DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 26
Like Tree8Likes

Thread: [How To] Enable 3G only mode

  1. Developer Relations
    Garemlin's Avatar
    Member #
    19076
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Delaware
    Posts
    2,139
    Liked
    338 times
    Twitter
    garemlin
    Phone
    LG G2 - Nexus 7 v2
    Premium Member
    #11
    Ok since most people are not getting 3G only in Global I went ahead and updated the OP with the long process detailed on DroidLife.
  2. Senior Droid
    The Stig 04's Avatar
    Member #
    204900
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    El Paso, TX
    Posts
    187
    Liked
    25 times
    Phone
    Droid RAZR MAXX
    #12
    My experience with this i had to follow these steps everytime i turned my phone off then back on. Not sure how often you guys turn your phones on and off but once was enough for me not go through all that again so i just left it how it is lol
    jackiescivic likes this.
  3. Master Droid
    weatherlover1's Avatar
    Member #
    150050
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    U.P Mi
    Posts
    275
    Liked
    29 times
    Phone
    RAZR MAXX
    #13
    djembeman likes this.
    Loving the RAZR MAXX

    Past phones
    Droid X Rooted and Romed
    Droid Charge Rooted
  4. Droid Ninja
    Caesars's Avatar
    Member #
    251834
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    1,163
    Liked
    90 times
    Phone
    Razr MAXX
    #14
    Are you still getting 3g only in global mode?

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
  5. Moderator
    bsweetness's Avatar
    Member #
    42719
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    2,481
    Liked
    361 times
    Phone
    Galaxy S5
    Premium Member
    #15
    Quote Originally Posted by Caesars View Post
    Are you still getting 3g only in global mode?
    No. Global mode, which is new to the RAZR/MAXX on ICS, allows the phone to use the GSM radio while outside of the U.S. It still uses both 3G and 4G in the U.S.

    Edit: Looks like I may have misunderstood your post. There's a good chance you were asking Garemlin if he was still getting 3G only in Global mode since he mentioned that a few posts back. He should still get LTE while in Global mode since it's supposed to, but whether he actually is or not, that I can't answer.
    Last edited by bsweetness; 06-30-2012 at 08:13 PM.
    Current lineup: Galaxy S5, iPhone 5S, Note 10.1 (2014)

    Previous smartphones: Note 3, HTC One, Note 2, Galaxy S3, One X, RAZR MAXX, Galaxy Nexus, Rezound, Note, iPhone 4S, Bionic, Stratosphere, Charge, Vitality, Incredible 2, Thunderbolt, Palm Pixi Plus, Droid 3, Fascinate, Incredible, Droid Pro, Droid 2 Global, Droid X, Droid, Treo Pro, Touch Pro 2, Touch Pro, Q9m, XV6800, XV6900

    Previous tablets: iPad Mini, Transformer TF300, Evo View, Transformer Prime, Transformer TF101, Thrive, gTablet
  6. Master Droid
    jackiescivic's Avatar
    Member #
    169639
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Muskego, WI
    Posts
    880
    Liked
    244 times
    Phone
    Maxx, Maxx HD, Razr Maxx
    #16
    With the new toggle for getting the phone into 3G only, is anyone experiencing their 3G signal dropping completely? Or, when CDMA Only it gives you 1x, but CDMA auto (PRL) gives you 3G? Because of these experiences, I am just leaving my phone on LTE/CDMA
  7. Senior Droid
    rdgxray's Avatar
    Member #
    191890
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    193
    Liked
    6 times
    Phone
    Droid Razr
    #17
    I experience similar things with 4g/3g toggle. I have not noticed 3g dropping. I just leave mine in 3g auto prl and works great. Hopefully soon we will have 4g here and I can switch to lte/cdma mode.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
  8. Droid
    jmurra's Avatar
    Member #
    210255
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    44
    Phone
    Razr Maxx
    #18

    Great tip for a big ICS problem

    Many thanks for that.
  9. Master Droid
    Trash Can's Avatar
    Member #
    81608
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV
    Posts
    349
    Liked
    85 times
    Phone
    Razr Maxx
    #19
    Quote Originally Posted by jackiescivic View Post
    With the new toggle for getting the phone into 3G only, is anyone experiencing their 3G signal dropping completely? Or, when CDMA Only it gives you 1x, but CDMA auto (PRL) gives you 3G? Because of these experiences, I am just leaving my phone on LTE/CDMA
    One thing that I've noticed with my very limited experience with ICS is that the phone defaults back to LTE/CDMA whenever the phone is rebooted.

    Okay, back to my FDR hoping to resolve my battery issues.....
    jackiescivic likes this.
  10. Senior Droid
    djembeman's Avatar
    Member #
    105515
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    192
    Liked
    2 times
    Phone
    DROID RAZR MAXX, BIONIC
    #20
    Quote Originally Posted by weatherlover1 View Post
    Thank you for this. It could come in handy when I don't need uber-data but need more battery life.
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Enable Airplane mode for 3G?
    By xxnonamexx in forum Droid Bionic Tech Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-20-2011, 09:06 AM
  2. Is there an alternative way to enable USB Debugging mode?
    By TengokuDROID in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-28-2011, 10:39 PM
  3. Is there an alternative way to enable USB Debugging mode?
    By TengokuDROID in forum Android Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-28-2011, 04:29 PM
  4. Enable Enhanced Privacy Mode
    By efsanta in forum Droid X Tech Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-08-2011, 04:27 PM
  5. enable host mode
    By renter in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-28-2010, 11:35 PM

Search tags for this page

3g only android
,
android 3g only mode
,

droid razr 3g only

,

how to activate 3g on android

,

how to enable 3g

,
how to enable 3g on android
,
how to turn on 3g
,

how to turn on 3g on android

,

how to turn on 3g on droid razr

,
how to turn on 3g on razr maxx
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+