DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Possible to activate phone without 4g?

  1. Droid
    Xproplayer's Avatar
    Member #
    210999
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    39
    Phone
    A955
    #1

    Possible to activate phone without 4g?

    So I just got my maxx and charged it up to full battery. Turned it on and it said please wait for activation blah blah. Then it said it failed blah blah. Have bars but no 3g / 4g just flashing triangle, I am in an area with no 4g just 3g and I'll be heading back to a 4g area on tuesday, is there any way to activate it earlier with just a 3g connection? Tried calling *228 and said sim was not authorized or registered. Thanks everyone.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Droid Ninja
    syndicate0017's Avatar
    Member #
    166960
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    2,014
    Liked
    168 times
    Phone
    D1<Galaxy Nexus
    #2
    You don't activate using *228. It sometimes takes a few minutes to get data service on first activation. It should pick up 3G and activate just fine unless there's something wrong with the SIM. You can also activate over WIFI.
    Don't be scared, adb is your friend.
  4. Droid
    Xproplayer's Avatar
    Member #
    210999
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    39
    Phone
    A955
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by syndicate0017 View Post
    You don't activate using *228. It sometimes takes a few minutes to get data service on first activation. It should pick up 3G and activate just fine unless there's something wrong with the SIM. You can also activate over WIFI.
    Tried activating 4 times now, still never picked up 3g from what i saw, just sat at the activation with a flashing triangle and bars. am trying with wifi now.
  5. Master Droid
    MysticalDreams's Avatar
    Member #
    61639
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    IL for now... waiting for the day we can move back to CA or somewhere away from snow!!
    Posts
    459
    Liked
    52 times
    Phone
    Note II, Razr Maxx
    #4
    might be a bad sim card.
  6. Droid Ninja
    JohnnytheK's Avatar
    Member #
    99673
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1,342
    Liked
    59 times
    Phone
    Droid X2
    #5
    Yep that's what sounds like to me, a bad sim card. Good luck!
    Last edited by JohnnytheK; 03-26-2012 at 12:23 AM.
  7. Junior Droid
    coastalfan's Avatar
    Member #
    102385
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    10
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #6
    Mine never would activate with 3G from my home. I had to drive to the store to have them activate. I spent almost 3 hours on the phone with Verizon and Motorola also.
    we actually had a conference call. The problem, they said, was that I was on the fringe of a 4G area, but the 4G signal wasn't strong enough to activate, and for some reason, couldn't get the 3G to activate. So, I had to drive to the store to have it activate. They gave me a $20.00 credit on my bill and waived activation, though, so..........I haven't had enough nerve to try 4G since that experience, though.
  8. Droid Ninja
    huskur's Avatar
    Member #
    11527
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Lower Delaware
    Posts
    1,885
    Liked
    111 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy Note 3
    #7
    sometimes removing the sim and putting it back in works. In some occasions the sim doesn't seat correctly
  9. Master Droid
    weatherlover1's Avatar
    Member #
    150050
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    U.P Mi
    Posts
    275
    Liked
    29 times
    Phone
    RAZR MAXX
    #8
    I have no 4G and it activated just fine. Maybe the SIM card like the others said? Good luck!
    Loving the RAZR MAXX

    Past phones
    Droid X Rooted and Romed
    Droid Charge Rooted
  10. Senior Droid
    Andielyn's Avatar
    Member #
    254746
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    115
    Liked
    8 times
    Phone
    RAZR MAXX
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by huskur View Post
    sometimes removing the sim and putting it back in works. In some occasions the sim doesn't seat correctly
    I live in a 3G area and initially I couldn't activate but I did the above and had no problems activating in a 3G area.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk
  11. Droid Newbie
    btrktn's Avatar
    Member #
    263447
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    1
    Phone
    Motorola DROID RAZR MAXX
    #10

    The answer is yes

    I was upgrading from a DROID X to the DROID RAZR MAXX in San Luis Obispo, California. This is a fairly small town, I don't think we have 4G proper anywhere near here. So this is how my activation process went:

    I popped out the sim card and (with the help of tweezers) snapped it in place.

    With the battery 100%, I turned it on.

    I selected my language.

    I poked the Android Dough Boy to continue.

    I was greeted with the following message: "Please wait until your phone has been activated and restarted". In the upper right hand corner between the Wi-Fi and service bars there was a small blinking grey triangle.

    I waited. After about 10 minutes the phone informed me that we had failed and to either try again or call for help.

    After more "retry" attempts than I care to admit, I chose option "B".

    I used my "X" to call Verizon Technical Support (I'm sure I could have used the "Emergency Call" option at the bottom of my new "RAZR", but the number was already programmed on my "X" so I went that route.

    For those who need the number: 1-800-922-0204.

    All I needed was my password and my phone was "activated" via automated conversation.

    I turned my "RAZR" back on and alas was greeted once again with "Please wait until your phone has been activated and restarted", but to my delight - the 4G LTE logo was in the upper right hand corner of the screen - no triangle of any color, size, or blink!!!!

    It ]took about 3 - 5 minutes for the phone to do it's thing, but after activation and restart - my new phone was ACTIVATED.

    By the way - I have been glued to this phone ever since (about 3 days straight). It is so light, sleek, smooth... I could go on forever. It makes the "X" that blew my mind two years ago seem like the clunky analogs we had in the 80's. However, it seems like the "Voice Command" feature on this phone is not as good as the "X". I may be crazy, but that is my only complaint so far.

    So there's my story. Good luck and CHEERS!!!
    -RAZR LVR

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Can't activate my phone... Help
    By dsparks in forum Motorola Droid
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-27-2011, 09:39 PM
  2. My Phone Won't Activate
    By idol in forum Droid X General Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-16-2011, 09:52 AM
  3. activate your phone
    By champ41 in forum Droid X General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-10-2011, 05:54 PM
  4. HELP: Phone will not activate...
    By jcray19 in forum Bugless
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-24-2010, 12:45 AM
  5. Cannot activate phone-CM
    By titans in forum Rescue Squad Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-14-2010, 01:19 AM

Search tags for this page

activate 4g phone without sim card
,
activate droid razr maxx without sim card
,
activate razr without sim card
,
activate verizon phone over wifi
,
how to activate a used 4g verizon phone
,

how to activate droid razr maxx

,

how to activate droid razr without sim card

,
how to enable *228 on droid razr maxx
,
please wait until your phone has been activated and restarte
,
verizon phone won't activate 4g
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+