DroidForums.net is the original Verizon Android Forum! Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Soft Brick? Need Help!!! D:

  1. Droid Newbie
    Zivia's Avatar
    Member #
    252289
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    Droid Razr
    #1

    Soft Brick? Need Help!!! D:

    Hey everyone,

    First I'd like to apologize if this is the wrong area to post this thread but I couldn't think of a better place. I am a new to all of this so please bear with me. About a week ago I installed a custom ROM on my Razr and didn't have any problems, everything was working great. Before I installed this ROM I created a backup of the stock ROM that came with the phone incase I needed to return to it for whatever reason at a later date. Today I decided that the ROM I had been using for the past week wasn't right for me so I tried to restore to the stock ROM with safestrap. I think I may have made a mistake because aren't you supposed to wipe at least data and dalvik before you restore? I didn't do that and I simple went to restore and chose the stock ROM backup. When the phone rebooted it showed the red moto icon and then went to a black screen. It has been this way for the past hour and isn't doing anything. I thought it was doing something at first but the display is off so I think it is not booting. Is there anything I can do to fix this? Please respond and sorry if some things are unclear as I am quite new to this.

    Thanks
  2. Developer
    mattlgroff's Avatar
    Member #
    243021
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    184
    Liked
    56 times
    Twitter
    mattlgroff
    Phone
    T-Mobile Samsung Galaxy S 4
    DroidForums.net Developer
    Premium Member
    #2
    Quote Originally Posted by Zivia View Post
    Hey everyone,

    First I'd like to apologize if this is the wrong area to post this thread but I couldn't think of a better place. I am a new to all of this so please bear with me. About a week ago I installed a custom ROM on my Razr and didn't have any problems, everything was working great. Before I installed this ROM I created a backup of the stock ROM that came with the phone incase I needed to return to it for whatever reason at a later date. Today I decided that the ROM I had been using for the past week wasn't right for me so I tried to restore to the stock ROM with safestrap. I think I may have made a mistake because aren't you supposed to wipe at least data and dalvik before you restore? I didn't do that and I simple went to restore and chose the stock ROM backup. When the phone rebooted it showed the red moto icon and then went to a black screen. It has been this way for the past hour and isn't doing anything. I thought it was doing something at first but the display is off so I think it is not booting. Is there anything I can do to fix this? Please respond and sorry if some things are unclear as I am quite new to this.

    Thanks
    Download my utility 1.40 full and then overwrite a few files included in the 1.41 patch. Run option one when your phone is on AP Fastboot mode.
    If you need further help than that then download Team Viewer (its free. TeamViewer - Free Remote Access and Remote Desktop Sharing over the Internet) after you download my utility 1.4 and 1.41 and I can get it running for you if you PM the pre-made randomized user ID and PW from Team Viewer
    If anyone is feeling generous and wants to buy me a "beer" then click the link below the spinning batarang.

    Help Repair Gotham City

  3. Droid Newbie
    Zivia's Avatar
    Member #
    252289
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    Droid Razr
    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by mattlgroff View Post
    Download my utility 1.40 full and then overwrite a few files included in the 1.41 patch. Run option one when your phone is on AP Fastboot mode.
    If you need further help than that then download Team Viewer (its free. TeamViewer - Free Remote Access and Remote Desktop Sharing over the Internet) after you download my utility 1.4 and 1.41 and I can get it running for you if you PM the pre-made randomized user ID and PW from Team Viewer
    Ok two things. The first one is I went into a dark area in my house and the phone is actually on. The screen is black but is lit. So it turns on but gets stuck after the moto icon, and I can't turn it off. It is just stuck there. Also this might sound like a dumb question but where do I find the utility 1.4? I looked around and cannot find it. Sorry again for the noob questions and thanks for the help.
  4. Developer
    mattlgroff's Avatar
    Member #
    243021
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    184
    Liked
    56 times
    Twitter
    mattlgroff
    Phone
    T-Mobile Samsung Galaxy S 4
    DroidForums.net Developer
    Premium Member
    #4
    Quote Originally Posted by Zivia View Post
    Ok two things. The first one is I went into a dark area in my house and the phone is actually on. The screen is black but is lit. So it turns on but gets stuck after the moto icon, and I can't turn it off. It is just stuck there. Also this might sound like a dumb question but where do I find the utility 1.4? I looked around and cannot find it. Sorry again for the noob questions and thanks for the help.
    It is pinned at the top of this forum section.

    UPDATED Droid RAZR Utility [WINDOWS]


    E
    DIT: You have no system to boot into which is why it is black after the MOTO dual core logo. We need to put the system back on there
    If anyone is feeling generous and wants to buy me a "beer" then click the link below the spinning batarang.

    Help Repair Gotham City

  5. Droid Newbie
    Zivia's Avatar
    Member #
    252289
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    4
    Phone
    Droid Razr
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by mattlgroff View Post
    It is pinned at the top of this forum section.

    UPDATED Droid RAZR Utility [WINDOWS]


    E
    DIT: You have no system to boot into which is why it is black after the MOTO dual core logo. We need to put the system back on there
    Ok so I updated my Moto drivers and downloaded the full 1.4 utility and the 1.41 patch. What are the files that I need to overwrite (you said I needed to earlier) and how do I do that? Then from there what do I do? Thanks again for all the help.

Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Sudden Shutdown - Soft Brick Until Power Applied
    By madmako in forum Droid Bionic Tech Support
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-07-2012, 07:54 PM
  2. soft brick with no back up PLEASE HELP
    By bogginblazer in forum Droid RAZR Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-01-2012, 12:56 PM
  3. soft brick or brick questions
    By eap369 in forum Motorola Droid Bionic
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-31-2011, 09:01 PM
  4. help please with soft brick
    By Avrahas in forum Android Hacks and Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-15-2011, 12:30 PM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-14-2011, 10:40 PM

Search tags for this page

android soft brick
,

droid bionic soft brick

,

droid razr soft brick

,
droid x2 soft brick
,
how to soft brick droid x2
,
moto razr brick screens
,

razr brick

,
soft brick android
,
what is a soft brick android
,

what is soft brick android

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.
Find us on Google+