DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 42
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: These signal drops are getting ridiculous

  1. Droid
    Xproplayer's Avatar
    Member #
    210999
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    39
    Phone
    A955
    #1

    These signal drops are getting ridiculous

    I can't go 5 minutes without having my 4g drop to bars only, then no internet for 15-30 seconds, then 3g, then after another minute, signal completely drops again, no internet for 5-10 seconds, then 4g. another 5 minutes later, bye bye 4g, start the whole cycle again. I have no idea what could be causing this, it has to be some sort of software quirk, because when I use constant data with the screen locked (tethered for 11+ hours with no problems) nothing happens, but oh no, you try and watch a 10 minute youtube video? It's going to crash the internet. Is anyone else having this problem? I would love to take it to the verizon store and just throw it at them since this shouldn't be happening. Is this a specific app that is causing this? Or do you think the whole phone could be the problem? I would app wipe it to see if that fixes it but I won't be able to get my paid apps back since applanet has been seized by the US gov.

    Any help / suggestions would be appreciated.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Droid Newbie
    arek's Avatar
    Member #
    284658
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #2
    I had the same problem on my bionic I somehow got to upgrade to a razr max, getting it on Monday. From what I hear that hapens when there is too much traffic on a tower and it switches between the towers is what makes the net drop, the phone is being slow on the switch. Thats just what I heard, is it true I dont know, it sounds like it makes sence but at the same time thats bs. I got an early update because of that.I made them give me replacement phone because of that issue,it never fixed the problem it just made it worst after 3 phone replacements they gave me an early update. We will se what happens with this new phone.
  4. Droid Ninja
    Caesars's Avatar
    Member #
    251834
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    1,164
    Liked
    90 times
    Phone
    Razr MAXX
    #3
    I switch between evdo And lte lot as well, but my coverage isn't the best. What's your coverage like?

    Googorola MAXX
  5. Droid
    Xproplayer's Avatar
    Member #
    210999
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    39
    Phone
    A955
    #4
    Will verizon replace my phone for this? It never used to do this, problem just started recently and it's to the point where I can't even use my phone to browse youtube or reddit for 5 minutes without signal dropping.
  6. Senior Droid
    AirJunky's Avatar
    Member #
    195211
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    117
    Liked
    8 times
    Phone
    Casio Commando
    #5
    Are you in the USA? Have you tried disabling Global Network Mode?
    --
    Bill
    - formerly using the Casio Commando & the Motorola RAZR Maxx. Now running it right with the Motorola RAZR Maxx HD w/ Jelly Bean.
  7. Master Droid
    Domestic violence's Avatar
    Member #
    19529
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    260
    Liked
    5 times
    Phone
    G2
    #6
    Same issue with my Nexus.... and I live less than 1/4 mile from a new tower
  8. Droid
    jerry12's Avatar
    Member #
    253301
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Eastern North Carolina
    Posts
    35
    Phone
    Droid Razr Maxx /Galaxy S III
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by Domestic violence
    Same issue with my Nexus.... and I live less than 1/4 mile from a new tower
    Every since the ICS update for the Razr there have been signal drop issues with it.
  9. Master Droid
    Rhino94's Avatar
    Member #
    177538
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Detriot, MI
    Posts
    281
    Liked
    17 times
    Twitter
    @Chef_Cloutier
    Phone
    LG G2
    #8
    They probably will replace the phone if you take it in but they might want to try some things like formatting it, etc. See Verizon has a great thing going right now but they are ****ing up. They don't have enough bandwidth on their towers and that is a cheap move on their part. They just want 4G LTE everywhere before it works in some places.
    LG G2 going so fast that you can't even see it move.

  10. Junior Droid
    merridy's Avatar
    Member #
    281790
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    20
    #9
    I've thought about disabling my global. Any one else done this. Mine acts the same way as his...not real happy with my 4G
  11. Rescue Squad
    TisMyDroid's Avatar
    Member #
    171269
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Central New York
    Posts
    4,462
    Liked
    950 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy Note 2
    #10
    There is absolutely no reason to keep your phone in global mode unless you are traveling outside the country. It will use more battery & have more problems maintaining a connection. Keep your phone on LTE/CDMA or if poor 4g area, put it in 3g only mode using the LTE on/off app.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx using Droid Forums
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. why can i maintain a solid 3G signal but 4G drops?
    By Domestic violence in forum Samsung Galaxy Nexus
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-23-2012, 06:17 PM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-20-2011, 04:55 PM
  3. Signal strenth drops immediately upon call placement
    By CaptainSS in forum Droid X2 Tech Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-15-2011, 09:20 PM
  4. Droid X randomly drops 3g signal
    By Richard3 in forum Droid X Tech Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-19-2011, 12:40 PM
  5. Signal drops after dialing out
    By cappy in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-05-2010, 12:16 PM

Search tags for this page

android cant hold a signal
,

droid razr maxx keeps dropping network

,
droid razr maxx keeps losing signal
,
how to keep 4g constant razr maxx
,

how to keep a constant 3g signal

,
motorola droid razr maxx signal dropping
,
razr m signal issues
,
razr maxx cant keep 4g signal
,
razr maxx jelly bean keep losing signal
,
razr maxx tether 4g drop to 3g
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+