DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Swype keyboard in browser - space not automatically inserted?

  1. Junior Droid
    mrbofus's Avatar
    Member #
    237209
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    23
    Phone
    Motorola DROID RAZR
    #1

    Swype keyboard in browser - space not automatically inserted?

    Normally when typing (Swyping) using the Swype keyboard, it automatically inserts a space between words when I take my finger off the keyboard in between words. And it works this way in all places where a keyboard shows up, EXCEPT for in the browser. In the browser, when I tap the Search button and use Swype, it doesn't automatically insert a space.

    Is anyone else experiencing this issue? Is there a fix?
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Super Moderator
    FoxKat's Avatar
    Member #
    54290
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    8,588
    Liked
    2290 times
    Phone
    DROID MAXX XT1080!
    Premium Member
    #2
    Quote Originally Posted by mrbofus View Post
    Normally when typing (Swyping) using the Swype keyboard, it automatically inserts a space between words when I take my finger off the keyboard in between words. And it works this way in all places where a keyboard shows up, EXCEPT for in the browser. In the browser, when I tap the Search button and use Swype, it doesn't automatically insert a space.

    Is anyone else experiencing this issue? Is there a fix?
    Using Swype now and spacing is fine. I am running Droid forums app but will give the browse a go in a second.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums

    "Professor FoxKat"
    "Saving DROID Razr's, one battery at a time. :-)" - (credit SallyC)
    Avatar is Maxwell Smart, AKA Agent 86, from "Get Smart" (with his signature "Shoe Phone"), a SitCom TV series by Mel Brooks & Buck Henry, based on the spy thriller series, "The Man From U.N.C.L.E.".
    "Guidelines of Conduct" for DroidForums.net
  4. Junior Droid
    mrbofus's Avatar
    Member #
    237209
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    23
    Phone
    Motorola DROID RAZR
    #3
    Yup, like I mentioned, it works fine in all apps wherever a keyboard pops up and Swype entry is an option. The only exception I have found is in the browser when performing a search.
  5. Super Moderator
    FoxKat's Avatar
    Member #
    54290
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    8,588
    Liked
    2290 times
    Phone
    DROID MAXX XT1080!
    Premium Member
    #4
    Quote Originally Posted by mrbofus View Post
    Yup, like I mentioned, it works fine in all apps wherever a keyboard pops up and Swype entry is an option. The only exception I have found is in the browser when performing a search.
    Ok, so I see what you're dealing with. The reason may be because the window also serves add the Web address window as well. Still, it recognized the words "test of the spacing", even though it appeared as "testofthespacing".

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums

    "Professor FoxKat"
    "Saving DROID Razr's, one battery at a time. :-)" - (credit SallyC)
    Avatar is Maxwell Smart, AKA Agent 86, from "Get Smart" (with his signature "Shoe Phone"), a SitCom TV series by Mel Brooks & Buck Henry, based on the spy thriller series, "The Man From U.N.C.L.E.".
    "Guidelines of Conduct" for DroidForums.net
  6. Junior Droid
    mrbofus's Avatar
    Member #
    237209
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    23
    Phone
    Motorola DROID RAZR
    #5
    That's a good point, and you're probably right about that. If that window is brought up using the search button though, I can't imagine it would be too difficult for it to realize that we want to search and not type in a URL...
  7. Super Moderator
    FoxKat's Avatar
    Member #
    54290
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    8,588
    Liked
    2290 times
    Phone
    DROID MAXX XT1080!
    Premium Member
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by mrbofus View Post
    That's a good point, and you're probably right about that. If that window is brought up using the search button though, I can't imagine it would be too difficult for it to realize that we want to search and not type in a URL...
    Agreed, and it certainly seems strange but it worked so I'd give it a try to seeif it works for your search needs.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using DroidForums

    "Professor FoxKat"
    "Saving DROID Razr's, one battery at a time. :-)" - (credit SallyC)
    Avatar is Maxwell Smart, AKA Agent 86, from "Get Smart" (with his signature "Shoe Phone"), a SitCom TV series by Mel Brooks & Buck Henry, based on the spy thriller series, "The Man From U.N.C.L.E.".
    "Guidelines of Conduct" for DroidForums.net
  8. Senior Droid
    MJKneuro's Avatar
    Member #
    62626
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Va
    Posts
    138
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Rezound
    #7
    Using x scope as the browser with Swype, spaces are inserted on the google search bar but not on the Web address line, as it should be.

    Sent from my ADR6425LVW using DroidForums
    Freedom without Restraint is a certain pathway to Disaster.
  9. Senior Droid
    Phillipsave's Avatar
    Member #
    15362
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    238
    Phone
    Razr Maxx
    #8
    After the JB update to 4.1.2, on the Razr Maxx, the internal Swype program that came with the phone no longer worked. The spacing option between words stopped, or sometimes capitalized all words instead. Random text was sometimes inserted in what I was typing, particularly when typing in an online forum. The native swype option was frozen in the keyboard settings. I disabled the new stock android keyboard, and booted up again, but that didn't help. I have swithced to SlideIt, which is ok, although I don't like it as much. I'm tempted to download the latest swype beta on top of what I have, but the Swype forums indicate some problems and I'm nervous about doing that. Please advise.

    ETA, I finally did download the new Swype beta, 1.4, and just checked it as a separate option in Language settings, and it works fine. Happy again.
    Last edited by Phillipsave; 03-14-2013 at 07:49 AM.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-21-2011, 11:58 PM
  2. stock browser closes out automatically
    By shockracer in forum HTC Droid Incredible 2
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-26-2011, 08:01 PM
  3. Automatically change keyboard depending on app
    By chadamir in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-08-2011, 03:21 PM
  4. Space between screen and keyboard when closed?
    By Stormwing in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 04-02-2010, 01:59 PM
  5. Browser automatically scrolling to top?
    By modified in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-22-2010, 04:27 AM

Search tags for this page

auto spacing swype not working

,
facebook places android not working
,
swype automatic spacing not working
,

swype doesn't add spaces

,
swype doesn't space
,

swype not adding spaces

,

swype not auto spacing

,
swype not auto spacing in browser
,

swype not inserting spaces

,

swype stopped auto spacing

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+