works initially on a fresh boot, but if my wifi gets disconnected or drops, when i try to then re-initiate Foxfi as a hotspot, i get the Wifi error "Wifi Mode has failed on your phone. Please use Bluetooth mode instead". If i reboot my phone and change the network name, it WILL work again until the above happens... I have to rinse and repeat this process over and over pretty much everytime i want to use Foxfi and hotspot my razr to my tablet (nexus 7). This gets REALLy frustrating...

    I have tried various things to fix this to no avail:

    -"Fast Reboot" app
    -renaming network
    -disconnect / reconnect network
    -turn off / on wifi
    -try bluetooth
    -uninstall / reinstall latest Foxfi
    -installed Foxfi supplemental app
    -installed PDAnet
    -turned on / off / on USB debugging
    -wished upon a star
    -sacrificed a goat

    NOTHING has worked...i still MUST reboot my phone and rename the network every time i wish to have foxfi hotspot work on my razr. Does anyone have ANY other possible solutions to this problem? Foxfi seems to recognize this as an issue but seems to brush it off like rebooting is no big deal. I suppose if i used foxfi to connect a stationary device like a laptop or computer this would not be a big deal, but i use it on the go while traveling with a tablet and often times lose my data connection and subsequently wifi. I would just like to discover a way to have Foxfi run my Razr as a hotspot anytime while disconnecting and reconnecting whenever i want all day without having to reboot...Any ideas?
  2. Super Moderator
    94lt1's Avatar
    Member #
    247267
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    SE TX
    Posts
    10,958
    Liked
    1421 times
    Phone
    DROID ULTRA MAXX
    Premium Member
    #2
    Its an issue lots of people have.. but vzw is supposedly being made to stop blocking these apps... then they'll throttle our data.

    Even the hotspot hack while rooted, is slow and clumsy... that's all the info I've got.. sorry.
    FEEL THE POWER OF DROID!!!
  3. Junior Droid
    Benjr061's Avatar
    Member #
    76394
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    11
    Phone
    Motorola Droid
    #3
    I'm having same issue with Droid 4 on Jellybean. The instructions above to reboot and change name did get me back on.
  4. Premium Member
    xtor's Avatar
    Member #
    241487
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Northern Ca
    Posts
    1,283
    Liked
    131 times
    Phone
    note 2
    Premium Member
    #4
    Quote Originally Posted by 94lt1
    Its an issue lots of people have.. but vzw is supposedly being made to stop blocking these apps... then they'll throttle our data.

    Even the hotspot hack while rooted, is slow and clumsy... that's all the info I've got.. sorry.
    I thought vzw doesn't throttle data on 4g?, if you pay for hotspot on unlimited plan, can they throttle you?

    point of origin
  5. Droid
    onelowbirD68's Avatar
    Member #
    257054
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Fort Smith, Ark
    Posts
    47
    Phone
    motorola razr
    #5
    My foxfi works for a few min. Then reboots my phone and i have to reboot the reboot to get the phone to load right.
  6. Super Moderator
    Quicksilver7714's Avatar
    Member #
    83729
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    2,423
    Liked
    103 times
    Phone
    D1, X, Tbolt, DC, DB, GNex, S4
    Premium Member
    #6
    I've never had a problem with Foxfi up until the most recent updates. With in the last two months the app does not hold a connection for very long and I only get max speeds of 360kbps. I usually get speeds well in to the 10Mbps.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
    New to android or just need to brush up on the basics? Abe has every thing you need Here:
    "Guidelines of Conduct" for DroidForums.net

    Respect is number 1 in the Forums.

    We are the droid owners
    Resistance is Futile, YOU Will be Assimilated...

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Does Foxfi work with ICS 232?
    By brunla in forum Motorola Droid Bionic
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 08-09-2012, 11:18 AM
  2. Does Foxfi work on Bionic ICS 235?
    By nateohio in forum Motorola Droid Bionic
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-09-2012, 04:22 AM
  3. Anyone get FoxFi to work?
    By LoudRam in forum HTC Rezound
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-16-2012, 07:00 PM
  4. Will foxfi still work when I do 1.3.418 update
    By jacobbones in forum Motorola Droid X2
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-22-2012, 07:55 AM
  5. MM Theme Causes Reboot and Doesnt Work
    By mootsucks in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-22-2010, 10:24 AM

Search tags for this page

foxfi bluetooth keeps disconnecting
,
foxfi disconnecting
,

foxfi fail to turn on wifi

,

foxfi failed to turn on wifi

,

foxfi keeps disconnecting

,
how to make foxfi faster
,
how to reset foxfi
,

how to restart foxfi

,
why does foxfi keep disconnecting
,
why does foxfi keeps disconnecting
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+