DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Clearing the Razr HD/Maxx (##PROGRAM) Menu ROOT CHECKER

  1. Droid Ninja
    xmguy's Avatar
    Member #
    65364
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    RURAL TN
    Posts
    1,070
    Liked
    10 times
    Phone
    VZW Galaxy S4 | Commando 4G
    #1

    Clearing the Razr HD/Maxx (##PROGRAM) Menu ROOT CHECKER

    Some of you may or may not know that the HD/Maxx has a Root checker in the ##PROGRAM menu (accessed from the phone dialer. At the bottom a menu option says Device Rooting, clicking it will either say Rooted or Not Rooted. Well I (like most) root my phones. I found this out and pointed it out to Droid-Life. Up to now I could flash back 20 ICS and OTA to JB and that would clear the Root Checker. Now even FXZing and reapplying the OTA update via recovery won't do it.

    So my issue I'm returning a defective Maxx HD to VZW and need it un rooted. So I tried all my usual methods. No luck...

    Any ideas anyone!?

    Tip: Check the ?Rooted? Status on Your DROID RAZR HD ? Droid Life
    (Verizon) Samsung Galaxy S4 - Rooted - VRUAMI1 (STOCK) | (Verizon) Casio (GzOne) Commando 4G - Rooted - C811M020 (STOCK)
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Developer Relations
    GoCliffGo05's Avatar
    Member #
    282320
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,372
    Liked
    410 times
    Twitter
    GoCliffGo
    Phone
    DE Moto X, RAZR HD Dev, N7, X2
    Premium Member
    #2
    Even when you clear it from the program menu it will always appear in stock recovery (qe or qu I can't remember off the top of my head). As far as I know, there is no way to clear it.

    Sent from my Razr HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2



    "She leans into me and I keep my arms around her. I don't fool myself that I hold her together -- She does that on her own -- But holding her keeps me from flying apart."
  4. Droid Ninja
    xmguy's Avatar
    Member #
    65364
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    RURAL TN
    Posts
    1,070
    Liked
    10 times
    Phone
    VZW Galaxy S4 | Commando 4G
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by GoCliffGo05 View Post
    Even when you clear it from the program menu it will always appear in stock recovery (qe or qu I can't remember off the top of my head). As far as I know, there is no way to clear it.

    Sent from my Razr HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2
    I'm aware of the Root Checker in recovery. However when unrooted it will show 0/1 meaning it WAS rooted but isn't now. Mine that is STOCK unrooted still says 1/1, meaning rooted now and rooted before. I wonder if I should reroot the phone then manually unroot it?
    (Verizon) Samsung Galaxy S4 - Rooted - VRUAMI1 (STOCK) | (Verizon) Casio (GzOne) Commando 4G - Rooted - C811M020 (STOCK)
  5. Developer Relations
    GoCliffGo05's Avatar
    Member #
    282320
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,372
    Liked
    410 times
    Twitter
    GoCliffGo
    Phone
    DE Moto X, RAZR HD Dev, N7, X2
    Premium Member
    #4
    Right but isn't the issue that it was rooted? Even if its not now if they wanna be a bully about it they can see it was "tampered" with and refuse service or charge you for it.

    Anyway, removing the root from system manually may help for what you need. Good idea.

    Sent from my Razr HD using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2



    "She leans into me and I keep my arms around her. I don't fool myself that I hold her together -- She does that on her own -- But holding her keeps me from flying apart."
  6. Master Droid
    KaChow's Avatar
    Member #
    307229
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Posts
    717
    Liked
    244 times
    Phone
    SM-N900V
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by xmguy View Post
    Some of you may or may not know that the HD/Maxx has a Root checker in the ##PROGRAM menu (accessed from the phone dialer. At the bottom a menu option says Device Rooting, clicking it will either say Rooted or Not Rooted. Well I (like most) root my phones. I found this out and pointed it out to Droid-Life. Up to now I could flash back 20 ICS and OTA to JB and that would clear the Root Checker. Now even FXZing and reapplying the OTA update via recovery won't do it.

    So my issue I'm returning a defective Maxx HD to VZW and need it un rooted. So I tried all my usual methods. No luck...

    Any ideas anyone!?

