DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Results 31 to 38 of 38
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Force GPS to update??!?

  1. Droid
    niteperson's Avatar
    Member #
    245709
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    30
    Liked
    4 times
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #31
    Quote Originally Posted by altjx View Post
    Does it zeros in in a few seconds while you're driving though? Or only when you're at a standstill?
    Standstill. I'll try it while driving tomorrow and report back.
  2. Master Droid
    altjx's Avatar
    Member #
    15993
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    630
    Liked
    11 times
    Phone
    DROID RAZR MAXX
    #32
    Quote Originally Posted by niteperson View Post
    Standstill. I'll try it while driving tomorrow and report back.
    Ok, thanks. Because for me, the standstill one works pretty accurately although the blue bubble still covers a large area. It's when I'm driving that it does not update fast enough for me.
  3. Master Droid
    skennelly's Avatar
    Member #
    131018
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    581
    Liked
    69 times
    Phone
    SCH-I535
    #33
    My guess is it's a Motorola problem. My Droid X took forever to lock in. So long that I'd often have to pull off the road and wait. I had to use GPS Fix to speed it up. My GS3 however, locks in in seconds.



    *Sent from my Galaxy to yours through tapatalk
  4. Droid
    brucefulton's Avatar
    Member #
    128893
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    62
    Liked
    5 times
    Phone
    razr maxx
    #34
    My razr max seldom has problems with this, but my wife's Samsung Charge often has this exact problem locking onto satellites and showing only the tower large blue circle. So I don't think it is a motorola vs samsung issue. Actual GPS reception doesn't use 3g/4g or wifi. Maps may use 3g/4g towers or wifi for approximate (big blue circle) readings while waiting for gps lock, so there may be some software isues. At times when I have problems with maps, however, I also have problems with the gps locator on geocaching and compass apps. Location and atmospheric conditions may affect GPS reception. Dedicated GPS receivers undoubtedly have more robust GPS receiver circuits.

    Quote Originally Posted by skennelly View Post
    My guess is it's a Motorola problem. My Droid X took forever to lock in. So long that I'd often have to pull off the road and wait. I had to use GPS Fix to speed it up. My GS3 however, locks in in seconds.



    *Sent from my Galaxy to yours through tapatalk
  5. Droid
    niteperson's Avatar
    Member #
    245709
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    30
    Liked
    4 times
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #35
    Quote Originally Posted by JohnnytheK View Post
    Smart actions uses WiFi for location, and doesn't work reliably for me either. I've finally given up and use time frame for my trigger.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
    Is this still the case? I was able to enter an address for a location and added my home address. I then set the action to turn wifi on and data off when I got home. It SEEMS to work but, come to think of it, I'm not sure if wifi ever got turned off when I left home. It may have stayed on and just got picked up when I pulled in the driveway. As an experiment, I added my work address as a location and set an action to turn wifi off, data on and silent on. I'll see if it works tomorrow.

    I don't believe I was able to do anything like this before, and don't really know how it now tracks location. It would almost have to be GPS, wouldn't it?
  6. Droid Ninja
    JohnnytheK's Avatar
    Member #
    99673
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1,342
    Liked
    59 times
    Phone
    Droid X2
    #36
    It was the same for me last week, but I've updated to .215 a few days ago and I'll check tomorrow.
  7. Droid Ninja
    thaDroidz's Avatar
    Member #
    111730
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    neptune
    Posts
    2,068
    Liked
    95 times
    Phone
    RazrMaxx/Droid1(retired)/dinc2
    #37
    GPS status free on play store...

    I use it time to time to "refresh" the GPS if need. Especially after switching roms or OTA updates.

    Running the app also lets you see the number of satellites your bouncing off of..

    ----posted MAXXED OUT WITH dessert----

    new server if any of my links are dead notify me, I got new links!
  8. Master Droid
    altjx's Avatar
    Member #
    15993
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    630
    Liked
    11 times
    Phone
    DROID RAZR MAXX
    #38
    Quote Originally Posted by skennelly View Post
    My guess is it's a Motorola problem. My Droid X took forever to lock in. So long that I'd often have to pull off the road and wait. I had to use GPS Fix to speed it up. My GS3 however, locks in in seconds.



    *Sent from my Galaxy to yours through tapatalk
    GPS Fix? Do you have to load this every time you want to use maps?

    Quote Originally Posted by brucefulton View Post
    My razr max seldom has problems with this, but my wife's Samsung Charge often has this exact problem locking onto satellites and showing only the tower large blue circle. So I don't think it is a motorola vs samsung issue. Actual GPS reception doesn't use 3g/4g or wifi. Maps may use 3g/4g towers or wifi for approximate (big blue circle) readings while waiting for gps lock, so there may be some software isues. At times when I have problems with maps, however, I also have problems with the gps locator on geocaching and compass apps. Location and atmospheric conditions may affect GPS reception. Dedicated GPS receivers undoubtedly have more robust GPS receiver circuits.
    Thanks for clarifying this for me.

    Quote Originally Posted by thaDroidz View Post
    GPS status free on play store...

    I use it time to time to "refresh" the GPS if need. Especially after switching roms or OTA updates.

    Running the app also lets you see the number of satellites your bouncing off of..

    ----posted MAXXED OUT WITH dessert----
    Thanks. Is this basically a working workaround, or another thing that works periodically?

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX using Tapatalk 2.
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Force Market Update?
    By otaku91 in forum Droid X Hacks
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-03-2011, 09:10 AM
  2. Need to force update my droid 2.1 to 2.2
    By Linzey in forum Rescue Squad Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-20-2010, 08:25 AM
  3. Can I force a 2.2 update?
    By fvultee in forum Droid X Tech Support
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-13-2010, 11:38 AM
  4. ota update force closed
    By Reach in forum Motorola Droid
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-09-2010, 12:12 PM
  5. Force 2.1 Update
    By dagr8tim in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-05-2010, 08:50 AM

Search tags for this page

android force gps update

,

droid bionic searching for gps

,
droid razr gps fix
,
droid razr gps not working
,
droid razr maxx always searching for gps
,

droid razr maxx gps issues

,

razr maxx gps fix

,
razr maxx gps slow
,
razr maxx slow gps
,

razr maxx slow gps lock

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread

Find us on Google+