DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 10 of 10
Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By apl3
  • 1 Post By Dalvik_Cache

Thread: updating prl?

  1. Senior Droid
    apl3's Avatar
    Member #
    36274
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    connecticut
    Posts
    201
    Liked
    5 times
    Phone
    razr
    #1

    updating prl?

    I have owned my Razr for a year but I have a problem when I recently compared the signal strength to a razr HD. Both phones were side by side when I compared them. I was at the gym and realized I could not use Pandora very effectively actually from day one I noticed this when I got the phone. The phone would flip from 3g to 1x to no data. The Razr HD would stay at 4G sometimes flip to 3g in the same are. Here is the weird thing when I took the Razr outside the building after a few seconds I would get a 4g signal. My prl is 15233 Android version is 4.1.2. I have powered down the phone removed the sim card to see if it would update the PRL still no luck. Verizon told me I can get a Certified like new from them is there anything else I should be looking at? Does the Droid Razr HD have a better radio? Thanks.
  2.  
     
     
     
  3. Droid Ninja
    Droid Firefighter's Avatar
    Member #
    130981
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Indiana (and that is close enough for the internet) ;-)
    Posts
    1,622
    Liked
    37 times
    Phone
    Motorola Droid Razr Maxx HD
    #2
    Before replacing your phone I would replace the Sim card. They are free from Verizon stores.
  4. Super Moderator
    Dalvik_Cache's Avatar
    Member #
    343975
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Central US
    Posts
    954
    Liked
    370 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S4 & Droid DNA
    Premium Member
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by apl3 View Post
    I have owned my Razr for a year but I have a problem when I recently compared the signal strength to a razr HD. Both phones were side by side when I compared them. I was at the gym and realized I could not use Pandora very effectively actually from day one I noticed this when I got the phone. The phone would flip from 3g to 1x to no data. The Razr HD would stay at 4G sometimes flip to 3g in the same are. Here is the weird thing when I took the Razr outside the building after a few seconds I would get a 4g signal. My prl is 15233 Android version is 4.1.2. I have powered down the phone removed the sim card to see if it would update the PRL still no luck. Verizon told me I can get a Certified like new from them is there anything else I should be looking at? Does the Droid Razr HD have a better radio? Thanks.
    To update the PRL you would need something like QPST. Aside from that PRL's are automatically sent to the phone via the VZW network. Even if you flashed one it would likely get replaced on reboot.
  5. Master Droid
    KaChow's Avatar
    Member #
    307229
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Posts
    723
    Liked
    247 times
    Phone
    SM-N900V
    #4
    Quote Originally Posted by apl3 View Post
    I have owned my Razr for a year but I have a problem when I recently compared the signal strength to a razr HD. Both phones were side by side when I compared them. I was at the gym and realized I could not use Pandora very effectively actually from day one I noticed this when I got the phone. The phone would flip from 3g to 1x to no data. The Razr HD would stay at 4G sometimes flip to 3g in the same are. Here is the weird thing when I took the Razr outside the building after a few seconds I would get a 4g signal. My prl is 15233 Android version is 4.1.2. I have powered down the phone removed the sim card to see if it would update the PRL still no luck. Verizon told me I can get a Certified like new from them is there anything else I should be looking at? Does the Droid Razr HD have a better radio? Thanks.
    I have the same PRL 15233, which I also have a Droid Razr Maxx HD. The issue here is not the PRL, because you are running the current version, what is causing the problem is what seems to be the lack of the data that you have been receiving. I feel like I was just helping someone with this same issue in another thread, go into your phone, open the dial pad and enter> *#*#4636#*#* and hit the send button, this will open the "Testing" menu, go into "Phone Information", scroll midway down the page to "Set preferred network type:" and make sure your device reads LTE/CDMA/EvDO/GSM/WCDMA . If this is not the setting, then go ahead and adjust the setting to read LTE/CDMA/EvDO/GSM/WCDMA . Scroll back to the top, click "Run ping test" all your settings will reset, take a look at the "Network type:" and note whether it reads "LTE" or "eHRPD", if it reads "eHRPD" which is essentially running 3G data, this is nothing to be really concerned or worried about. eHRPD 3G covers tower to tower, in the event that the LTE signal doesn't intercept.

    I'm going to give you a couple of codes that hopefully can improve your signal, nothing is said to work perfectly, something is better than nothing. GL

    *228 > Update PRL or Program PRL
    *22880 > force update, ignore fails (shouldn't need this but just in case)
    *22899 > force secondary tower update
    *22800 > original tower update
    If you like this signature click on it, copy the [IMG] middle "URL" link to your signature-> in your settings... Enjoy!


  6. Senior Droid
    apl3's Avatar
    Member #
    36274
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    connecticut
    Posts
    201
    Liked
    5 times
    Phone
    razr
    #5
    Thanks KaChow I set phone to LTE/CDMA/EvDO/GSM/WCDMA / it was just set for lte/cdma/evdo not sure if this is significant or not. My signal strength for 4g is -100dBm 1x is now -80. I got Verizon to send me a Certified phone to replace this one. Thing is from day one I always seemed to be having problems with Data. I have replaced the Sim card and no changes.
    Last edited by apl3; 06-27-2013 at 06:22 AM.
    FoxKat likes this.
  7. Super Moderator
    Dalvik_Cache's Avatar
    Member #
    343975
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Central US
    Posts
    954
    Liked
    370 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S4 & Droid DNA
    Premium Member
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by KaChow View Post
    *228 > Update PRL or Program PRL
    *22880 > force update, ignore fails (shouldn't need this but just in case)
    *22899 > force secondary tower update
    *22800 > original tower update


    1. *228 is a manual OTA call. This has a voice prompt requesting to press different options.
    2. *22800 is for PCS networks only. If your phone is not a primary PCS device this will not work. You must be on a PCS tower for this to work.
    3. *22899 is the same as the *228 except the 99 signifies automatically press "2". Basically its for air cards and data devices that don't have the ability to follow the prompts. Aside from that it is the exact same thing as the first.