    Tip: Check the ?Rooted? Status on Your DROID RAZR HD ? Droid Life
    I really didn't expect that FXZing back would remove "Rooted" lock, which even the droid-life article mentions that you need to return back to ICS, and that is also how I understood this. Now, if you were looking for a way to downgrade, which the way I would begin with> go into a Safestrap backup of 4.1.1 (use Matt's old utility to downgrade to 4.0.4) or better yet if you have a backup of 4.0.4 then just downgrade to that, kill root and then do an fdr. I managed to downgrade from 4.1.2 to 4.1.1 with Safestrap, afterall they are just backups. I'm also assuming from signature that you just have Root and the unlocked bootloader was not explored (as nothing fixes that.)
    If you like this signature click on it, copy the [IMG] middle "URL" link to your signature-> in your settings... Enjoy!


  7. Droid Ninja
    xmguy's Avatar
    Member #
    65364
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    RURAL TN
    Posts
    1,070
    Liked
    10 times
    Phone
    VZW Galaxy S4 | Commando 4G
    #6
    I don't have a safe strap backup of 4.1.1. I tried Matt's app but it soft bricked the phone. Trying to go from 4.1.2 to ICS. No my phone isn't unlocked as in the boot loader.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR Maxx HD using Droid Forums
    (Verizon) Samsung Galaxy S4 - Rooted - VRUAMI1 (STOCK) | (Verizon) Casio (GzOne) Commando 4G - Rooted - C811M020 (STOCK)
  8. Master Droid
    debrad0307's Avatar
    Member #
    170981
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    El Paso, TX
    Posts
    641
    Liked
    53 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S3
    #7
    I'm curious as to when this root checker was added. When I had my bionic (less than a year ago) it didn't have that. I'm also curious as to if Verizon added this feature or if Motorola did. Judging by how you access the checker (by the dialer) I'm wondering if Verizon added it. The S3 has a flash counter in Odin mode but it can be reset with an app. I guess Verizon is buckling down on rooted/rommed devices. That makes sense since they refuse to unlock any bootloader.

    Correction: Samsung devices have a flash counter. Not just the S3.

    Sent from my Synergized S3 using Tapatalk 2
    Last edited by debrad0307; 06-24-2013 at 11:38 PM.
    Hell on Heels
  9. Droid Ninja
    xmguy's Avatar
    Member #
    65364
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    RURAL TN
    Posts
    1,070
    Liked
    10 times
    Phone
    VZW Galaxy S4 | Commando 4G
    #8
    My Bionic doesn't have the ##PROGRAM root checker but it does have the 1/1 qe in the Recovery menu. I've given up on attempting to get the root checker to clear. The phones DON'T have root so what is VZW gonna do!?
    (Verizon) Samsung Galaxy S4 - Rooted - VRUAMI1 (STOCK) | (Verizon) Casio (GzOne) Commando 4G - Rooted - C811M020 (STOCK)
  10. Droid Ninja
    xmguy's Avatar
    Member #
    65364
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    RURAL TN
    Posts
    1,070
    Liked
    10 times
    Phone
    VZW Galaxy S4 | Commando 4G
    #9
    Guys do you all know ANY way to get the Maxx HD back to NOT ROOTED in the program menu and qe 0/1 in the recovery menu?
    (Verizon) Samsung Galaxy S4 - Rooted - VRUAMI1 (STOCK) | (Verizon) Casio (GzOne) Commando 4G - Rooted - C811M020 (STOCK)
  11. Developer Relations
    GoCliffGo05's Avatar
    Member #
    282320
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,372
    Liked
    410 times
    Twitter
    GoCliffGo
    Phone
    DE Moto X, RAZR HD Dev, N7, X2
    Premium Member
    #10
    Its impossible to reset the qe.

    Sent from my XT926 using Xparent Cyan Tapatalk 2



    "She leans into me and I keep my arms around her. I don't fool myself that I hold her together -- She does that on her own -- But holding her keeps me from flying apart."
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Root Program for Razr Maxx XT908
    By glsmaxx in forum Droid RAZR Hacks
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-08-2013, 07:20 AM
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-17-2013, 04:25 PM
  3. Razr Maxx Root Checker
    By New001 in forum Droid RAZR Hacks
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-28-2013, 11:42 PM
  4. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-25-2013, 11:02 AM
  5. Clearing Program Caches
    By SSHGuru in forum Android Tech Support
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-28-2010, 08:30 AM

Search tags for this page

delete root droid razr hd
,
droid razr maxx bootloader menu
,
droid razr maxx hd programming menu
,

droid razr maxx programming menu

,

droid razr programming menu

,
how to reprogram my droid razr
,
how to reset the qe motorola
,
programming menu atrix hd
,
programming menu razr maxx
,

razr maxx programming menu

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+