DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 71
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: signal issue

  1. Master Droid
    wvdroidman's Avatar
    Member #
    58549
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    769
    Liked
    9 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S3
    #11
    will it be fixed somehow? Knowing that it is a known issue is motorola planning to address the issue?
    Absolutely Loving my Galaxy S3
  2. Senior Droid
    Spey's Avatar
    Member #
    307544
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    144
    Liked
    11 times
    Phone
    Razr M
    #12
    Replies to earlier questions I asked:
    Quote Originally Posted by wvdroidman View Post
    1: mediocre 4g area.
    2: keeps commectiom
    3: just went from 115 dbm 4g to 70 dbm 3g just now. It is sitting on my computer desk. Doesn't matter where I hold it when I do. I vary between 73 and 90 dbm on 3g.

    There are some areas I got 3g and sometimes 4g that I now get 1x on the razr m. Only visit there 3 or 4 times a year so can't check now.
    wvdroidman,
    Some of the comments included getting a new SIM card (I do not understand how this could help ...?) - would be interested myself to hear why this could be ...? Phone user should be able to update their PRL manually (precluding this as a reason to install a new SIM Card ...?).
    Verizon will mail you a free SIM Card with a simple phone call to tech-support. I have gotten free-SIM Cards from both corp. stores (standard policy), and also non-corp. stores (all about how you present yourself and your situation).

    "1: mediocre 4g area.
    2: keeps commectiom"

    I would think that in a "mediocre 4G area" that you should be happy the Razr-M is seamlessly switching to 3G and holding your data signal. Sounds like things are working as they should be ...

    "3: just went from 115 dbm 4g to 70 dbm 3g just now. It is sitting on my computer desk. Doesn't matter where I hold it when I do. I vary between 73 and 90 dbm on 3g."
    Those numbers are negative numbers (-115dbm), so -115dbm is a weaker signal than -70dbm (just to make sure we are on the same page).
    -70dbm is a relatively good signal, -115dbm is a pretty weak signal.
    It sounds like from what you stated, you phones software threshold is set at around -115dbm cutoff for weak signal to switching to 3G (4G disconnect-threshold in dbm). A software revision (registry edit to the OS) is how this switching-threshold could be reset (per my earlier references).

    "There are some areas I got 3g and sometimes 4g that I now get 1x on the razr m. Only visit there 3 or 4 times a year so can't check now."
    I could be mistaken in the following comments (someone feel free to correct at any time):
    I believe you are mixing Data and Voice Signals in your comment above (3G & 4G being Data, 1x being Voice).
    I believe Verizon 1x = (single-carrier) Radio Transmission Technology (Voice Signal NOT Data).
    If you get any Data Support without a 3G of 4G Signal, I would assume this would be happening via EVDO on the Razr-M.

    "I also did notice that when I entered a strong 4g area the razr m took 5 minutes longer than my fiance's pantec breakout to go from 3g to 4g."
    I believe this would also be related to the same "software-switching-threshold" previously mentioned.
    It would help to know the reported signal strength of the 4G connection when it reconnects from 3G (this would illustrate the 4G connect threshold in dbm).
    You would then have the benchmarks to determine how the phone and software are performing (4G Connect & Disconnect Threshold).

    Two additional questions:
    What OS are you running ICS or JB (factory stock, OTA push, etc.)?
    What PRL (Preferred Roaming List - cel-tower frequencies updates) are you running (Settings/About Phone/Status)? (Should be 5-digit # begin with 1xxxx or 5xxxxx)
    If you get "stuck" in 3G again in an area of known strong 4G coverage compare your PRL# at that time to previous checks to see if device has poss. reset to a new number (I think 5x #'s are 3G only).
    Last edited by Spey; 11-26-2012 at 03:59 AM. Reason: Last Question RE: PRL
    jntdroid and PowrDroid like this.
  3. Master Droid
    wvdroidman's Avatar
    Member #
    58549
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    769
    Liked
    9 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S3
    #13
    my phone says 1x in some areas now especially indoors where it used to say 3g with my thunderbolt.
    I have jellybean.
    prl 15154
    I didn't know you could update your prl on a 4g phone. Tried #22899 or was it *22899 didn't work. "a verizon wireless sim card has activated your service and updated your phone's roaming capabilities". whatever that means.
    It goes from 4g to 3g at -116dbm.
    Is it safe to switch it to a higher decible and what is the threshold for the thunderbolt?
    Lastly knowing this is a known issue will motorola adress this issue or are we stuck with the radio problems?

