DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Question on switching from 4G to 3G and back

  1. Senior Droid
    fireman00's Avatar
    Member #
    140261
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    124
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Razr MAXX
    #1

    Question on switching from 4G to 3G and back

    I've got a RAZR Maxx that I love but have an issue... I live in a 3G area, on the way to work I hit a 4G area and the phone picks it up no problems. I do have a problem when 4G drops, the phone doesn't drop back to 3G - it drops completely and I get a message there is no internet connectivity. Is this normal?

    I've changed my network settings to use CDMA only and I don't lose network connection.
  2. Droid Newbie
    maxxatdf's Avatar
    Member #
    255536
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    1
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #2
    Exactly same issue and more.
    1. Phone won't switch from 4G to 3G. In the store, the tech manually turned off 4G to get it to connect to 3G. Of course, switching couldn't be tested in the store because 4G did not drop there.
    2. When WiFi is on but no known WiFi AP is connected, phone won't connect to 4G.

    The tech swapped out the SIM as a fix but that did not work. Will take it back to the store soon. Running unrooted, stock and latest ROM.
  3. Master Droid
    DocsDad's Avatar
    Member #
    249154
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    309
    Liked
    26 times
    Phone
    Razr Maxx
    #3
    If you wait 30 seconds or so data should come back on. If it doesn't you can get a data toggle from the market which might do it. Or, reboot the phone. I think I have only needed to reboot once to grab data again. My MAXX picks it up pretty quickly.

    Are you up to date on the OTA updates? The last one took care of some of these problems.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX using DroidForums
  4. Super Moderator
    jntdroid's Avatar
    Member #
    6110
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    6,438
    Liked
    808 times
    Phone
    Verizon S4
    Premium Member
    #4
    There's an app called "restart connections" in the market that could be helpful. It's very straightforward, it simply turns off all connections then restarts them. Could come in handy in that situation.

    Also know that that's unfortunately a problem in areas where 4G is weak or 4G drops completely. It's just not handled perfectly all the time.
    "...life is 10% what happens to me and 90% how I react to it."

    Guidelines of Conduct
    The only dumb question is the one not asked.
  5. Senior Droid
    fireman00's Avatar
    Member #
    140261
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    124
    Liked
    3 times
    Phone
    Razr MAXX
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by jntdroid View Post
    There's an app called "restart connections" in the market that could be helpful. It's very straightforward, it simply turns off all connections then restarts them. Could come in handy in that situation.

    Also know that that's unfortunately a problem in areas where 4G is weak or 4G drops completely. It's just not handled perfectly all the time.
    Thanks for the recommendations... interesting that the problem area is around Bridgewater, NJ.... home of Verizon.
  6. Super Moderator
    FoxKat's Avatar
    Member #
    54290
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    8,589
    Liked
    2291 times
    Phone
    DROID MAXX XT1080!
    Premium Member
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by fireman00 View Post
    Thanks for the recommendations... interesting that the problem area is around Bridgewater, NJ.... home of Verizon.
    Another one that works which I use is Data Enabler Widget.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk

    "Professor FoxKat"
    "Saving DROID Razr's, one battery at a time. :-)" - (credit SallyC)
    Avatar is Maxwell Smart, AKA Agent 86, from "Get Smart" (with his signature "Shoe Phone"), a SitCom TV series by Mel Brooks & Buck Henry, based on the spy thriller series, "The Man From U.N.C.L.E.".
    "Guidelines of Conduct" for DroidForums.net
  7. Master Droid
    scottysize's Avatar
    Member #
    115428
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Sanger, TX
    Posts
    399
    Liked
    36 times
    Phone
    MaxxHD & G2
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by DocsDad View Post
    If you wait 30 seconds or so data should come back on. If it doesn't you can get a data toggle from the market which might do it. Or, reboot the phone. I think I have only needed to reboot once to grab data again. My MAXX picks it up pretty quickly.

    Are you up to date on the OTA updates? The last one took care of some of these problems.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX using DroidForums
    Most of the Motorola Updates have cleared my switching issues, but if my phone gets stuck, I just wait. It usually comes back in 30 seconds to a minute. It sucks if I'm watching a NetFlix video, or streaming music, but it does return without having to close either app.
  8. Droid
    marlonvps's Avatar
    Member #
    255052
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    70
    Liked
    1 times
    Phone
    Enter Current Phone Model Here
    #8
    There's nothing overly good. Most people are using LTE switch. But there's definitely no toggle widget for it as of this moment.
  9. Master Droid
    Phreaker47's Avatar
    Member #
    58110
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    748
    Liked
    21 times
    Phone
    Galaxy S5
    #9
    A quick fix to bring back data without an extra app is to toggle airplane mode off and then back on. Of course, you would hope you wouldn't have to do this too often.
  10. Droid
    DarthKinetic's Avatar
    Member #
    252196
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    49
    Phone
    Droid Razr Maxx
    #10
    Quote Originally Posted by jntdroid View Post
    There's an app called "restart connections" in the market that could be helpful. It's very straightforward, it simply turns off all connections then restarts them. Could come in handy in that situation.

    Also know that that's unfortunately a problem in areas where 4G is weak or 4G drops completely. It's just not handled perfectly all the time.
    yeah, isnt that called Airplane mode?
    OG Droid > Droid X > Droid Razr Maxx
    Asus Transformer
    Family owned:
    Samsung Charge,Razr Maxx #2, Acer A100, Nook Color, Nook Tablet
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Which app for switching from 4g to 3g and back?
    By mikeinctown in forum HTC Rezound
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 01-10-2012, 07:31 AM
  2. Switching back to stock launcher
    By DaDroidDude in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-16-2011, 07:47 AM
  3. Switching back to froyo...
    By Fault in forum Liquid
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 06-02-2011, 06:25 AM
  4. Switching back and forth on the same line?
    By jntdroid in forum Off Topic Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-24-2011, 09:09 AM
  5. Switching Back to BB, Force Closes
    By DylC32A in forum Bugless
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-19-2011, 11:38 PM

Search tags for this page

can the droid razr hd network be switched from 4g to 3g
,
droid razr won't go to 4g
,
how do you switch from 4g to 3g on a verizon razr maxx hd
,
how to turn on 3g on motorola razr
,
how to turn on 4g razr maxx
,
my razr won't. switch to 3g
,
phone wont switch to 4g
,
razr hd wont switch to 3g
,

razr maxx turn off 4g

,
what happens if a phone gets stuck on 3g instead of 4g
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+