DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Global Capabilities

  1. Junior Droid
    ballzdeap's Avatar
    Member #
    256917
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    23
    Phone
    Droid Razr
    #1

    Global Capabilities

    Hey guys, quick question. I'm traveling to Italy in about a month or so, and it was my understanding that the Maxx HD has global capabilities, however it would be pretty expensive to use my Verizon sim card. That said, am I able to simply buy a prepaid card and use that for the duration of my trip? I think I've read something on this before, but I can't remember which carrier or phone, or if any of that even makes a difference.

    Thanks in advance.
  2. Droid Ninja
    Droid Firefighter's Avatar
    Member #
    130981
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet) ;-)
    Posts
    1,622
    Liked
    37 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid Razr Maxx HD
    #2
    All of Verizon's 4G LTE phones are SIM unlocked from the factory. So yes, all you need is a prepaid SIM card from whatever carrier you choose.
  3. Droid
    ryan0720's Avatar
    Member #
    272656
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    33
    #3
    That is totally false...i got a net 10 prepaid sim and would not work in my razor m or razor maxx..on the phone with tech support for an hour and it wasnt possible
  4. Master Droid
    KaChow's Avatar
    Member #
    307229
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Posts
    726
    Liked
    249 times
    Phone
    SM-N900V
    #4
    If you go into Settings> More...> Mobile networks> Global data roaming access> To sign up for a global data plan.... number displayed on screen shot below. I nearly added Global access to my device about a month ago, didn't follow through with it, so I can't make any suggestions or recommendations other than check with these guys first, before exploring alternative routes.

    Global Capabilities-screenshot_2013-02-06-20-47-11.png
  5. Junior Droid
    carpenter's Avatar
    Member #
    245833
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    28
    Phone
    Droid Razr Maxx HD
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by ryan0720 View Post
    That is totally false...i got a net 10 prepaid sim and would not work in my razor m or razor maxx..on the phone with tech support for an hour and it wasnt possible
    Razr maxx locked on US towers. Will work only outside Us with any carrier.
  6. Master Droid
    KaChow's Avatar
    Member #
    307229
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Posts
    726
    Liked
    249 times
    Phone
    SM-N900V
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by carpenter View Post
    Razr maxx locked on US towers. Will work only outside Us with any carrier.
    This is not completely true.



    Global Capabilities-forumrunner_20130208_102911.pngGlobal Capabilities-forumrunner_20130208_102929.png
    Last edited by KaChow; 02-08-2013 at 11:24 AM.
    If you like this signature click on it, copy the [IMG] middle "URL" link to your signature-> in your settings... Enjoy!


  7. Junior Droid
    carpenter's Avatar
    Member #
    245833
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    28
    Phone
    Droid Razr Maxx HD
    #7
    [QUOTE=KaChow;2381352]This is not completely true.
    Is possible only with rooted razr maxx hd? Or unrooted device will do it too?
  8. Master Droid
    KaChow's Avatar
    Member #
    307229
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Posts
    726
    Liked
    249 times
    Phone
    SM-N900V
    #8
    [QUOTE=carpenter;2384935]
    Quote Originally Posted by KaChow View Post
    This is not completely true.
    Is possible only with rooted razr maxx hd? Or unrooted device will do it too?
    Most of the changes that are needed to take place require either SuperUser or SuperSU or both, as they control and grant root access to the apps that allow changes to the settings. However, if the "Golden Ticket"- AKEY is discovered (does not presently exist- so to speak on the XT926), then rooted or not rooted the phone can be opened from the dialer ##PROGRAM. I must warn changing settings in Program Menu, are not restored with a Factory Reset.
    If you like this signature click on it, copy the [IMG] middle "URL" link to your signature-> in your settings... Enjoy!


Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-06-2012, 08:26 AM
  2. People who actually have used global capabilities on there last phone
    By tdpolo26 in forum Droid 4 General Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-10-2012, 03:32 PM
  3. Global Capabilities
    By consultant1 in forum Samsung Galaxy Nexus
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-09-2012, 08:21 AM
  4. Droid 4 confirmed to have global capabilities
    By km75 in forum Droid 4 General Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-12-2012, 11:27 AM
  5. Will TB have global capabilities?
    By urklegrue in forum HTC ThunderBolt
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-03-2011, 06:11 PM

Search tags for this page

does motorola razr maxx hd work in italy?
,
does razr maxx have global capabilities
,
droid bionic global capability
,
droid maxx capability
,

droid maxx hd forum

,
droid razor hd in italy
,
how do i make my verizon razr m android work in italy
,
motorola razr maxx hd international capable?
,
samsung galaxy s3 comparison motorola razr hd international
,
will the razr m work in italy
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+