DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: select input method

  1. Junior Droid
    lju64's Avatar
    Member #
    262463
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    26
    Liked
    3 times
    #1

    select input method

    Is there anyway to stop the select input method from popping up in the notification bar everyone the keyboard comes up? It doesn't mess with my phone, but it just annoys the crap out of me. I have Swype selected but it still always gives me the box. Any solutions?
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Super Moderator
    FoxKat's Avatar
    Member #
    54290
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    8,588
    Liked
    2291 times
    Phone
    DROID MAXX XT1080!
    Premium Member
    #2
    There should be a small box at the bottom left corner of that window, which you tap to check and it "remembers" your selection.

    Other than that, I am at a loss for why it would keep coming up.

    "Professor FoxKat"
    "Saving DROID Razr's, one battery at a time. :-)" - (credit SallyC)
    Avatar is Maxwell Smart, AKA Agent 86, from "Get Smart" (with his signature "Shoe Phone"), a SitCom TV series by Mel Brooks & Buck Henry, based on the spy thriller series, "The Man From U.N.C.L.E.".
    "Guidelines of Conduct" for DroidForums.net
  4. Developer Relations
    JSM9872's Avatar
    Member #
    151157
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Posts
    12,927
    Liked
    876 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Note 3
    Premium Member
    #3
    That is a feature of ICS. If you are rooted and running a ROM they typically have the option to hide it. AFAIK there is no option on stock ICS to hide it.

    "Don't Panic!"
    Tapatalk 2_GNEX
  5. Super Moderator
    FoxKat's Avatar
    Member #
    54290
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    8,588
    Liked
    2291 times
    Phone
    DROID MAXX XT1080!
    Premium Member
    #4
    I am on ICS and have only had to select Swype once, the box has never come up again. In fact, I miss being able to press and hold in a text window to switch input types, now being forced to go into settings Keyboard to change.

    "Professor FoxKat"
    "Saving DROID Razr's, one battery at a time. :-)" - (credit SallyC)
    Avatar is Maxwell Smart, AKA Agent 86, from "Get Smart" (with his signature "Shoe Phone"), a SitCom TV series by Mel Brooks & Buck Henry, based on the spy thriller series, "The Man From U.N.C.L.E.".
    "Guidelines of Conduct" for DroidForums.net
  6. Developer Relations
    JSM9872's Avatar
    Member #
    151157
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Posts
    12,927
    Liked
    876 times
    Phone
    Galaxy Note 3
    Premium Member
    #5
    I'm not sure which window you mean. I thought the op was referring to the IMEI switcher (the little keyboard icon) that appears in the notification bar on ICS.

    "Don't Panic!"
    Tapatalk 2_GNEX
  7. Rescue Squad
    TisMyDroid's Avatar
    Member #
    171269
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Central New York
    Posts
    4,462
    Liked
    950 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy Note 2
    #6
    FoxKat, you don't get the keyboard icon in your notification bar? When you pull the bar down, you have "select input method" which will give you a simple dialogue box to select which you want... without having to go into settings.
    FoxKat likes this.
  8. Super Moderator
    FoxKat's Avatar
    Member #
    54290
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    8,588
    Liked
    2291 times
    Phone
    DROID MAXX XT1080!
    Premium Member
    #7
    Holy Moses, did I misread that OP. I didn't even know that option shows up in the Notification drop-down. That solves the concern I had about not being able to change without going into menus! Heck, I am glad it's there.

    To the OP, sorry, I thought (by misreading) that you were talking about the window that pops up when you haven't yet chosen a default keyboard. Now that I know what you were asking, thanks jsm9872, why does it bother you? Do you mean that seeing that icon appear bothers you? If so, then I believe the question was answered by JSM9872.

    "Professor FoxKat"
    "Saving DROID Razr's, one battery at a time. :-)" - (credit SallyC)
    Avatar is Maxwell Smart, AKA Agent 86, from "Get Smart" (with his signature "Shoe Phone"), a SitCom TV series by Mel Brooks & Buck Henry, based on the spy thriller series, "The Man From U.N.C.L.E.".
    "Guidelines of Conduct" for DroidForums.net
  9. Junior Droid
    lju64's Avatar
    Member #
    262463
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    26
    Liked
    3 times
    #8
    It's just annoying. I feel like the damn think is saying, are you sure you want to use Swype lol. I didn't know if somehow i had failed to correctly select my input method or if it was suppose to do that every time.
  10. Super Moderator
    FoxKat's Avatar
    Member #
    54290
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    8,588
    Liked
    2291 times
    Phone
    DROID MAXX XT1080!
    Premium Member
    #9
    Hey, I hear you. It's very frustrating when someone questions my intentions, or as they say, second-guesses what I mean. My wife does it all the time. For instance, she asks me what my opinion of something she has a position on already is, and when I give her my opinion, then she spends the next 10 minutes trying to debunk my reasoning and make me side with her. It's very frustrating, so I tell her, if you want my opinion, you have to accept that it's what I say it is and stop trying to get me to change my mind to justify your opinion. But I have to tell you as well, that there have been times when she has totally woken me up to a different perspective and reasoning which has resulted in my taking a different position. We're married going on 24 years, so obviously it hasn't been a "deal-breaker" for me or her. You know they say, "for better or worse".

    I suppose we also marry our phones in a way, although it's a rather short marriage, but the same willingness to accept what we can't change applies. As you saw from my post above, I can't stand having to leave whatever application I am using to dig into menus from another area of the phone, to make a change that affects the application I was using in the first place. So for me, that "feature" is actually quite appealing and the minor nuisance of the keyboard icon appearing in the notification bar is just that...a minor nuisance. For me in fact, so minor I didn't even know it was there!
    TisMyDroid likes this.

    "Professor FoxKat"
    "Saving DROID Razr's, one battery at a time. :-)" - (credit SallyC)
    Avatar is Maxwell Smart, AKA Agent 86, from "Get Smart" (with his signature "Shoe Phone"), a SitCom TV series by Mel Brooks & Buck Henry, based on the spy thriller series, "The Man From U.N.C.L.E.".
    "Guidelines of Conduct" for DroidForums.net
  11. Super Moderator
    94lt1's Avatar
    Member #
    247267
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    SE TX
    Posts
    10,943
    Liked
    1417 times
    Phone
    DROID ULTRA MAXX
    Premium Member
    #10
    ^^^^ trouble in the heartland watch out FoxKat
    FEEL THE POWER OF DROID!!!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. "Select Input Method" Notification??
    By the_krusatyr in forum Droid Razr and Razr Maxx ICS discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-03-2012, 03:30 PM
  2. Change of input method
    By whoiswct in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-12-2011, 11:32 PM
  3. Change input method quickly
    By whoiswct in forum Motorola Droid Pro
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-11-2011, 03:21 PM
  4. Text Input Method
    By Detonation in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 09-30-2010, 10:30 PM
  5. Input Method Launcher
    By jhom in forum Android Applications
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-30-2010, 10:26 PM

Search tags for this page

choose input method droid 4
,
choose input method htc one
,
droid keeps asking for input method
,
how to change input method on razr m
,
how to stop choose input method
,

select input method

,

what does select input method mean

,

why does my android keep asking me to select input method

,
why does my droid keep asking me choose input method
,
why does my droid razr max keep asking chose imput method ?
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+