    • None of these will work if:
    • You are roaming on to a non network tower. Specifically, if you are on the extended network. You MUST be on a tower owned by your carrier.
    • If you have an LTE device. This option is never available to LTE devices because your PRL is stored on your SIM, not your internal phone flash.

    Hope this helps.
    FoxKat likes this.
  8. Super Moderator
    FoxKat's Avatar
    Member #
    54290
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    8,588
    Liked
    2291 times
    Phone
    DROID MAXX XT1080!
    Premium Member
    #7
    Quote Originally Posted by MandyMakesApps View Post
    1. *228 is a manual OTA call. This has a voice prompt requesting to press different options.
    2. *22800 is for PCS networks only. If your phone is not a primary PCS device this will not work. You must be on a PCS tower for this to work.
    3. *22899 is the same as the *228 except the 99 signifies automatically press "2". Basically its for air cards and data devices that don't have the ability to follow the prompts. Aside from that it is the exact same thing as the first.



    • None of these will work if:
    • You are roaming on to a non network tower. Specifically, if you are on the extended network. You MUST be on a tower owned by your carrier.
    • If you have an LTE device. This option is never available to LTE devices because your PRL is stored on your SIM, not your internal phone flash.

    Hope this helps.
    I can attest to the information above as well. Since the phone has a SIM and is an LTE device, the *228 process will not work. It was intended to perform tower update (PRL) information for non-sim based phones. Believe MandyMakesApps, she knows very well what she's talking about in this realm, as well as many others.

    "Professor FoxKat"
    "Saving DROID Razr's, one battery at a time. :-)" - (credit SallyC)
    Avatar is Maxwell Smart, AKA Agent 86, from "Get Smart" (with his signature "Shoe Phone"), a SitCom TV series by Mel Brooks & Buck Henry, based on the spy thriller series, "The Man From U.N.C.L.E.".
    "Guidelines of Conduct" for DroidForums.net
  9. Super Moderator
    FoxKat's Avatar
    Member #
    54290
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    8,588
    Liked
    2291 times
    Phone
    DROID MAXX XT1080!
    Premium Member
    #8
    Quote Originally Posted by apl3 View Post
    Thanks KaChow I set phone to LTE/CDMA/EvDO/GSM/WCDMA / it was just set for lte/cdma/evdo not sure if this is significant or not. My signal strength for 4g is -100dBm 1x is now -80. I got Verizon to send me a Certified phone to replace this one. Thing is from day one I always seemed to be having problems with Data. I have replaced the Sim card and no changes.
    If your phone was set for CDMA/EVDO only, the 4G radio (LTE), would actually never even activate. This would explain the lack of 4G signal as the towers wouldn't get the request. As for why it "apparently" would get a 4G signal outside...no explanation. If the radio is off (as indicated above), it not only shouldn't ever see 4G, but it shouldn't ever display it on the signal level bar either.

    "Professor FoxKat"
    "Saving DROID Razr's, one battery at a time. :-)" - (credit SallyC)
    Avatar is Maxwell Smart, AKA Agent 86, from "Get Smart" (with his signature "Shoe Phone"), a SitCom TV series by Mel Brooks & Buck Henry, based on the spy thriller series, "The Man From U.N.C.L.E.".
    "Guidelines of Conduct" for DroidForums.net
  10. Super Moderator
    Dalvik_Cache's Avatar
    Member #
    343975
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Central US
    Posts
    954
    Liked
    370 times
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy S4 & Droid DNA
    Premium Member
    #9
    Quote Originally Posted by apl3 View Post
    Thanks KaChow I set phone to LTE/CDMA/EvDO/GSM/WCDMA / it was just set for lte/cdma/evdo not sure if this is significant or not. My signal strength for 4g is -100dBm 1x is now -80. I got Verizon to send me a Certified phone to replace this one. Thing is from day one I always seemed to be having problems with Data. I have replaced the Sim card and no changes.
    Let me see what I can find, do me a favor, if you would:

    Download this app: https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...maruse.cellinf
    When you run it you will get a menu option stating "Start BS Tracker", run it for 5-6 mins.
    Select menu and select "Email Log", send it to petmybadkitty@gmail.com.


    Ill take a look and see what I can find!

    Thanks,
    Mandy
  11. Senior Droid
    apl3's Avatar
    Member #
    36274
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    connecticut
    Posts
    201
    Liked
    5 times
    Phone
    razr
    #10
    Thanks Mandy but its a bit too late. Verizon sent me a new phone. This one seems to be a lot better. I wish I saw this before I activated the phone and sent the old one back. But I will keep this ion mind just in case. Thanks a lot. Tony l.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Updating Rom?
    By bpambrose in forum Droid Bionic Hacks
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-16-2013, 07:38 AM
  2. Updating my DX
    By vessej in forum Droid X General Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-17-2010, 10:43 AM
  3. Updating
    By longboardskier in forum Droid X General Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-08-2010, 11:35 AM
  4. updating adw
    By billyidle in forum cvpcs
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-13-2010, 12:37 AM
  5. Updating
    By hennyk in forum Android General Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-07-2010, 06:41 PM

Search tags for this page

15233 prl

,
how to update roaming on droid razr maxx
,

prl 15233

,
prl version 15233
,
update prl verizon galaxy s3
,
update roaming verizon
,
verizon prl
,

verizon prl 15233

,
verizon prl download
,

verizon prl update 4g

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+