DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Safestrap-Manage Backups

  1. Master Droid
    JOSHSKORN's Avatar
    Member #
    140567
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    406
    Liked
    9 times
    Phone
    DROID RAZR MAXX
    #1

    Safestrap-Manage Backups

    I don't know where the folder was created on my Stock ROM backup. Obviously not my SD Card. I would like Safestrap to backup to the SD Card by default. I would also like to delete my existing backup. I'm on Safestrap 3.53 (the latest version).

    Anyone? Thanks!
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Developer Relations
    GoCliffGo05's Avatar
    Member #
    282320
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,372
    Liked
    410 times
    Twitter
    GoCliffGo
    Phone
    DE Moto X, RAZR HD Dev, N7, X2
    Premium Member
    #2
    I'm only making assumptions here because SS is based off of TWRP....

    Go into SS, click backup and look to see if you see a box that says "save location" or something similar. If its not in there, check settings.

    To delete an old backup (make a new one first!) try clicking the restore tab, select the backup you want and there should be an erase option. Could also just delete it manually if you find the folder.

    And as to the save location, it will be internal by default. Check for folders on the root of your internal SD. Something like safe system or safe etc etc.

    If all of that was wrong I apologize lol.

    Sent from my Droid Razr HD using Tapatalk 4



    "She leans into me and I keep my arms around her. I don't fool myself that I hold her together -- She does that on her own -- But holding her keeps me from flying apart."
  4. Master Droid
    JOSHSKORN's Avatar
    Member #
    140567
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    406
    Liked
    9 times
    Phone
    DROID RAZR MAXX
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by GoCliffGo05 View Post
    Go into SS, click backup and look to see if you see a box that says "save location" or something similar. If its not in there, check settings.
    Found it. You were partially right. What I did was, tapped Backup, and then under the "Select Partitions to Backup" section, there are two buttons, and underneath it, one long button, labled Storage. Tap that and I was able to switch from Internal Storage to MicroSDCard.



    Quote Originally Posted by GoCliffGo05 View Post
    To delete an old backup (make a new one first!) try clicking the restore tab, select the backup you want and there should be an erase option. Could also just delete it manually if you find the folder.
    Again, you were partially right. I went into Restore, selected the Backup, and I'm able to select what options to backup. Underneath it are two buttons, Rename Backup and Delete Backup. I should note that because I'd changed the location in the Backup section, it was looking for backups on my SDCard, not my Internal Storage. I had to flip back to Internal Storage to see the Backup folder.

    and D'oh, as I did this, my screen went to screen saver mode, I swiped it to unlock and didn't see it unlock, and accidently swiped it again and ended up restoring my phone to what it was early this morning! Whoops! I'd done a whole mess of updates since then. Live an learn!

    How long does the restore take?? I'm getting a little worried. The bar is at the end and has been for a couple minutes.
    Last edited by JOSHSKORN; 09-16-2013 at 11:36 PM.
  5. Developer Relations
    GoCliffGo05's Avatar
    Member #
    282320
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,372
    Liked
    410 times
    Twitter
    GoCliffGo
    Phone
    DE Moto X, RAZR HD Dev, N7, X2
    Premium Member
    #4
    A restore typically can take 5-15 minutes from my experience depending on the amount of data.

    Sent from my Droid Razr HD using Tapatalk 4



    "She leans into me and I keep my arms around her. I don't fool myself that I hold her together -- She does that on her own -- But holding her keeps me from flying apart."
  6. Master Droid
    JOSHSKORN's Avatar
    Member #
    140567
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    406
    Liked
    9 times
    Phone
    DROID RAZR MAXX
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by GoCliffGo05 View Post
    A restore typically can take 5-15 minutes from my experience depending on the amount of data.

    Sent from my Droid Razr HD using Tapatalk 4
    It rebooted and as expected I'm having to uninstall a few things I uninstalled this morning. I'm a little worried though because the restore said it failed on Webtop. I'll plug my phone into my HD Station later on and see what happens.
  7. Master Droid
    YellowJacket's Avatar
    Member #
    253897
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    587
    Liked
    95 times
    Phone
    LG G2
    #6
    Josh, just to be sure you know...

    You only really need to do a backup once. Once you have created your safe slot for your custom ROM and installed it, you can easily switch between the two at bootup by choosing which one you want to use within safestrap. There is no need to re install your backup just to go back t the stock ROM. Essentially with safestrap, you are creating a multibooot environment where you can choose between which ROM you want to use.

    EDIT: just to be safe, I would recommend switching ROMS without webtop active and just do it through the phone only.

    David
  8. Master Droid
    helron's Avatar
    Member #
    235878
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    346
    Liked
    27 times
    Phone
    Droid Razr
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by YellowJacket View Post
    Josh, just to be sure you know...

    You only really need to do a backup once. Once you have created your safe slot for your custom ROM and installed it, you can easily switch between the two at bootup by choosing which one you want to use within safestrap. There is no need to re install your backup just to go back t the stock ROM. Essentially with safestrap, you are creating a multibooot environment where you can choose between which ROM you want to use.

    EDIT: just to be safe, I would recommend switching ROMS without webtop active and just do it through the phone only.

    David
    Interesting, but a bit confusing for me because I am not sure of what Webtop is for? What does it do? Shoud it be included in the backup within SS? Any help is appreciated. Thx! Oh! And is it Ok to store the SS backup on the external SC card and restore it form their also-or need it reside on internal card?

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. safestrap 2.11 and doing backups
    By RueTheDayTrebek in forum Droid 4 Hacks
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-14-2013, 02:59 PM
  2. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-13-2012, 09:48 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-27-2012, 04:05 PM
  4. Safestrap is stuck on the safestrap logo screen. Won't load into CWM
    By diversmitty in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-06-2012, 10:43 PM
  5. Manage calls
    By qkpony in forum Team D1-MIUI
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-10-2011, 12:05 AM

Search tags for this page

restoring backup with safestrap 2.11
,
safestrap backup folder
,
safestrap backup folder location
,

safestrap backup location

,
safestrap backup what is backed up
,
safestrap location
,
safestrap razr backup
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+