    Coverage map for my area http://www.verizonwireless.com/b2c/C...IRTON&state=WV
    Even in areas that are dark red I am lucky I get 4g.
    Last edited by wvdroidman; 11-26-2012 at 07:04 AM.
    Absolutely Loving my Galaxy S3
  4. Senior Droid
    Spey's Avatar
    Member #
    307544
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    144
    Liked
    11 times
    Phone
    Razr M
    #14
    RE: previous Thunderbolt had better 3G connection than your current Razr M.
    From various postings I have read by other users, this may be typical. Possibly related to the smaller profile of the Razr M, and the fact that there are MORE antenna duties in the smaller package (Razr M runs all the antenna and radio requirements of larger Thunderbolt - plus - also has both 2.4GHz AND 5GHz WiFi antennas in smaller package - almost forgot they also put in a NFC Radio & Antenna too). The other day I was thinking/wondering if the location of the NFC antenna (on the back-side so hip-people can bump-transfer between devices ... to the awe-amazement of their iPhone brethren) is possibly obscuring the 4G/3G antenna reception. If so, and user does not care about NFC (me for one), then possibly the NFC antenna could simple be removed from the device & NFC software left de-activated. I know other Razr now also come with NFC antenna, but in larger package with more room to effectively place all the various antenna more optimally ...

    RE: prl 15154
    I would not be attempting to switch this PRL (your references related to "Tried #22899 or was it *22899" and/or possibly *228. If this were to actually take hold, I believe it would change your PRL to a 5xxxx number that would effectively set the phone to 3G mode and NO 4G (for folks who are in fringe areas of 4G coverage, and/or those who do not want the always on battery drain of 4G - on unless airplane mode).

    RE: "I didn't know you could update your prl on a 4g phone."
    It is my understanding that you can update 4G PRL (typically it's automated process when the phone boots, but there is manual update procedure if this is the problem).
    I do not think this is issue on your device because of the PRL you mention.
    Exception (previously mentioned in eariler post - if you can not get 4G in area of known strong 4G coverage, check the PRL to see if the phone may have "auto-updated" to a 5xxxx PRL). This could indicate a trouble spot to focus some attention trouble-shooting. This be be one of those device that you may want to focus on PRL updating.

    RE: "It goes from 4g to 3g at -116dbm."
    Device switches to and from 4G at -116dbm?
    I watched signal strength on my Razr today in areas of good to moderate 4G converage (ranged from -82dbm to -108dbm with no switching out of 4g).
    As I sit here typing in location I do not typically get 4G & is typically very weak 3G I've got 4G.
    Moving around and obscuring device from cel-tower in various ways I got the following readings:
    4G -107-115dbm 2-bars & -116-128dbm = 1-bar
    Actually got device down to -133dbm with 1-bar before switched from 4G to 3G then also lost 3G into 1x.
    Device would not register 3G or 4G (somewhat typical performance because coverage is very weak here).
    Switched device into "airplane mode" (turning off data radios), and switched back on, and 4G signal pops up at -110dbm (same as it was in same location earlier).
    In my mind this seems like explainable and acceptable behavior to me.

    RE: "Is it safe to switch it to a higher decible and what is the threshold for the thunderbolt?"
    Switching threshold for the Thunderbolt is a good question. Maybe someone with active Thunderbolt could respond (my daughter will not be home from college again till next month, I will try and remember to check her Thunderbolt then).
    I think the real question here is does the Razr M actually not receive signal as strongly (as say the Thunderbolt), or is it a matter of how the device signal is calibrated in the software. If the problem is that the device does not pick up signals as well, then focus probably should be on hardware improvements and/or software that can "enhance" the signal strength in the device. If on the other hand, the problem is that the signal is picked up ok but that the software calibration is set so as to switch from 3G to 4G prematurely then it would seem a simple registry edit to effectively change the switching threshold might be in order. Reasons the threshold may be set artificially low could include like to save battery, or make sure that the transition back and forth is seamless without dropping data connection. Considering the Razr M is a new device (and that packing in the secondary WiFi 5GHz radio & antenna - significant reason for my purchase of Razr M), I would think Motorola would error on the side of making sure the switching between 3G & 4G happens without dropping data signal for a fraction of second (so hopefully on the conservative side, and maybe room for future improvement via simple software update ...).

    RE: "Coverage map for my area http://www.verizonwireless.com/b2c/C...IRTON&state=WV
    Even in areas that are dark red I am lucky I get 4g."

    You are reading that map to show 3-levels of red (3G, 4G Extended, 4G Coverage), correct (not just 2-levels of red)?
    When I zoom in your push-pin, it's in 4G Extended and near border of 3G.
    It took me a little bit of time to asses the zoom levels in my area map coverage, and to see detail that actually illustrated detail down to 4G outdoors vs. inside buildings. The map where I am is fairly consistent with the coverage I experience in with my primary Razr M.

    I am not advocating that the Razr M has superior 4G Data coverage. I did not select this device for 4G. My priorites - dual-band WiFi and the small form factor, along with 4.3" screen that looks great and exterior support for SD-Card were all high on my priority list. Oh, lets not forget somewhat minimal overlay onto the OS.

    Hopefully, some of this makes sense and can be of help to you trouble shooting perceived and/or real problems (and differentiating between).

