DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
Like Tree6Likes

Thread: Question about activating slot 1 in safestrap

  1. Master Droid
    YellowJacket's Avatar
    Member #
    253897
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    587
    Liked
    95 times
    Phone
    LG G2
    #1

    Question about activating slot 1 in safestrap

    OK, so I have finally ventured into uncharted waters for me... rooting.

    I have successfully rooted and installed safestrap v3.11 via matts utility. I do have root and have granted permanent superuser privileges to safestrap. I have cleared my caches and done my backup,but when I try to activate slot 1, the progress bar just sits there and does not move. No errors, just acts like its stalled out and not going further.

    Am I doing something wrong? I am trying to get to a point where I can install CM10.1 spyder (stable build). Sorry for seeming like a noob....

    Thanks for the help.

    David
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Developer Relations
    GoCliffGo05's Avatar
    Member #
    282320
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,377
    Liked
    412 times
    Twitter
    GoCliffGo
    Phone
    DE Moto X, RAZR HD Dev, N7, X2
    Premium Member
    #2
    Only used safestrap for a while so bear with me but did you create the slot before trying to activate it?

    Sent from my Droid Razr HD using Tapatalk 4
    YellowJacket likes this.



    "She leans into me and I keep my arms around her. I don't fool myself that I hold her together -- She does that on her own -- But holding her keeps me from flying apart."
  4. Master Droid
    YellowJacket's Avatar
    Member #
    253897
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    587
    Liked
    95 times
    Phone
    LG G2
    #3
    Thanks for the reply.

    Here is what I do:
    1. Reboot and choose safestrap by hitting the menu button at the prompt. (interesting, but the boot screen says in red "Safestrapisabled")
    2. from the main screen, I choose the boot options button.
    3. From the boot options, I choose ROM-Slot-1. THere is where it hangs. I don't see anything that indicates "create" a slot. There is only 5 choices. Rom slots 1 to 4 and Stock Rom.

    Scratches head....

    David
  5. Developer Relations
    GoCliffGo05's Avatar
    Member #
    282320
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,377
    Liked
    412 times
    Twitter
    GoCliffGo
    Phone
    DE Moto X, RAZR HD Dev, N7, X2
    Premium Member
    #4
    Its disabled? Did you open the app when the phone was on and enable it?

    Sent from my Droid Razr HD using Tapatalk 4
    YellowJacket likes this.



    "She leans into me and I keep my arms around her. I don't fool myself that I hold her together -- She does that on her own -- But holding her keeps me from flying apart."
  6. Developer Relations
    GoCliffGo05's Avatar
    Member #
    282320
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,377
    Liked
    412 times
    Twitter
    GoCliffGo
    Phone
    DE Moto X, RAZR HD Dev, N7, X2
    Premium Member
    #5
    Maybe just double check your install process with this video:



    Here is hashes site about it: http://blog.hash-of-codes.com/how-to-safestrap/
    YellowJacket likes this.



    "She leans into me and I keep my arms around her. I don't fool myself that I hold her together -- She does that on her own -- But holding her keeps me from flying apart."
  7. Developer Relations
    GoCliffGo05's Avatar
    Member #
    282320
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,377
    Liked
    412 times
    Twitter
    GoCliffGo
    Phone
    DE Moto X, RAZR HD Dev, N7, X2
    Premium Member
    #6
    If your steps check out, I'd uninstall SS, maybe verify you got a good copy then reinstall.
    YellowJacket likes this.



    "She leans into me and I keep my arms around her. I don't fool myself that I hold her together -- She does that on her own -- But holding her keeps me from flying apart."
  8. Master Droid
    YellowJacket's Avatar
    Member #
    253897
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    587
    Liked
    95 times
    Phone
    LG G2
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by GoCliffGo05 View Post
    Its disabled? Did you open the app when the phone was on and enable it?

    Sent from my Droid Razr HD using Tapatalk 4
    Thats where I get puzzled. When I launch the safestrap app, I get two choices: "install recovery" and "uninstall Recovery"
    Recovery state says "installed" and Safe System says "not active". No other choices, no response from menu button.

    Also, I checked superuser and permissions have been granted.

    David
  9. Master Droid
    YellowJacket's Avatar
    Member #
    253897
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    587
    Liked
    95 times
    Phone
    LG G2
    #8
    Yup, followed the video exactly. I wonder if it has to do with my SD card? I have a 32gb class 6 card.

    I may just try it again and see what happens.

    David
  10. Developer Relations
    GoCliffGo05's Avatar
    Member #
    282320
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    2,377
    Liked
    412 times
    Twitter
    GoCliffGo
    Phone
    DE Moto X, RAZR HD Dev, N7, X2
    Premium Member
    #9
    I don't think it should have anything to do with your card. SS works with internal memory.



    "She leans into me and I keep my arms around her. I don't fool myself that I hold her together -- She does that on her own -- But holding her keeps me from flying apart."
  11. Master Droid
    YellowJacket's Avatar
    Member #
    253897
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    587
    Liked
    95 times
    Phone
    LG G2
    #10
    Quote Originally Posted by GoCliffGo05 View Post
    I don't think it should have anything to do with your card. SS works with internal memory.
    Yeah, thats what I thought but when I rewatched the video, he mentioned formatting the SD card before he tapped on slot 1.

    Thanks for the help gocliffgo, I'm going to give it another try after I get off work tomorrow.

    David
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-07-2013, 09:37 AM
  2. Safestrap question
    By drevil00 in forum Droid Bionic Hacks
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 02-28-2012, 05:30 PM
  3. Safestrap Question
    By Jazic in forum Droid RAZR Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-28-2011, 11:27 AM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-11-2011, 04:07 PM
  5. Question about activating phones.
    By kook in forum HTC ThunderBolt
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-09-2011, 04:32 PM

Search tags for this page

how can i activate slot on android

,

safestrap activate romslot-1

,

safestrap issues with droid 4 slot-1

,

safestrap problem activating rom slot droid bionic

,

safestrap reformat rom slot

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+