    Regards,
    Last edited by Spey; 11-27-2012 at 01:21 AM.
  5. Master Droid
    wvdroidman's Avatar
    Member #
    58549
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    769
    Liked
    9 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S3
    #15
    Would motorola have to issue new phones to fix the signal issue or can it be fixed by software. I don't get 4g until close to the pennsylvania border with the razr m. Should I be getting some 4g here where I am now?
    Absolutely Loving my Galaxy S3
  6. Senior Droid
    Spey's Avatar
    Member #
    307544
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    144
    Liked
    11 times
    Phone
    Razr M
    #16
    Quote Originally Posted by wvdroidman View Post
    Would motorola have to issue new phones to fix the signal issue or can it be fixed by software. I don't get 4g until close to the pennsylvania border with the razr m. Should I be getting some 4g here where I am now?
    I would bet any odds Motorola is NOT going to "issue new phones". Depending on the specifics of problem, software can help as already discussed. JB OTA has already made improvement to 4G connectivity on my device. Further software enhancements (specific to the Razr M could help further as described above).

    RE: "Should I be getting some 4g here where I am now?"
    As I commented above, if you are located where the push-pin is on the map-link you provided then, you are in 4G Extended Network Coverage Area. So, NO you are not in an area where I would expect to get 4G all the time, and would expect 4G switching to 3G to be normal, and depending on line-of-sight obstructions with towers I would also expect to sometimes loose 3G for periods.
    Below is the quote direct from the map-link you provided related to your push-pin placement (you are not in "Dark Red area" of the map):
    ** Access the 4G LTE network within the Verizon Extended Coverage Area; certain conditions may cause your service to connect to 3G in this Area.
    Last edited by Spey; 11-27-2012 at 12:44 AM.
  7. Master Droid
    wvdroidman's Avatar
    Member #
    58549
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    769
    Liked
    9 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S3
    #17
    Thing is at wal mart which is in the dark red I can still even only get 3g. Even in the parking lot. What else can I do to improve reception? Would changing that variable you were talking about help or would it make things worse?
    If there is a hardware fix what would that entail or would we just have to accept this problem?
    Absolutely Loving my Galaxy S3
  8. Super Moderator
    jntdroid's Avatar
    Member #
    6110
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    6,438
    Liked
    808 times
    Phone
    Verizon S4
    Premium Member
    #18
    Quote Originally Posted by wvdroidman View Post
    Thing is at wal mart which is in the dark red I can still even only get 3g. Even in the parking lot. What else can I do to improve reception? Would changing that variable you were talking about help or would it make things worse?
    If there is a hardware fix what would that entail or would we just have to accept this problem?
    Is this your first LTE phone in your area?
    "...life is 10% what happens to me and 90% how I react to it."

    Guidelines of Conduct
    The only dumb question is the one not asked.
  9. Master Droid
    wvdroidman's Avatar
    Member #
    58549
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    769
    Liked
    9 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S3
    #19
    I had the thunderbolt which seems like it got a better signal than the razr m. I am trying to get the razr m to get as good as signal as the thunderbolt. That is why I am trying to think of ways to get a better signal. Would a signal booster work or changing the thresh hold work?

    I only get 2 bars 3g most of the time here where with the thunderbolt I got 4 to 5 bars here most of the time.
    Last edited by wvdroidman; 11-27-2012 at 12:26 PM.
    Absolutely Loving my Galaxy S3
  10. Super Moderator
    jntdroid's Avatar
    Member #
    6110
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    TX
    Posts
    6,438
    Liked
    808 times
    Phone
    Verizon S4
    Premium Member
    #20
    If your experience with the Thunderbolt was better with regard to reception, then my recommendation is you exchange it. My personal opinion (based on my experience with a few different M's, lots of forum correspondence on various forums, etc) is that it's a combination of hardware and software and will never fully be resolved. As worried as you are now trying to make this work better, it won't get much better in a timely fashion.
    "...life is 10% what happens to me and 90% how I react to it."

    Guidelines of Conduct
    The only dumb question is the one not asked.
Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Signal issue related to ICS?
    By x25064 in forum Samsung Galaxy Nexus
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 03-05-2012, 02:46 PM
  2. Who will be the first dev to have a fix for the weak signal issue
    By pc747 in forum Galaxy Nexus Development
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-19-2011, 07:33 PM
  3. 20 Sec Fix for the 3G Signal Drop Issue.
    By Arsenicpop in forum Droid X Tech Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-18-2011, 08:02 AM
  4. Signal Issue
    By Misterroy in forum Droid Incredible Tech Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-09-2011, 07:04 AM
  5. 2.2 time with out signal issue
    By Wadzii in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-17-2010, 09:15 AM

Search tags for this page

4g antenna weak razr m
,

droid dna losing signal

,
droid razr m signal
,

droid razr m signal fix

,

droid razr m signal issue

,
droid razr m signal problems
,

droid razr m weak signal

,
razr m signal strength
,

razr m signal strength fix

,
razr m weak signal
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+